We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel of Positano!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ancora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ancora to your Saves list
Hotel Ancora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 36, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Positano
New York Mills, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Jewel of Positano!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here in June. Upon our arrival, we had a warm welcome from the receptionist: we looked like people family! The hotel is a little gem, no pool, but not so necessary because Positano has a really great beach! Our room (category classic) was lovely, overlooking the sea, with sun beds and impeccable cleanliness.. The front desk staff suggested us the best solutions to go around Positano and eat. Suggested by them, the sister restaurant of the Hotel Il Covo dei Saraceni, where the service, food and atmosphere are really beautiful. We remained two days only, but it was our first holiday together and we were happy to stay here without confusion! We hope to return!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    26
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Fantastic location & just a short walk from all the restaurants & shops.
Staff were really friendly & helpful.
Parking on site.
Nice breakfast - delicious fresh fruit salad.
Good AC & shower but the hair dryer was rubbish & took ages to dry my hair - I know this is a first world problem but I was wasting valuable drinking time!
We stayed in room 203 - stunning view & got to enjoy the evening sun on the balcony & didn't over look anyone & we were over looked by anyone else.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novato, CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I chose this hotel based upon the mostly excellent reviews on tripadvisor along with the sharing of facilities that it touts with it's sister hotel, covo dei saraceni. I contacted the hotel a number of times by email before arriving asking (i) was a suite available (No), and (ii) noting it was our anniversary so it would be a special stay and could we please have our deluxe room on a higher floor. when we arrived at the hotel, the person at the front desk came running out of the hotel telling us we couldn't park in the parking lot not realizing we were newly arriving guests (the door/entranceway to the hotel is very small and non-obvious when you first get there). strike 1 against l'ancora. once I explained I was a guest there we were checked in but there was no mention of the anniversary which was disappointing. imagine how completely thrilled we would have been by the hotel having put a complimentary bottle of prosecco or white wine in our room. but there was nothing there. so strike 2 against l'ancora. then the room we were given was exactly the opposite of what I had asked for. it was all the way down at the bottom of the hotel. if the person at the desk had done their homework and reviewed my request via email, she would have known to at least offer that a higher floor room might be coming available in the next day or two (we stayed four nights) and they could move us to accommodate my request. strike 3 against l'ancora.....there were also some odd features to our room like the shower: it was really a Jacuzzi tub where you had an extending shower nozzle but had to sit down to take a real shower. another point on the poor service given I had informed them about our anniversary: they made no suggestions on nice, romantic places to go while we were there. this very helpful information was given to us by the front desk woman up the street at the Marincanto when we stopped in to look at the view/restaurant there. when we told her it was our anniversary, she said you must go and have a drink at the Hotel San Pietro a couple of kilometers down the coast and she showed us the views on her computer. finally, one of the points they make on their website is their link with the full service sister hotel, Covo dei Saraceni. I mistakenly thought this meant we had access to the pool there as well. I was told that you need to call ahead to make a reservation and that it's always the case that the sister hotel has to service it's clients first (understandable but a bit irritating to be made to feel like second class citizens for asking as occurred when we inquired at Covo). one other thing, one day when we were out most of the day, we got back and our room had not been cleaned up. they had to call us at 4.30 to see if it was convenient to clean up then. how could they not have noticed we were out since we always left the bulky key at the front desk (and no we didn't leave the "do not disturb" sign on the door). also, they should provide a complimentary bottle of water every day in the room. they do not, unfortunately. all in all, the shoddy service they provide needs to be significantly improved for the prices they charge.

was anything good at L'Ancora? the room was large and quiet but as I said above, it was on the bottom floor and our view was diminished by the large white roof we looked out onto. they had nice orchid's in the room. the bathroom was large if impractical because of the Jacuzzi with no real shower. the room was quiet and it had a nice high vaulted ceiling. we really liked Michele, the waiter in the breakfast room.

all in all, for $500+/night a good deal more was expected and required from beginning to end. I would have preferred to pay more for a full service hotel like Hotel Marincanto or Palazzo Murat than stay at L'Ancora. we will return to positano, but not to L'Ancora.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

best views in positano, easy to get to.
great value, breakfast was nice. staff were nice
there was no issue with noise as its above the stairs and not close to any bars. only issue is its a 10 minute walk to da vincenzo, but rest of the restaurants are close by.

Air con was really good, internet fast.


would stay there again anyday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Right next door to Le Sireneuse at a fraction of the price. The staff (especially Eleonora and Vittiolo) were tremendous to us. L'Ancora is a boutique hotel with EXCEPTIONAL views. The breakfast patio is a lovely way to start your day with a large selection of continental breakfast items. The hotel is in the heart of Positano....all just a short walk away from the best shops and restaurants. No pool or restaurant, but we didn't come to Positano to laze poolside (we do that at home). We look forward to returning soon and highly recommend L'Ancora!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great hotel! Family suite was perfect! No pool or restaurant but was no concern for us. Walking distance to everything ... Beach, shopping and restaurants! Views were simply amazing! Staff was helpful! If you are going I would recommend this simple yet wonderful hotel!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We got placed here for a night after our hotel lost our reservation. THIS hotel saved the day! The room was beautiful with a picture perfect view from balcony. Was not disappointed to hotel hop for one night. We could have stayed here the entire trip and been very happy! All, in all, we were able to experience 2 amazing hotels in Positano.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ancora

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 36, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ancora 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancora Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ancora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.