We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 4 days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Positano Art Hotel Pasitea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Positano Art Hotel Pasitea to your Saves list
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pasitea 207, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful 4 days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Spent 4 great days at the Hotel Pasitea. I have been traveling throughout Italy for the past 6 weeks and without a doubt the Hotel Pasitea was one of the best. It has a prime location in Positano, and as an added benefit, a bus stop right in front. The staff went out of their way to make my stay very enjoyable, and I would, and will, be returning to this hotel. And before I sign off, I must comment on the hotel's Bougainvillea's, they are simply amazing. The front of the hotel is covered and my terrace was overflowing with them. I was there in November and they were beautiful, can't imagine their beauty in the summer.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positano_Pasitea, Direttore at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you. In the summer our bougainvillea are fantastic. You can watch the video on the home page of our website. They are an explosion of colors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    268
    48
    12
    8
See reviews for
103
400
17
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel is lovely, and we certainly would recommend it. However, we hope the hotel owner works with at least one of his check-in desk clerks on courtesy. When we checked in (late afternoon, looking bedraggled I'm sure) he was curt and less than hospitable. We were disappointed in our room, and I went back downstairs to request another one. He was adamant that the hotel was fully booked. I stressed that our reservation had been made well over a month ago, and we wanted another room. He then sent me to see a different room. So much for a fully booked hotel. Anyway .... if he hadn't been so rude, I may have handled the situation differently. We were moved the next morning to a nicer room with a wonderful view. Again .... we give this hotel high ratings and appreciate the staff, but what an awful beginning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positano_Pasitea, Direttore at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I'm sorry for the initial problem. I think it was a misunderstanding. I am glad, however, that all is solved well, because we want our customers to be happy in hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Spent one night at Pasitea, and while we had a perfectly nice time there, we were shocked to find that it was so highly ranked on TA and that it was accorded a four star rating. I'd say that the hotel itself is between two and three stars, but it comes with an absolutely breathtaking view that probably cements it at three stars flat. To be fair, everywhere in Positano has amazing views, so perhaps that part isn't so unique in this lovely town.

THE GOOD
Pasitea is on the main road where the local Positano bus passes so location is good. Easy to get down to the central square (10-12 min walk down stairs) and walk up isn't terrible (though I prefer the aforementioned bus). Views are amazing and of course Positano itself is one of the most charming and lovely places anywhere on the planet. Staff was very attentive and was quick to help in any way that they could.

THE BAD
Rooms are massively overpriced - even for Positano. I've stayed in two star budget hotels that have nicer accommodations and decor. The shower was the most miserable experience I've had in a long long time. Switches from scalding hot to freezing cold every sixty seconds. Not the cleanest place -- we found a dead spider on the floor and in general the level of cleanliness left a lot to be desired. Breakfast was very underwhelming with only some pastries and other basics. Rooms were tiny for the money spent. Beds were extremely uncomfortable -- woke up with aches and pains as if I had slept on a bag of rocks.

OVERALL
Find a better option in Positano. Many other choices will provide better value for the dollar.

Room Tip: Make sure you get 3rd floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positano_Pasitea, Direttore at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
I'm sorry for your words. I admit that in the last week, we had problems with the water heater, so the water mixing cold-hot water did not work. Now we understand the problem and we solved it. The room cleaning has always been one of our strengths. Regarding the beds, we have the mattress and the pillow myform of Dorelan. I do not understand why you have not slept well, but you rarely can find better, in hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A couple of months ago, we went to the Amalfi Coast for our annual vacation. We were really excited; since it was the first time we were visiting that part of Italy. It was amazing, as soon as we landed in Naples (we rented a car to drive along the Amalfi’s Coast) it started to rain. It rained almost every day during that week. I though our vacations were ruined!!!. When we got to the Pasitea Hotel in Positano, a gentleman called Enzo in the front desk of the hotel just changed all for us. He treated as a loyalty and gave us the most amazing tips to enjoy not only Positano, but Praiano, Capri, Amalfi and Ravello. We really enjoy shopping, visiting unbelievable places and fantastic restaurants because of his advice.
Thank you Pasitea Hotel and thank you Enzo for make the sun shine during this rainy vacations.
Diaz familiy

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view, it is unbelievable!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positano_Pasitea, Direttore at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your beautiful words. We always protect our customers. Because their satisfaction and well-being is our goal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were only in Positano for 2 nights. Two Americans with no knowledge of the area could of equaled disaster, but luckily we booked here! The Hotel itself was beautiful and much nicer than we expected for the price we paid (we expected a dump, like some of the other cheaper hotels we'd booked.) There's not a lot of options for restaurants during early December here, but the staff made sure we knew exactly where to go. They were amazing! Antonio and the General Manager were extremely helpful. Hope to visit again very soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positano_Pasitea, Direttore at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thanks, our policy is to offer customers the best value for money and we are happy when our customers appreciate and magnify this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed in 2011 for 5 nights. Awesome. Don't be fooled by 'Best Western', this is THE place. I think all rooms have large balconies overlooking the town/ocean. Staff is great, location and vibe are great. Breakfast is really good. Rooms are quiet (unless you hide in the closet to scare the dogsh*t out of your spouse like I did). Rent a scooter from the women's clothing shop down the stairs from Pasitea, it'll make your trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positano_Pasitea, Direttore at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for the beautiful words. We left the Best Western 1 month ago. After 12 years of great collaboration, we now have decided to go ahead alone. We are now the Positano Art Hotel Pasitea and will host vernissage and art exhibitions every month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Pasitea this November 2012 for 3 days and it was a great experience. The staff makes the difference here. Antonio and the ower were so nice, informative and really enjoy their work and enjoy their guests. From the minute we arrived to the moment of deoarture we were delighted with the stay, cleanliness of rooms, lobby and dining area. Our room was spotless and the view was spectacular (every room I believe). We mostly walked from and to the hotel but the local shuttle stops right in front of the hotel and makes getting around very easy. Almost a tour of the city. The rooms are good for the price. Shower is in the tub and a bit small space but everything else made that invisible.
Again, Antonio is the best and treats you like family. Great and we will retun next year.

Room Tip: All rooms have great view. Ask for floor 2 or 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positano_Pasitea, Direttore at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for the beautiful words. We do a great job, our job is to make customers happy. With you we did it and we are happy for this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Positano Art Hotel Pasitea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Positano Art Hotel Pasitea

Address: Via Pasitea 207, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#10 Family Hotel in Positano
#13 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#13 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Positano Art Hotel Pasitea 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the bay of Positano, the Positano Art Hotel Pasitea is a perfect example of Mediterranean architecture, with its masonry, lava stone and wrought iron furnishing. Completely renovated, the Hotel has the typical terrace-structure which can be immediately recognized thanks to the magnificent bougainvillea coming up from the vulcanic rocks to underline the property shapes made of arches and vaults. The Hall has a blue flooring painted of white waves which reminds the water sea movement. The circular stairs leads to every floor from which enjoy a different amazing view of Positano and of the sea. All the rooms are wide, air conditioned, with satellite television and individual balconies overlooking the sea. Each one faces a wonderful seaside landscape and the suites have a seaview Jacuzzi. The hotel has also a very special wine bar, where it’s possible to have dinner, taste the best products of Italian gastronomy and chose from a great selection of national wines. Free Wi-Fi ADSL connection and efficient business corner in the lobby. Private car park with an extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Splendia, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Positano Art Hotel Pasitea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pasitea Hotel Positano
Best Western Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.