We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful return to Covo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Covo Dei Saraceni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Covo Dei Saraceni to your Saves list
Covo Dei Saraceni
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina Giovanna, 5, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A wonderful return to Covo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I first visited Covo Dei Saraceni 10 years ago for our honeymoon. We loved it so much then that we decided that we would return on our tenth anniversary. Well I have just got back and it was just as good as on our first visit. I had emailed the hotel prior to our return with a picture of the room we had on our honeymoon because we wanted to go back to our old room. On arrival they confirmed that we had our old room back and when we went up there they had placed a bottle of Prosecco in an ice bucket with compliments of the hotel and a card wishing us a happy anniversary. That was so kind and unexpected, but is just a lttle example of the service that the staff at the hotel give. The service is truly exceptional. Our room was room 28, this was just a standard double and is I suppose quite small. However it is comfortable, with a standard double bed and has a reasonably large balcony. The best thing though about the room is the view. I believe its the best view in Positano. The balcony overlooks the beach and is right by the sea. It also affords stunning views of the town of Positano which appears to be clinging to the surrounding cliffs. It is quite simply breathtaking. There is a wide selection at breakfast of fresh fruits, breads, croissants, smoked salmon and eggs and bacon. The pool is situated on the 5th floor and again has stunning views, big sunbeds and again great service. We enjoyed it so much that we have already decided that 10 years is far too long to wait for our next visit and will be going back in the near future. If the staff at the hotel read this review I would like to express our sincere thanks to all the reception staff, pool staff, maids,porters and restaurant staff for their truly exceptional levels of service. Thankyou.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    136
    29
    16
    9
See reviews for
76
300
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I just got back from our honeymoon and Covo was the first stop of our 17 day honeymoon in Italy. We were so pleased with the experience from start to finish. The concierge was very welcoming and knowledgeable. The room was small but had the old charm you would expect in the area. The view was awesome :) The rooftop pool is top notch and usually pretty quiet. If you don't feel like going to the beach, the pool is where you can read, have a mimosa, order a light lunch, and just relax. The restaurant was also great and had delicious food. We LOVED the location of the hotel. 5 star from beginning to end! We would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed 4ights at the end of our 16 day vacation ,.It was the best 4 nights of the trip , Top 2 all time in 30 years of travel. Great staff, front desk thru the restaurants and the pool area. The location is the best in Positano ,right on the beach, after you go up into down , everything is down hill to your hotel .There is a heated pool, infinity hot tub and bar with a restaurant on the 5 floor .The view is amazing from the this area Also .Free wi/fi .We had a junior suite with a terrace... best money we ever spent,(a lot )You only live once, Positano and the covo dei Saraceni is a once in a lifetime experience ,go for it

Room Tip: get a balcony or terrace, fanatic vews
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking to getaway from the hustle and bustle and truly experience an Italian holiday amongst old world charm and classic surroundings look no further than the Covo Dei Saraceni. My wife and I spend 4 nights here as a retreat after "running around in Rome" in for a few days and were surprised beyond belief at everything the Covo had to offer. This property has the best views and location in all of Positano-yiu will shed tears when you walk in and yiu will shed tears when you depart. The views from the terrace pool were incredible-the beach location was incredibly convenient and the service was second to none. We will definitely be back! A perfect vacation getaway in a place you can only otherwise dream about

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for four nights at the beginning of our trip and had a great time. The staff was outstanding and did everything they could to make our stay pleasant; there was eve a bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room when we arrived. We stayed in room 31 which has a very large terrace and private pool. The retractable awnings allowed us to layout in the comfort of our own terrace, but the common pool on the rooftop was so nice that we elected to spend our days there. The only complaints I had about the room were that the air conditioning was malfunctioning for the first night so the room was a little hot, and the private pool on our terrace never got any warmer than room temperature (I thought it was a hot tub when looking online).

We took the cooking class that is offered by the Chef from the hotel's restaurant (Tommaso), along with the head waiter (Paulo) who translated. This is a must-do experience when staying at the hotel. It is a one-on-one session with the Chef as he walks you through how to create your own Italian meal.

The hotel has prime location in the city, right on the beach. While the walk from the city's car service drop off location to the hotel was further than I would have liked, the porter service brought our bags down for us (at an extra cost of 5 euro per bag).

Room Tip: Be sure to get yourself a room with a terrace, as we very much enjoyed spending time overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Very nicely appointed and it's right on the beach, but quiet. Very accommodating staff and views are all great in positano. Old world flavor.
Bedding is a little course and it really isn't a king bed, just two twins pushed together, made separately..but it's Italy. Large very clean and again the staff is outstanding...

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, N.Y.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My wife and I recently celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a two week trip to Italy. Overall the trip was nothing less than fabulous, with our 4 day stay at Covo Dei Saraceni (Pirate's Cove) being the absolute high point. When I walked in my breath was taken away by the spacious, immaculate and spectacularly decorated public area and the lobby. The breakfast room is just beautiful and the breakfast was absolutely first class, with top quality food, preparation of that food, selection and service. Our room overlooked the sea with a balcony offering a view that cannot be compared to anything I have experienced before. The bathroom was sterile and decent sized with plenty of nice towels and toiletries. The rooftop pool is large, warm and inviting...again, plenty of large nice towels.
As much as the building itself is top shelf, the staff is the finest anywhere. The front desk staff was excellent, all of whom, spoke better English than most Americans. All the service people anticipated any need and fulfilled it before a guest could ask...I could go on and on, but suffice it to say that if you are planning a stay here you will be very happy with that choice.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any unfavorable rooms in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Covo Dei Saraceni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covo Dei Saraceni

Address: Via Regina Giovanna, 5, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#12 Family Hotel in Positano
#12 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#16 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Covo Dei Saraceni 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Venere, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Covo Dei Saraceni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covo Dei Saraceni Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Covo Dei Saraceni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.