We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stepping back in time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Poseidon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Poseidon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pasitea, 148, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 41 hotels in Positano
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stepping back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was our fourth stay at Poseidon and it is was just as enjoyable this trip as on our first visit. Even though it rained for the three days we were in Positano, we particularly felt that we had the opportunity to enjoy the hotel like we hadn't in the past. The old world charm of the hotel and the staff make us feel like we are experiencing the Amalfi Coast the way you see in movies or old pictures. The staff is gracious, welcoming, and always make us feel like family. Angelo greets us as if we were members of his family. This trip we ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was superb. Additionally we took advantage of the spa and again the staff and services live up to the Poseidon's high standards. Try to visit between September and October as this is the best time to experience the water around Positano. A truly remarkable and unique hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    330
    78
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
54
271
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

we stayed at Poseidon the beginning of september. what a wonderful experience, great staff, including Samir. he knows all the ins and outs of Positano. great added value is the (3 x a week) boattrip, cruising along the amalfi coastline, with Enzo, your Captain. swimming, lunch and great views included. The hotel itself has a certain peace and quiet armosphere, with guests who appreciate the same. would definitely go there again, rooms are tiny

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for such a warm review. We are pleased to know that your experience at Hotel Poseidon met your expectations and glad that you had the chance to experience our boat ride and i thank you for your kind remarks.
We also can't be happier to know that you'd consider to come back here and we are already looking forward to that.
Sincerley
Samer
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Hotel Poseidon for seven nights and we had the best time ever. Not only because we got married in Positano but the hotel is a real treat and we couldn’t ask for more of a hotel. The friendly staff that makes you feel like family, the view that is amazing, the pool area and the clean and nice rooms. The hotel has the perfect location with its view and still not far to the beach, just some minutes down the steps and you are down at the beach.

We choose to have our wedding dinner at Hotel Poseidon and we are so pleased that we had it here, it was amazing. All the help we got from Samer and all other in the staff, they made it so easy for us. The dinner could not have been any better with all the tasteful food that was served and the aperitif, deep-fried squids and shrimp, at the terrace were so great. After the dinner they had set up a table with the wedding cake just at the pool area so we could cut the cake with the view over whole Positano behind us.

Thanks for eight amazing days and we will definitely be back here next year to celebrate our anniversary!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
and we can't thank you enough for choosing Hotel Poseidon and sharing with us such a special occasion, so Congratulations again!!!
I have extended you comments to the rest of our staff and they all send their warmest regards.
We look forward to having you here for your First wedding anniversary.
Personally i was delighted to see you all having the best of times while here and it was a pleasure organizing your wedding reception.
Sincerely
Samer
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hotel Poseidon has lots going for it. It is well located, the staff is professional and friendly and the bones of the building are classy and expensive for Positano. The views from the room balconys and from the bar, pool and breakfast terrace are tremendous. We had a deluxe bedroom with a sea view. The space was fine but the quality of the furniture and soft goods are not up to the price point. The hotel is frankly in need of some updating. They are able to charge premium and I mean premium prices even though the soft good haven't been changed in decades.

Room Tip: If you plan on staying here, get a room with a view but be prepared to pay through the nose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
and we hope a second stay with us will make you love Hotel Poseidon....
Thank you for your review and please know that we take your comments very seriously: a hotel in Positano, due to the geographic nature of the town, is in continuous need of maintenance and since it all can' t be done together it's a continuous "work in progress" here, so one year we dedicate to take care of the rooms and some infrastructure and in other years the furniture and so on....but nevertheless Hotel Poseidon will always have that charm of an old school property with carefully chosen furniture and rooms that reflect the spirit of the Amalfi Coast.
Sincerely
Samer
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A beautiful old hotel, it has kept all the wonderful vintage features, enjoyed it more than some six star establishments I've stayed at. Best nights sleep ever! And the view from the balcony - amazing! Perfectly positioned to walk down and up the hill to all the fab eateries. Most helpful staff, went out of their way to help organise transfers and trips. A must do if you can: take a boat with Barche Lucibello out for a private cruise to Capri (ask for Paolo to be your skipper - he was wonderful) and have lunch at La Conca Del Sogno, a restaurant which can only be accessed by water. This day out, albeit expensive, is one you will always remember! Unfortunately (or fortunately) during our stay a heavy storm came through for 2 days so we spent hours relaxing and reading in the comfy downstairs bar, and being cheerfully served coffee and snacks, never rushed, never pressured. I suppose the only negative was the day spa, the massages we booked to loosen sore muscles after a long flight/drive were very disappointing and insipid. If you visit the Amalfi coast, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for this review. I am glad to know that your stay at Hotel Poseidon met your expectations. I am also sorry to hear that your experience at our beauty center was disappointing.
I have extended your comments to my colleagues there and please know we'll make our best to make sure that the quality of the massages treatments offered be up to the standards that always distinguished Hotel Poseidon.
We look forward to seeing you again in the new future.
Best Regards
Samer
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and i had a great time in Poseidon Positano,everything was perfect!! The location the room....the breakfest is served on a wonderfull terrace!!!Samer was always helpfull!!!!!They also have a great restaurant!!! Too bad we had to find out by ourselfs..
At the reception we felt a bit "pushed" (expecially by Forenzo a funny gentleman but sometimes "hurried" and maybe too much involved with personal interests we believe...)to go to other restaureants such as Mediterraneo or Siroco.PLEASE try the Poseidon Restaurant they have the best view in Positano and it is served a great food!!! thanks everyone! Mr. Crooke

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

i can't say enough good things about this place. The people are the best. Room with view is a must, breathtaking.
The food in their restaurant is the best Italian meal i have had, wow.
also their complimentary breakfast, you have to be there to believe how wonderful it really is. I will definitely be back and stay longer

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your warm review.
I am happy to know that your stay with us was up to your expectations. I have also extended your comments to our staff and they all send their warmest regards.
Looking forward to having you again here at Hotel Poseidon in the near future.
Sincerely
Samer
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Address: Via Pasitea, 148, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Poseidon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Poseidon, once a beautiful Mediterranean villa in the heart of Positano, is today a historical hotel in a green area overlooking the “vertical village“ and the Amalfi Coast, in a privileged position.Poseidon has offered for 50 years, thanks to the Aonzo family daily commitment, a discreet and elegant hospitality and the personnel politeness help to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing their guests to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon Positano
Poseidon Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Poseidon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.