We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Covo Dei Saraceni

Save Saved
You added Covo Dei Saraceni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Covo Dei Saraceni
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina Giovanna, 5, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 41 hotels in Positano
Glencoe, Illinois
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We will be back...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I began a two week 30th Anniversary trip to Italy at The Covo. After spending four nights there we left for Florence and then were scheduled to go on to Tuscany and Rome. We had such a fabulous experience in Positano and at The Covo that when we arrived in Florence we both had the same thought, "why did we leave Positano"? We called The Covo and they explained they were very full but that if we were willing to change rooms a few times they would accommodate us for five additional nights. One of the highlights of our trip was sitting on our lovely balcony when we returned to The Covo and toasting our wise decision! The staff at The Covo is extremely professional and welcoming, from the front desk, to reservations (Gino and Camillia), the restaurant, etc, the service, all in our book is top notch. One benefit to staying in
several rooms is that we learned that we would be happy in any of them, they all have a great balconies with world class views. A few other observations: the buffet breakfast offerings were many, fresh, and the service was fast. You could linger, or if you wanted to get a quick bite and get on with your day, you just gave your room number and left. The pool was beautiful and the staff there was also very attentive. Because of The Covo's location it's great if you are dining out elsewhere in Positano since unlike most you are walking downhill to to return to your hotel, we encountered several couples who were dreading their walks back uphill to their hotels after dinners! Finally, The Covo was great about arranging for porters to the staging area higher up in Positano for check in and check out and we also had them arrange drivers to the Naples train
station and it worked beautifully with no delays or issues and once again we were impressed with the precision and great service we received. If you are arriving at the Naples train station you will get off the train and quickly see your driver holding a sign with your name displayed. From there, you'll soon be in a very special place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    110
    25
    15
    5
See reviews for
70
243
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights and it was perfect. The rooms are very big and attractive and the balcony views of the water and Positano are amazing. I thought Positano was magical, because of our view. It was also fun being above the dock area, watching people arrive and leave the island. The pool/bar area is big and also has breathtaking views. Being able to go to the pool after walking all day or instead of sightseeing, was ideal and it didn't seem to me that many hotels had a pool. The beach is rocky, so we were glad they have a pool. The breakfast has plenty to offer with made to order eggs if you desire. The staff is all delightful. The only negative about this hotel is the internet does not work in your room. It works from the hotel lobby. Positano is on a hill and this hotel is at the bottom on the beach. You walk up hill to get to everything. My husband has bad knees and he was fine with it, but I could see it being a problem for some. The benefit is after having dinner (full), we walked down hill to the hotel. We didn't miss the spa, because we got so much exercise walking up and down hills. I can't wait to go back and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to have a terrific view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had such a good time at the Covo Dei Saraceni in June that we had to go back again in September. Glad we did as we had even a better time. Stayed in Positano before in another hotel and as not impressed. However, after staying at the Covo dei Saraceni we changed our minds. The rooms and views are great and the service is wonderful. Whatever you ask them they will go out of their way to help. Rooms are clean and comfortable and housekeeping is excellent. Breakfast room and selection of food is also very good. We asked for a cheese that was recommended to us by our taxi driver and they ran and got us a whole plate of it with fruit.
Pool is relaxing and chairs are always available. They just added an additional small infinity pool that overlooks the beach and town.
Only complaint this time was a bit of noise from the room we had this time.
Location is great to the beach, ferry, restaurants, center of town and a nice walk up the hill to many shops and beautiful views.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful trip to Positano. Some friends of ours from Germany recommended we stay in Positano which is near Almaphi. We highly recommend it. The location is perfect, right off the water near the boats. We recommend you are somewhat fit as there are many steps in this city. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were perfect. We were on the sixth floor overlooking the beach. The windows opened to a balcony. We could view the beach, fireworks, boats coming and going. breakfast was delicious with hot and cold options. Eggs, bacon, sausage, plus fruit, yogurt, cheese, cereal, and wonderful breads and sweets. Things to do...rent a boat, day trip to Pompeii or Sorento, Ravell,
Relax, eat pizza and Gelato.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I planned our trip to Positano just a few weeks prior to arrival so finding accommodations was challenging. After reading several reviews on Trip Advisor I decided I wanted to stay down as close to the beach as possible to avoid long walks up the hill at the end of the day. I admit I was a bit nervous about this hotel after reading some of the reviews but I will have to say we had nothing but polite and helpful staff (at the reception desk, bar, pool, dining, breakfast room - everyone was always asking how they could help). Yes - it is expensive. But Positano is expensive and you are paying for the most beautiful location overlooking the main dock and beach. I don't understand why this isn't rated much higher on Trip Adviser. While expensive it is not overpriced in my opinion. If you want a less expensive hotel then stay up the hill. If you want luxury then this is the place for you. If we are ever so fortunate to return to Positano this will be our hotel of choice. in fact we won't visit unless there is availability at Covo Dei Saraceni!

Room Tip: I do not think there is one room that DOESN'T over look the water. It is that perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Some reviewers said "dated". I say marvelous! Perched above the main beach, a stage with music and dance below each evening. We simply commented that is was our anniversary and mysteriously a bottle of wine arrives at our room with compliments. You are remembered and feel warmth and a sense of welcome from all the staff. Clean, great view, perfect location and simple relaxing along the pool or in the restaurant. An open balcony door at night brought the sound of the sea to lull us to sleep. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is expensive but you are paying for the location... right on the beach in the best town on the Amalfi Coast. The room had a beautiful view and the service was great. Room was clean and offered a turn down service. Be prepared to be a mountain goat (lots of stairs) but it is worth it.

Room Tip: Room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Covo Dei Saraceni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covo Dei Saraceni

Address: Via Regina Giovanna, 5, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#11 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#12 Family Hotel in Positano
#16 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Covo Dei Saraceni 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Covo Dei Saraceni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covo Dei Saraceni Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Covo Dei Saraceni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.