We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and beautiful views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conca d'Oro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Conca d'Oro to your Saves list
Conca d'Oro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Boscariello 16, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great staff and beautiful views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were on our honeymoon in Positano for 3 nights and stayed here. It was a lovely hotel, clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We were welcomed by a bottle of Prosecco on ice. The staff at the front desk even sewn up my dress because I found a little tear in it. It was done in ten minutes and they brought it right back to our room!Breakfast was nice on the terrace overlooking the ocean. Overall, we had a nice stay and would recommend to stay there.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    159
    53
    19
    10
See reviews for
52
227
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london, england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have recently come back from a stay at the Conca d'Oro - such a wonderful hotel in the heart of Positano. When we arrived at the hotel, we were met by a porter who helped to take our luggage up the 118 steep steps the hotel (please tip this guy - he does such a hard job!). The receptionists were so helpful and gave us lots of information about how to get around the local area. The room was very clean with modern shower facilities and fully functioning air conditioning which is needed to combat the June heat!

Breakfast which was included was a selection of cold meats, cheese, bread, pastries, yoghurt, cereals, fruits, tea, coffee and juice. The all day lunch menu was brilliant and the food was of a high quality, as was the evening dinner menu. I highly rate the chef - the fried mixed fish was my favourite which was a substantial portion of fresh calamari and large shrimp for only €15! The same meal back in London would easily have set me back £25. The lasagne and mixed grilled meats were equally of a high quality. Some of the best food we ate during our stay.

My only feedback would be that the rooms need fridges, especially as we were charged €2 each time for refilling our drinking water bottles which I thought should have been free. But all in all a lovely stay with great staff from the receptionists to the waiters to the porter.

Some handy notes to prepare you for a stay in Positano:

Transport:

From Naples airport, you can catch a bus to Sorrento for €10 or get the Alibus (€4) to the central station in Piazza Garibaldi. Here, you should follow the signs downstairs for the Circumvesuviana train to Sorrento. Costs €4.10.

From Sorrento, you'll need to catch the Sita bus to Positano. They run about every 30mins and cost €3.50 for one way. The narrow roads with two way traffic become very bendy on the approach to Positano, so the route is not for the faint hearted or those terribly afraid of heights. Alternatively, you can get the train to Salerno from Naples and get the ferry from Salerno to Positano if you want to avoid the roads. The ferry costs about €14. If arriving by bus, you'll need to get off at Chisea Nuova and then it's a 15 minute walk to Grotta di Fornillo which is a stop demarcated by a little cave. However, if you have luggage, it will be easier to get a taxi from Chisea Nuova for €10 which will take you to the grotto and from there a porter from the hotel will meet you (you may have to call the hotel to notify them of your arrival). If travelling from Naples by bus and train, the journey will take about 4hours to the hotel.

Getting around Positano is easily done with a 20minute walk down the beach (black sand and pebbles with clear aquamarine water) with lots of little shops along the way or 10/15minutes up to the Chisea Nuova bus stop where you can catch the bus to Sorrento or Amalfi. If going to Amalfi, I would recommend getting the ferry from Marina Grande (the main beach in Positano). It takes around 30 minutes and is €16 return. Very scenic to take this route.

Walking:

Bring comfortable shoes. This is not the place for wedges or high heels. There are 118 steps up to the hotel so avoid if you are unfit or have knee problems. This goes for most of Positano and the Amalfi coast which involves a lot of walking up and down mountainous inclines.

There are no pedestrian side walks, so you share the road with moving traffic. Most drivers are careful, but watch out for mopeds and vespas and keep closer to the walls.

Room Tip: Request a room with sea view - the views in the morning are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We loved our stay at Conco d'Oro. From the amazing view, to the fabulous service (nothing was too much trouble) we would highly recommend this hotel. And all this for a decent price! We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I arrived with the hotel taxi from Naples airport. We had 108 steps to get to the hotel but this added to the charm of the resort and not difficult for us retired 'girls'
In reception we were met by Arianna who explained everything and showed us to our room. We were delighted with the room which had a large terrace with 2 sun beds and a table with chairs. The view was breathtaking!! Within half an hour a complimentary bottle of Prosecco arrived on ice!
Unfortunately the following morning I wasn't feeling very well at all, suffering with shivers and a mega sore throat. Arianna advised going to see the local pharmacist who was also a doctor. He gave me some tablets and a throat spray. Fortunately this helped ease the symptoms.
Everyone at the hotel, from the waiting on staff, cleaners, reception, even Fernandeo who carries the luggage up and down 108 steps many times a day, all work to a professional and friendly standard. It was lovely to hear that fourth generation family are running this little treasure.
We only had one evening meal in the hotel which was ok. Breakfasts could be a little varied but were satisfactory.
All in all, my friend and I would like to return very soon.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We recently stayed for 3 nights at Conca d'Oro with my husband. It was a pleasant & untroubled stay. If you want to have full panoramic view of Positano from your room, then this is the right hotel to choose. Room was clean, food was good. The only drawback can be the 15min walking distance from the Positano center and steep stairs to the hotel.

Room Tip: Advice you to book "deluxe" or "superior double room with seaview" because altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Loved this hotel. Its so cute and traditional. Fantastic views of Positano! Awesome location near a little private beach. Walking distance to the main area where there are lots of restaurants and shops a long the way. Just beautiful!!! Highly recommend this hotel!!! We have some great memories here!!! LOVED IT!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and a big balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Pleasant stay. It was our second time staying at this hotel and they have made noticeable improvements. The rooms have a spectacular view and lovely balcony to take in the picturesque view. Spacious and clean rooms/hotel. Breakfast spread could improve, we didn't appreciate the extra charge for eggs and the choice of cereals was limited. In our opinion, rather stingy and cheap of the hotel. There are many, many stairs to reach the hotel. It wasn't an issue for us but I imagine this would cause some trouble for some. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and the rooms really do have an incredible view of the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Conca d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conca d'Oro

Address: Via Boscariello 16, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Conca d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Conca D'Oro enjoys a gorgeus panoramic position in Positano, in a quiet and secluded area.This modern Positano hotel is elegantly furnished and boasts a friendly and peaceful atmosphere, providing the perfect setting for a romantic getaway or an unforgettable summer holiday in the Amalfi coast.The hotel Conca d'oro features an excellent restaurant with outdoor terrace, a stylish American bar and a welcoming lounge area.Free Wifi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Conca d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conca d Oro Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conca d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.