We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ancora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ancora to your Saves list
Hotel Ancora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 36, 84017, Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great location, great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

best views in positano, easy to get to.
great value, breakfast was nice. staff were nice
there was no issue with noise as its above the stairs and not close to any bars. only issue is its a 10 minute walk to da vincenzo, but rest of the restaurants are close by.

Air con was really good, internet fast.


would stay there again anyday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markperthmarkperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Right next door to Le Sireneuse at a fraction of the price. The staff (especially Eleonora and Vittiolo) were tremendous to us. L'Ancora is a boutique hotel with EXCEPTIONAL views. The breakfast patio is a lovely way to start your day with a large selection of continental breakfast items. The hotel is in the heart of Positano....all just a short walk away from the best shops and restaurants. No pool or restaurant, but we didn't come to Positano to laze poolside (we do that at home). We look forward to returning soon and highly recommend L'Ancora!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jfglistens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel! Family suite was perfect! No pool or restaurant but was no concern for us. Walking distance to everything ... Beach, shopping and restaurants! Views were simply amazing! Staff was helpful! If you are going I would recommend this simple yet wonderful hotel!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank VSWATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We got placed here for a night after our hotel lost our reservation. THIS hotel saved the day! The room was beautiful with a picture perfect view from balcony. Was not disappointed to hotel hop for one night. We could have stayed here the entire trip and been very happy! All, in all, we were able to experience 2 amazing hotels in Positano.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raybola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Overall, this was a great hotel. We loved our room (suite) and had the most amazing view. It was ultimate romance!
The ladies on the front desk were so helpful and organised so much for us. We had a problem with the sink when we arrived and our jacuzzi broke too, but they immediately got someone out to fix it.
The breakfast was the standard continental but it was good too.

For the price of the room, I would expect more assistance with the bags from the ferry. This maybe a one off, but there were no porters available and we had to carry them upstairs and slopes so I arrived exhausted and sweaty!

Side note (and no reflection on the hotel): don't go with their Pompeii tour guide, there are much better out there!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsStacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

From top to bottom, an exquisite experience. We had two rooms; a room with a balcony ocean view for our kids and a junior suite ocean view for us. The views are so beautiful it's surreal but the rooms were even more so! Comfortable, luxurious bedding; amazing bathrooms with the most comprehensive and generous set of toiletries I have ever seen; delicious breakfast, a hot tub on the balcony with water changed daily to whatever temperature you request. PLUS adorable staff who want only for you to be happy. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

If you're going to Positano, don't bother staying at le Sirenuse as l'Ancora's junior suite is cheaper than a basic room there and the suite offers you Panoramic views of the gorgeous Positano from the balcony, oh and also there's a jacuzzi too. Recommend having breakfast on the balcony every morning and limoncello in the hot tub every night

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Remalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#9 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#24 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#8 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ancora

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 36, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ancora 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancora Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing