We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view, friendly and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conca d'Oro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Conca d'Oro to your Saves list
Conca d'Oro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Boscariello 16, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Washington, D.C.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent view, friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed five nights in late September on the third floor (would have liked to seen and possibly stayed on the fourth floor which seems to have a larger porch in front of each room). Our room was very comfortable, bright and airy, with a nice bathroom and a small balcony and patio (just enought for two chairs and a small table) with panoramic, really fantastic, 200 degree views over the town, harbor, Mediterranean sea and mountains behind the town. The breakfast/dining room has the same views and a friendly and attentive wait staff. The receptionists looked a bit tired but were highly knowlegeable and unfailingly helpful with all of our requests.

One thing that I would like to see on their website is a better map and description showing where the hotel is located and how to get there the first time. The hotel is on a set of (public) staircases rising from the closest road that have to be climbed and it is not immediately apparent, the first time you come down road, just where the hotel is. The local bus stop is at the large Grotto on the right (a very distinctive feature that cannot be missed). There is walkway just past the Grotto on the right, from which you take an immediate right and climb several flights of stairs to the hotel (looking for hotel signs at each turn). If you call in advance or speak to the attendant at the parking lot more or less across the street with the Conca D'oro sign (Fratelli Martinelli?), they will send a porter down to bring your bags up the stairs (really essential with a large bag).

While in Positano, we did the Walk of the Gods, which is highly recommended. Also recommended is the walk from Faro to the Grotta Azzura on Capri. If you are going to visit Amalfi and/or Ravello, we highly recommend taking the sea taxi as the buses fill up with standing room only on twisty, windy roads for what is nearly an hour-long trip from Positano to Amalfi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    143
    47
    17
    7
See reviews for
50
193
28
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights, good food, good service. Hot tub is really a small pool, probably great when it is hot outside but we had cool weather. The views are really, really good but it does require some walking to get here. Over all a nice place to see Positano from for a couple nights.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, room was nice and clean, spacious and comfortable. The room was private and quiet with an AMAZING view!
Beware there are many stairs to get to the hotel!
There is a great little restaurant at the top of the cliff that offers free pick up and drop off from the hotel, just ask reception to call for a pick up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cootamundra
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our five day stay was at the hotel was great. A superb location as with many parts of Positano, steps to get there with porters to carry the lugage. The view, cleanliness, staff, quiet location made for a happy five days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maratea, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel will surprise you in few ways: on the one hand the view is spectacular and the rooms are OK. However to arrive each time you need to climb 107 stairs in dirty back allies! the short 5 minutes to the shore are actually a striking cardiovascular exercise with few hundred stairs each way. the parking is remote and you get the bill in the end - 25 euros per day (no one told us in advance. The last surprise is the guy carring 2 suitcases on his back with a rokpe up and down the stairs all day long.

Room Tip: ask about elevators, stairs and parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

During our eight day stay in Positano, choosing Conca d'Oro as our place to stay was one of the best decisions we made. The rooms were spotless, the staff were both amazing and welcoming and the view was spectacular. Although there were plenty of stairs to conquer before getting up to the hotel, the welcoming smiles and friendly staff made the climb worth while. The cleanliness of the hotel exceeded our expectations, and the view from the terrace was breath taking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent 8 glorious days at Conca d'Oro, our high expectations were surpassed, the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are spotlessly clean and charming, we had a triple occupancy room and it more than suited our needs. We were greeted each day with smiles and felt as though we were family returning home. It is so worth the climb of 107 stairs to this little slice of heaven, I would return in a heart beat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conca d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conca d'Oro

Address: Via Boscariello 16, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Conca d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Conca D'Oro enjoys a gorgeus panoramic position in Positano, in a quiet and secluded area.This modern Positano hotel is elegantly furnished and boasts a friendly and peaceful atmosphere, providing the perfect setting for a romantic getaway or an unforgettable summer holiday in the Amalfi coast.The hotel Conca d'oro features an excellent restaurant with outdoor terrace, a stylish American bar and a welcoming lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Otel, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Conca d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conca d Oro Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conca d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.