We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ancora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ancora to your Saves list
Hotel Ancora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 36, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great location, great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

best views in positano, easy to get to.
great value, breakfast was nice. staff were nice
there was no issue with noise as its above the stairs and not close to any bars. only issue is its a 10 minute walk to da vincenzo, but rest of the restaurants are close by.

Air con was really good, internet fast.


would stay there again anyday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    26
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
57
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Right next door to Le Sireneuse at a fraction of the price. The staff (especially Eleonora and Vittiolo) were tremendous to us. L'Ancora is a boutique hotel with EXCEPTIONAL views. The breakfast patio is a lovely way to start your day with a large selection of continental breakfast items. The hotel is in the heart of Positano....all just a short walk away from the best shops and restaurants. No pool or restaurant, but we didn't come to Positano to laze poolside (we do that at home). We look forward to returning soon and highly recommend L'Ancora!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great hotel! Family suite was perfect! No pool or restaurant but was no concern for us. Walking distance to everything ... Beach, shopping and restaurants! Views were simply amazing! Staff was helpful! If you are going I would recommend this simple yet wonderful hotel!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We got placed here for a night after our hotel lost our reservation. THIS hotel saved the day! The room was beautiful with a picture perfect view from balcony. Was not disappointed to hotel hop for one night. We could have stayed here the entire trip and been very happy! All, in all, we were able to experience 2 amazing hotels in Positano.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Overall, this was a great hotel. We loved our room (suite) and had the most amazing view. It was ultimate romance!
The ladies on the front desk were so helpful and organised so much for us. We had a problem with the sink when we arrived and our jacuzzi broke too, but they immediately got someone out to fix it.
The breakfast was the standard continental but it was good too.

For the price of the room, I would expect more assistance with the bags from the ferry. This maybe a one off, but there were no porters available and we had to carry them upstairs and slopes so I arrived exhausted and sweaty!

Side note (and no reflection on the hotel): don't go with their Pompeii tour guide, there are much better out there!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

From top to bottom, an exquisite experience. We had two rooms; a room with a balcony ocean view for our kids and a junior suite ocean view for us. The views are so beautiful it's surreal but the rooms were even more so! Comfortable, luxurious bedding; amazing bathrooms with the most comprehensive and generous set of toiletries I have ever seen; delicious breakfast, a hot tub on the balcony with water changed daily to whatever temperature you request. PLUS adorable staff who want only for you to be happy. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

If you're going to Positano, don't bother staying at le Sirenuse as l'Ancora's junior suite is cheaper than a basic room there and the suite offers you Panoramic views of the gorgeous Positano from the balcony, oh and also there's a jacuzzi too. Recommend having breakfast on the balcony every morning and limoncello in the hot tub every night

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ancora

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 36, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ancora 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancora Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ancora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.