We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful customer service, but very expensive!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eden Roc

Save Saved
You added Hotel Eden Roc to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Eden Roc
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Guglielmo Marconi 110, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 41 hotels in Positano
Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful customer service, but very expensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a wonderful vacation in beautiful Positano! Hotel Eden Roc was an absolutely lovely hotel from the minute our taxi pulled up to the resort to the minute the taxi picked us up at the end of our stay. The staff were truly incredible with a special shout out to Simone (front desk), Tony (breakfast) & Ezio (lunch/dinner restaurant)! Actually, every staff person we encountered were very friendly and simply could not do enough for us. The breakfast was very good and the front desk staff simply couldn't do enough, providing us with lots of helpful info about surrounding restaurants, tours and sights we shouldn't miss!

With all that said, I can't give a perfect score because the prices were just too steep. We paid close to 400 euros a night for a room that had 2 single beds. With the exchange into Canadian dollars, it works out to over $500 a night!! Despite the wonderful customer service and beautiful view, I just can't justify the price. The restaurant for dinner, although very enjoyable, was too expensive compared to the surrounding restaurants. We quickly learned to eat at nearby restaurants instead and were still able to enjoy the stunning Positano views.

In short, we had a wonderful time and will always look back on our stay fondly. However, due to the prices (and I have since found cheaper prices at other lovely hotels nearby), I doubt we will be back. Still, a HUGE thank you to the wonderful staff. We had a lovely time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    556
    98
    24
    16
    8
See reviews for
122
392
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I spent our first nights of our honeymoon here and could not have picked a better place. The room was immaculate and large. The view of the Mediterranean could not be beat.

The front desk staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Their restaurant recommendations were always spot on for the experience we wanted.

The location of the hotel is higher up on the hill but it makes for a beautiful walk to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel has beautiful views and great location to city center and the beaches. The staff is very nice and attentive. The rooms are beautiful. We stayed in a suite with a balcony over looking the water. They have a few suites with private hot tubs- these book very early in advance so if you are considering one, reserve early. Sadly the restaurant was terrible. The wait staff was slow, two people and 5 tables yet stil very slow. The food was not very good. The carbonara was undercooked pasta and overcooked sauce. I didnt finish the meal. The fish dinner was ok. Drink prices are very high. They ask you if you want a glass of prosecco to start. Every where else we have gone this has been complimentary. They charged us 30 euros for two glasses. So highly wouldnt recommend eating here but the rooms are very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This family-run hotel is very special. To begin, the service is impeccable. The staff are very energetic and extremely courteous. The energy that the breakfast waiter has in the morning is quite incredible. Breakfast is served every morning and is included in the rate. There are a wide variety of cakes/pastries, bread, fruits, cereals, etc. Overall was a good start to our day.

Our room was spacious and kept very clean by the staff. We staying in Deluxe Junior Suite which came with a large Jacuzzi on the balcony. It was very nice and cleaned daily. The view was spectacular, with a complete ocean view and a nice view of Positano. It is about a 7 minute walk down to the beach and there are plenty of shops on the way down.

The food at the hotel was some of the best I have had in Positano. I think there are only one or two restaurants on par with Adamo ed Eva in Positano.

Overall I would have no hesitations in recommending this hotel to anyone. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get the room with the Jacuzzi. Definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our first visit to Hotel Eden Roc. We have stayed in Positano before at Buca di Baca. We liked that Hotel very much but I read the reviews of Eden Roc and decided to try it! This was an big Anniversary for us and we were looking for a Hotel that was in a good location and also offered lovely rooms. We were not disappointed! The room was large and the bathroom could serve 2 people at the same time! They were clean, nice linens and the service was beyond wonderful. All of the staff was so helpful and wanted make sure your service was great! The morning buffet was so well presented and delicous. Simone, Pascal and Lorenzo were the best! They made great recommendations to us for dinner and we also enjoyed their very nice restaurant on the roof top! This was the perfect Hotel for us as we had a Ducati motorcycle that we could park in the garage and take day trips on ! They were so helpful when we told the staff we were going to explore Paestum. ( Greek Ruins 2 hours south of Positano). Pascal gave us a reference book and told us to use it while we toured the ruins! So nice and helpful! All in all it was a magical week and we will return to Eden Roc next year! It is a 10!!! A must!!!

Room Tip: Explore Positano in comfort and receive service that is beyond attentive and refined!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

From the moment we arrived until we left 5 days later everything was amazing. The entire staff went way out of their way to make you feel special.....The front deck staff Simone, Allesandro and many others always with a smile suggested trips, booked reservations and then inquired about our experiences. Tony and his breakfast...he is special! Always makes you feel as if you are the only person there...remembers all the details. Carlo and the bar/restaurant staff are all about making their customers happy. Service is not stuffy but warm and friendly.
We came for the location of the hotel (which is perfect) but will go back for the people!
The Seaview Junior Suite is spacious, spotless and has a great balcony with a breathtaking view.
Thank you to all the staff at Eden Roc....we had a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We just left after an all-too-short 3-day stay in Positano in the middle of our 9-day Campania vacation and our impression of both the town and Hotel Eden Roc was they were both fabulous locations. We researched all of the hotels in Positano for months prior to booking---even using Google Earth to get a feel for the view we would be enjoying and Eden Roc exceeded our expectations. The hotel has just 25 rooms, giving it a more intimidate feel. The decor inside is classic Italian, appointed luxuriously with marble and colorful Mediterranean tiles. The hotel is elegant but not overstated. We had a 4th floor junior suite with a nice balcony and incredible views of the city below. We chose Hotel Eden Roc because of its higher elevation, to enjoy the more classic Amalfi coast views. The main shopping is an.invigorating 10-minute walk downhill. Unfotunately, after ravaging the myriad of linen, sandals and souvenier shops, you will be left to carry your treasures back uphill to your room. The breakfast buffet is a sight to behold with an amazing selection of quiches, pastries and fruits. The always-effervescent Toni will add a touch of personality and customer service to your dining experience. The 5th floor outdoor pool was ordinary, but enjoyed the same amazing views as our balcony. We did not come to Positano to swim, however, so we did not use it. On the same level as the pool was the hotel's restaurant, rated in the top 15% of Positano's restaurants. Like most dining experiences in the area, prices are high-even by American standards---especially if you are not used to east and west coast prices. We found the food to be good, if not singularly spectacular. The room appointments were first-rate and the housekeeping was impeccable. Towels were plentiful and luxurious and the room had a jacuzzi tub and hydromassage shower. The nightly turndown service on the ultra-comfortable king-sized bed was an added touch of class. The entire staff was highly-accomodating and the lovely and smiling Simona's greeting of "bon jorno" at the front desk was always a pleasant start to another beautiful day on the amazing Amalfi coast. We would readily stay here again on a future trip to Positano.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Eden Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden Roc

Also Known As:
Eden Roc Hotel
Eden Roc Positano
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 110, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#5 Family Hotel in Positano
#7 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eden Roc 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 4 star Hotel Eden Roc in Positano, welcomes you to its cozy establishment. The hotel which overlooks the blue sea, is situated a few metres from the beaches and the centre of Positano, in an ideal position to spend a day of culture and relax in the heart of the Amalfi Coast. The 25 intimate and peaceful rooms and suites, furnished with antique furniture and equipped with the most disparate comforts, are bright and elegant, with a unified feature: a view of the sea that from the city of Positano expands to the Le Galli Islands, Punta Licosa and Praiano, giving you a glimpse of a unique sky that will remain ingrained in the memory of our guests. The panoramic pool and terrace, furnished with tables and chairs are an absolute corner of peace and relax where you can taste our traditional specialties or sip a delicious cocktail cradled by the fresh Mediterranean breeze. Treat yourself to moments of pure poetry, Positano and the 4 star Eden Roc hotel will fill your days with beauty and class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Eden Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eden Roc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.