We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location if travelling by car” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eden Roc

Save Saved
You added Hotel Eden Roc to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Eden Roc
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Guglielmo Marconi 110, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 41 hotels in Positano
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent location if travelling by car”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Located on the main road around the top of Positano, with it's own garage parking, makes this a superb place to stay if you're touring by car, because car parking can be a major problem. The regular bus service to Amalfi and Sorrento a few yards from the front of the hotel gives the opportunity to rest from driving, and enjoy the fantastic coastal scenery, without the stress of negotiating the narrow hairpin bend roads and searching for parking space. Positano is an expensive place to stay, but this hotel offers levels of comfort, service and well-being that make a holiday memorable for all the right reasons. On arrival the manager greeted us at the front of the hotel, and our car and luggage were efficiently dispatched to the appropriate places. We booked a mini suite, with our own jacuzzi on the balcony, and although expensive, was well worth the cost. The suite consisted of a tasteful bathroom, bedroom and sitting room, with a huge balcony, half in sun and half in shade, with views over the Amalfi coast that defy description. The quality of care and service were seond to none, with friendly greetings from every member of staff whatever the time of day. The bed linen, towels and toiletries were changed and replenished on a regular basis, and these were of an excellent quality. Of special mention must be Tony, with his enthusiastic presentation of the excellent breakfast, and Carlo, whose consideration and care when offering food and drinks went beyond what is experienced in most hotels. Positano is often described as the "Crown of the Amalfi Coast", and in my opinion this hotel must be considered the "Jewel in the Crown".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    610
    102
    27
    17
    8
See reviews for
137
424
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is where you want to stay in Positano if you are looking for "those perfect views"' great service, good location where you can walk to the restaurants, show and boats. The people could not be nicer. They drove us free to restaurants "up the mountain" that we could not walk to. Breakfast is included, and good. Atmosphere is very Italian nice.highly recommend. We would stay here again. Don't be fooled by the location on the map. We could walk easily to everything - and we are not hikers... But if you want or need to take a bus...it stops outside the door of this lovely lovely hotel.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This charming hotel is great for couples, families and friends. The ambience, staff, service and food are awesome. Some say it is too far from "everything", but that is not true (We easily and enjoyably walked everywhere with my elderly Mother). Everything in Positano is on the hillside facing the ocean, along hair pin turn roads; so it is a walk up and down hill wherever you stay. Eden Roc is only one hair pin turn (1 block) above one of the most expensive hotels in town. But it is prettier, more quaint, and on a quieter block. It has great views of the town and ocean.

The breakfast served by Tony was a highlight of our trip. So were the roof top dinners at Adomo ed Eva, the friendly front desk staff, and the beautiful view from our balcony. I would definitely return to Eden Roc!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Eden Roc in Positano for three days. The hotel is very nice and looks like it has been recently remodeled. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with all of our needs. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the town center and has a very good view of the sea and town. We ate at the restaurant for lunch and dinner on the day we arrived because we were tired. Both meals were very good and so was the service. The only thing that I was not crazy about was that the hotel is located on the main road through Positano down the Amalfi coast. While we had a large balcony with a view, it was directly above this road, which can be very load from traffic most of the day and evening.

For those of you trying to decide whether to stay in either Positano or Amalfi, I would recommend Positano and then take the ferry to Amalfi for the day, which is very easy allows you to see the beautiful coast. We liked the larger beach and surrounding restaurants in Positano and most of the hotels are close enough to walk to the beach and town center.

Room Tip: The higher the better for views and possibly less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our family stayed 3 nights at Hotel Eden Roc and loved every minute. We are a family of 5 with 3 tween/teenage daughters and had a huge room that accommodated all of us without us feeling totally cramped. Our balcony view was spectacular. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and the service was fantastic. They served a very nice breakfast in the morning and the pool and restaurant are excellent. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel, the view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent 4 nights here in July and were extremely pleased with this hotel. It's location is great as it sits at the top of the road leading down to Positano and the beach in the centre. We had our Two year old daughter with us, which meant no steps on the way down or up which was great and we took our pram everywhere. It is also the road with all the shops, so as we walked down we could browse not only at the amazing view but also do a bit of shopping if we wished to. The hotel itself was very nice, we had a junior suite which provided us with ample room and privacy for the three of us and the views were amazing, no better way to wake up. I have saved the best for last, the service is outstanding and also very friendly. Tony, was very friendly, efficient and always remembered your order for breakfast, best way to start your day. The remaining staff were just as lovely, and treated you like a long term guest. One night we had an issue with some noise from pool machinery and it was dealt with immediately, and with a wonderful manner. This hotel is highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I just returned from 7 nights in Positano, having done a lot of research on hotels ahead of time and I am posting this to confirm the many reviews I read ahead of time. In short, this is a very nice hotel and our room was very clean, had a great view, and was exactly as shown on the website. (junior suite with sea view). The staff could not have been any nicer or more helpful. They went out of there way constantly to help us and make us feel at home and help with reservations and excursions. Breakfast is ok. The service is great there and the food passable, thought after 7 days it gets a little old, but Italy is not really about the breakfast as much as the other meals. We stayed on the 3rd floor and it was a little noisy at night. It;s not the cars or even the buses, it's the scooters as the rode rises a little as it passes the hotel, so riders hit the gas and it can be distracting if you are a light sleeper. Bottom line is that this is a great hotel with some of the best service I have ever experienced and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a higher room to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Eden Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden Roc

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 110, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#5 Family Hotel in Positano
#7 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eden Roc 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 4 star Hotel Eden Roc in Positano, welcomes you to its cozy establishment. The hotel which overlooks the blue sea, is situated a few metres from the beaches and the centre of Positano, in an ideal position to spend a day of culture and relax in the heart of the Amalfi Coast. The 25 intimate and peaceful rooms and suites, furnished with antique furniture and equipped with the most disparate comforts, are bright and elegant, with a unified feature: a view of the sea that from the city of Positano expands to the Le Galli Islands, Punta Licosa and Praiano, giving you a glimpse of a unique sky that will remain ingrained in the memory of our guests. The panoramic pool and terrace, furnished with tables and chairs are an absolute corner of peace and relax where you can taste our traditional specialties or sip a delicious cocktail cradled by the fresh Mediterranean breeze. Treat yourself to moments of pure poetry, Positano and the 4 star Eden Roc hotel will fill your days with beauty and class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Eden Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Roc Hotel
Eden Roc Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eden Roc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.