We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with fantastic staff and exceptional location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramare

Save Saved
You added Hotel Miramare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Miramare
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trara Genoino 29, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 41 hotels in Positano
Interlaken, Switzerland
1 review
“Fantastic hotel with fantastic staff and exceptional location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Arrived to be welcomed by the lovely staff who never ceased to ensure that we were comfortable and enjoying our time since we arrived. Probably nicest and most genuine staff I have come across. They also recommended good restaurants and organized everything. The hotel itself is in a fantastic location and is only 5 mins to the beach. Would recommend this hotel to everyone. 12/10

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    55
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
287
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I visited Positano in May and had the pleasure of staying at the hotel Miramare. There are many hotels in town that boast beautiful views but many of them look like they are in dire need of a facelift. Miramare is beautiful from the inside out and situated just high enough to be a (fairly) easy walk to the beach while still having beautiful views. Everything about this hotel was perfect. Rosita helped us book our room online and also helped us arrange a car to get us from Pompeii to Positano. When we arrived she greeted us like we were old friends and immediately arranged to have a yummy caprese salad brought to our room (even though the kitchen was closed). The room, while not fancy, was still very pretty and clean. And THOSE VIEWS!!!!! We could have just lived on the balcony sipping wine and taking it in for days. It was so peaceful and romantic. The breakfast that is included is simple but very good and the breakfast room offers the same beautiful views. If you are heading to Positano (the best place to stay in the Amalfi coast in my opinion) do not miss the Miramare!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

After traveling forever ( it seemed) getting to Positano, we loved our stay at Miramare. I had been in touch with Rosita for several months prior to our stay and we were welcomed like family. She arranged our trips to Ravello and Pompei and recommended restaurants. I loved sitting on our terrace which we did for hours per day. Positano is a beautiful town and we adjusted to the steps fairly well (often walked up the road instead of all the steps). I would be happy to return to Miramare.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We love Positano and got engaged on the balcony of the Miramare hotel. The location is ideal and the balconys are incredible and the service is friendly however having stayed in other hotels in Positano I dont know whether Miramare can justify the price. We found the decor old fashioned and they were unable to provide an iron to the room. In saying this we still loved our stay and for Postiano it has a lot less steps than most hotels! The hotel did a great job at getting us great tables in the restaurants we wanted to go to however i would come with your own ideas of where you want to dine as we found some of their best suggestions dissapointing.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramarepositano, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guests, The staff of the Hotel Miramare would like to thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns regarding your recent stay with us. We want you to know that the four stars which you gave us are appreciated, but we wish your experience had been worthy of five stars. Please know that by sharing your displeasure you will help us make efforts to regain your confidence and satisfaction. Thank you as well for the positive words about our location and our lovely balconies. How Special it is to us that your became Engaged to be Married here with the shimmering Mediterranean as the perfect backdrop. We are pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our Staff. We all take a great pride in the Hotel and strive to make each and every guest have a wonderful holiday.
We regret that you found our decor unsuitable. Overwhelmingly our Guests approve of the decor. But, in truth, this is a personal choice and one about which there will never be complete agreement. You describe it as 'old fashioned', although many characterize it as "old world European'. Many find it a departure from the modern world we live in.
We apologize that we could not provide an iron for your use. Most hotels, including the Miramare consider this a safety issue and therefore do not allow their use in Guest rooms.
Thank you for enjoying our skill at arranging great tables for your dining experience. It is disappointing to the Staff that you were dissatisfied with some of our restaurants here in Positano. We on the Amalfi coast pride ourselves on our local cuisine. Our splendid tomatoes, fresh fish, scrumptious pizza, beautiful, savory pasta...luscious cheeses and wine. We consider ourselves fortunate to live and work and eat here.
We truly hope that you will come again and stay with us. We would love another chance to give you a five star Holiday. Whether you stay with us or not, please come and say ciao when you are in Positano. After all, you were Engaged here ! We always try and remember our Guests with Love.
Rosita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our family from Australia of 5 (2 adults and 3 teenage sons) absolutely loved this hotel. We were located immediately next door in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom villa (owne by the Miramare) with a huge private terrace and the most spectacular views of Positano and the ocean. The villa (Casa Prever) was very large and clean, the bathrooms a little dated, but the space of the villa and the views made up for this.

My sisters and their families stayed in the hotel in rooms that were more recently furbished and which they were thrilled with too. Very clean, very pretty and beautiful views.

This hotel is very well located - not too high up, and not too low. Like most places in Positano, you face the challenge of either a lot of steps going up to the shops along the main road or a lot of steps heading down into the central village area close to the beach. My parents (both in their 70s) managed the steps reasonably easily (I believe they counted 270 steps from the hotel down to the village at beach level), but for my family and our boys, this was not an issue - like the locals you just get used to it! From the hotel you can walk up to the main road (via steps) which takes you about 2 minutes. You can then meander down along the main road (which is narrow but which is lined by shops and restaurants) into the village area at beach level. Or from the hotel you can walk directly down the steps into the village (which is again about a 2-4 minute walk). If you want to avoid the steps, you could stay at or close to village level if you want to but you miss the views!

Restaurants are all within walking distance, and many restaurants do offer free transfers if they are located further along the main road or in the next village. There are also several churches within a short walking distance.

The hotel offers a beautiful buffet breakfast daily, served from the breakfast room which has to be one of the prettiest rooms you will ever see (with an internal flowering vine spreading over the entire ceiling and down the walls). Coffees (lattes, etc) were served on request. Late at night we would sit in the adjacent lounge area and be served tea and drinks.

The service was splendid and our room and sheets were cleaned daily.

We booked a one day private boat cruise which took us around to Capri, the blue lagoon and other incredible spots, which turned out to be the highlight of our trip.

I now know why this hotel is as highly rated as it is - an excellent location, spectacular views, splendid accommodation, super friendly service and reasonable prices. Why would you book elsewhere??

The hotel is close to several small supermarkets for supplies (warning: take your own sunscreen unless you want to pay stupidly exorbitant prices) with some of the freshest cheeses and meats on offer. Wine is cheap and you do need to buy your own water (which is also cheap).

What did surprise us was that most of the beach in front of the village is a private beach and they charge for use (I think 18 euro per person per day which is ridiculous for us Australians). But you can jump on free water taxis to reach other (less expensive but still private) beaches in nearby coves, or you can walk to one around a cove to the west (about a 10 minute walk from the hotel all up) and they charge 4 euro per person for a lounge (and they offer great service, decent food and great coffees (only 1 euro so who cares!) and have great play equipment for the kids to use such as pedlo boats, slides, canoes, etc). You don't need to pay for your kids, you only need to pay for the number of lounges you will use, which you have for the entire day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a wonderful experience.. The hotel staff, were so helpful and friendly.. But, the View won us over.. I could have sat on the balcony for hours just watching the never ending changes on the water.. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The view is great, breakfast is good. The hotel is 150 plus steps up hill from the beach, which won't be good if you carry heavy luggage or have physical problems. It is not on the little heart of Positano, but it is close enough. Not that easy to find at first. Overall it was an alright hotel. I was only impressed with the view. Shower needs to be scrubbed and bleached.

Room Tip: We spent 1 night only, and for that I think a hotel by the little beach area would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Also Known As:
Miramare Hotel Positano
Address: Trara Genoino 29, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#8 Family Hotel in Positano
#13 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramare 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Miramare (rated four stars) is located in one of the world's most beautiful bays,which offers a combination of undisturbed relax and incomparable scenery.The historic centre of Positano and the main beach are just a short walk away. Hotel Miramare is well known for its excellent staff and for its panoramic breakfast room overlooking the bay. The spacious and comfortable drawing rooms and bar assure an enchanting and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miramare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.