We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "must go". Very friendly staff and nice rooms.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Positano Art Hotel Pasitea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Positano Art Hotel Pasitea to your Saves list
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pasitea 207, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A "must go". Very friendly staff and nice rooms.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a very clean and comfortable hotel located on Via Pasitea. All the rooms have an amazing view of the sea. Basic breakfast avaiable, for either lunch or dinner you'll have to look somewhere else (ask for useful tips at the reception desk). Only con is the distance from the beach and main stores....make sure that you are update with your cardiology exams or don't hesitate to take a bus.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positano_Pasitea, Direttore at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
thanks for your nice words. We are always happy when we make unforgettable holiday in Positano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    268
    48
    12
    8
See reviews for
103
400
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We chose the Best Western Hotel Pasitea in Positano as our friends recommended it to us. Due to a delay which was out of our control, we missed our booking and needed to reschedule for a later date. The staff and management identified with our situation and, although against hotel policy, allowed us to re-book our reservation at no additional cost.

Their kindness and helpfulness will not be forgotten.

Thanks Hotel Pasitea, Great service.

Gavin

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positano_Pasitea, Direttore at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you. We always help our customers, when we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I came to Positano as the last stop on our 2 week honeymoon in Italy. First of all, if you stay here, make sure you get a bus from the ferry to the hotel. No one told us that it was a 20 minute walk uphill with our heavy suitcases. Second of all, do not stay here if you are "splurging" and you are not a millionaire. The people at the front desk are only willing to help you if you are willing to pay tons of money at expensive restaurants and for expensive day trips. We had to seek out our own transportation and restaurant reservations because we couldn't afford those suggested. Also, they were rude to us when we told them that we wanted more affordable options. Antonio, the bell boy/waiter, was the friendliest and most welcoming person that we encountered.

The actual hotel is very nice and the views from the balcony are breathtaking. However, it seems like most hotels in Positano offer views that are just as beautiful. The breakfast buffet was very good. Overall, our experience in Positano was nice, but we would have preferred to stay at a hotel with nicer, more welcoming and more understanding staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positano_Pasitea, Direttore at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for the nice words about the Hotel. I'm sorry that you had this feeling on my staff. They work with me for more than 30 years. I, now, will investigate, carefully, on the advice they give to clients. But I know the restaurants that we recommend (The Cut, From Constantine, The Meeting, The Fornillo). I think you've got the wrong information. In fact, these restaurants are the best value for money in Positano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is quite modern and clean. First impressions were not good though. We arrived to find that our room was double booked (we were not the only couple affected). We were offered an upgrade to an Executive Room with Jacuzzi for 3 of our 4 nights if we stayed in a sister hotel just up the road. Considering our long day of travel getting to Positano we knew there was v little we could do. The hotel Gabbiano is a 3*. Staff were lovely to point. When I opened a packet of biscuits.... 10 mins later there were ants pouring in through the air conditioning and cracks in the wall. Staff didn't react surprised and seemed annoyed to have to come and clean the room (with a can of ants spray!) as I had "caused" this myself.... Disgusting!

Anyway back to the Pasitea. Outside of the first night "ant fest", the executive room was very nice, very clean and staff were helpful. The views are stunning and the Jacuzzi is worth using! The hotel is near some excellent restaurants that are not as expensive as the ones nearer the beach/centre. We loved Saraceno D'Or (out of hotel, right and walk downhill 400-500m, pass II Fornillo and next one on the left). We got 2 starters, 2 pizza, chips, 2 desserts and bottle of proseco for €80. This is cheap for Positano. Food was amazingly tasty. If you want a treat visit Da Gabrisa (20m left of Pasitea). The girl who waited on us was so pretty and sooo nice. Food is bit pricey but service and ambiance is amazing. Try the Pistachio ice cream dessert OMG.

The hotel is NOT close to the beach, but you can catch the bus right outside for €1.60. It only brings you to the start of the pedestrian area so you do need to walk after you get off the bus. The standard beds on the beach are €12.50 ea. The hotel Pasitea supplies beach towels (from reception). The staff are very nice, especially the girls and boys serving coffee in the morning. It’s a typical and nice Italian breakfast of crossiants, danishes, pastries, cakes, some cereals, some fruit, yogurts, cold meats and cheese, juices, fried eggs and skinny sausages!
I found Tony on reception to live up to his reputation on Trips Advisor. He is very good at his job and very helpful. However I suspect it is also their job to recommend restaurants to tourists for kickbacks. I don’t have a problem with that, but when American tourists came in after a 17 hour flight and just wanted a cheap pizza, they were recommended to take the free taxi ride up to a restaurant in the mountains. We were in the same taxi and the whole trip including food took about 3 hours! Be aware if you are a “foodie” or like a higher standard of food or service, these mountain restaurants are not for you. If on the other hand you want value for money and aren’t too fussed about the class of food or service then you will enjoy them.

Thanks to the staff for a lovely stay, I would recommend this hotel. However please don’t double book rooms .. first impressions are so important .. so the memory of “ant fest” will never leave me.

Room Tip: If you can update to Executive with a Jacuzzi then do so!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positano_Pasitea, Direttore at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
I'm sorry for the problem the first day. I am happy that you enjoyed our compensation. You were happy in our hotel and you have loved Positano. This is our mission. I just bought an online booking system that will not cause more overbooking in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

A bit expensive. But what can you expect it's Positano.
Great quiet room with balcony and amazing view. Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. No complaints.
The concierge were exceedingly helpful and friendly with simple directions and organising tours.
A huge thank you to all the staff, especially Tony, Antonio, Ivan and the other mature gent at concierge. Their recommendations were great.
Such a pleasure to have stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positano_Pasitea, Direttore at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for the kind words you said, especially about our staff. We work together for about 10 years, and we are like a family. Remember that our hotel is open all year round, and in winter, our hotel is much cheaper. Positano, in fact, is charming even in winter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a trip around the area. Whilst not cheap, would probably count as mid-range in the area. Clean, nicely appointed rooms. Room 26 on the second floor had a small balcony with lovely ocean views. Comfortable bed, good air-con and reasonable-sized bathroom. Half-way down the hill, it was about 30 minute walk from the beach or close to the "Interno Positano" bus stop. Good continental breakfast with lots of pastries to choose from. Would recommend as a safe option in Positano. Quiet and able to get a good night's sleep after mooching around in the sun. Not somewhere you would linger for a drink or to eat though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positano_Pasitea, Direttore at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you. This summer we had some problems with the air conditioning. Now we have solved all the problems. I am glad you said that the air conditioning was good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had a very good experience at Hotel Pasitea. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and the rooms were comfortable, except for our shower which was very small.
This hotel is high up on the cliff so you get an amazing view from your window. It is not in the middle of the town, you actually have to walk 15-20 downhill to get to town either taking the steps or going through the road. For us this was perfect, we walked down to the beach (Il Fornillo) during the day or to and through town in the afternoon and then took the "Interno" bus back up. (In Positano there is a bus that goes up and down town all day. This bus has a stop right at the door of Hotel Pasitea which was very convenient)
There are also a couple of very good restaurants near the hotel, Il Fornillo and Saraceno d'Oro. They have very good food and you get a better value than in the ones that are near the beach.
I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positano_Pasitea, Direttore at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you. Your description is perfect. If I can leave a review about you, I'd say you've been a good customer ;))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Positano Art Hotel Pasitea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Positano Art Hotel Pasitea

Address: Via Pasitea 207, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#10 Family Hotel in Positano
#13 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#13 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Positano Art Hotel Pasitea 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the bay of Positano, the Positano Art Hotel Pasitea is a perfect example of Mediterranean architecture, with its masonry, lava stone and wrought iron furnishing. Completely renovated, the Hotel has the typical terrace-structure which can be immediately recognized thanks to the magnificent bougainvillea coming up from the vulcanic rocks to underline the property shapes made of arches and vaults. The Hall has a blue flooring painted of white waves which reminds the water sea movement. The circular stairs leads to every floor from which enjoy a different amazing view of Positano and of the sea. All the rooms are wide, air conditioned, with satellite television and individual balconies overlooking the sea. Each one faces a wonderful seaside landscape and the suites have a seaview Jacuzzi. The hotel has also a very special wine bar, where it’s possible to have dinner, taste the best products of Italian gastronomy and chose from a great selection of national wines. Free Wi-Fi ADSL connection and efficient business corner in the lobby. Private car park with an extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Splendia and Agoda so you can book your Positano Art Hotel Pasitea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pasitea Hotel Positano
Best Western Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.