We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa with stunning views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Agavi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Agavi Hotel to your Saves list
Le Agavi Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G. Marconi 127, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Villa with stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We didn't stay in a hotel room but instead rented a villa on the hotel's facility that is actually owned by a private individual, but you get to enjoy all the hotel amenities. Much cheaper than the hotel rooms and more space. We spent last week there for our 25th anniversary and I'm so glad we did. Our villa (Villa Ines) was very clean, nicely appointed and had 2 bedrooms. The master had plenty of space, great built-in wardrobes and best of all had its own balcony with the most stunning views you could ask for. There is also a 2nd balcony accessed from the living room. The 2nd bedroom has no windows but is comfortable with a queen size bed. You can only rent it through this web site http://www.summerinitaly.com/eng/rent/property0453!italy_.htm. The hotel is just on the edge of the town so it's a good walk if you're inclined, which we were. We actually enjoyed being a bit away from the town center as it forced us to experience all of it, and there's no better way than by foot. We used the bus service to return on a couple of nights. The hotel's breakfast buffet is very expensive, about 30 euro each, and lacks any protein choices. Mainly pastries, cheeeses, breads, fruits, cereals, etc. But what they had was very good - fresh and great tasting. We did it just once, but had the best view of Positano and the coast while dining outside. Better deal is to go into town at any number of café-style restaurants and get an omelet for 10 euro each. Was nice to have parking onsite for our rental car . . . but you do have to pay 25 euro/day for the privilege, but it's not any better in the town. Just know it's the price of visiting the area. Was great to be able to take the car in and out whenever we needed to. Our villa had only one bathroom and it was small. The shower stall is very small, so if you're a really large person you may struggle fitting in. Was just the two of us, but if you had other guests I can see the bathroom situation being a real challenge. Was nice to have a kitchen with fridge as we bought fruits daily for snacking at the villa. Speaking of which, some of the best and cheapest fruits in town are at the daily fruit stand just outside the hotel. We spent all our time in town and sightseeing the neighboring towns along the coast, so we only used the villa/hotel facility to sleep in. But it was great waking up each day to that view. Just puts you in a great mood to start each day. Having experienced the town thoroughly now, we'd stay here again when we go back one day in the not-too-distant future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    89
    25
    13
    5
See reviews for
47
171
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A wonderful hotel, high above Positano with stunning views. Lovely room with terrace and sunloungers. Staff were all friendly and made our stay even more enjoyable. Excellent food served on the terrace as we looked out over the bay. Free hourly transfer in the hotel mini bus to Positano was very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel has a great view and the facilities are very nice. The decor is a bit "old" opulence, but some like that. In contrast the rooms are very simple. Everything is very clean. I do have to say that we payed a special price, and for that it was definitely worth it. But I wouldn't pay 400 a night.
It is not anymore up to a regular 5 star, but you are in Italy, where stars are given differently and you are in a very tourist rich location. But the views are just amazing, and you have the beach, and the pool (that we didn't use), but you also have the transfers to Positano that are very convenient so you don't have to drive into town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene89
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nestled in the cliff side with unparalleled views, is this gem of a hotel. Guglielmo Del Pizzo leads the impeccable service at the front desk and is there to guide you through your stay. His recommendations were always on target. While the rooms are a bit dated, the vistas surely make up for it. Yes, it is a short ride into town but we didn't mind it at all - the buses are quite frequent. We also chartered one of Le Agavi's boats to take us up the Amalfi coast and it was a magnificent day, our Captain was wonderful. The food down at the Beach restaurant was good and again so was the service. We look forward to returning to Positano and we will choose to stay at Le Agavi again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The location of the hotel is unrivalled with spectacular views of Positano and for this reason alone we would definitely return. Whilst it is a couple of miles (not a safe walk) from the centre of Positano, this is not an issue due to the regular and efficient courtesy bus. We found the hotel very good and all of the staff were friendly and helpful (particularly, when I required a doctor during our stay). The rooms are not really 5 star standard with quite basic decor and furnishings and bathroom fittings in need of updating. That said, we found the beds comfortable and the room was very clean and well attended. The food in the restaurant was excellent but unfortunately the menu did not change during our five day stay and by day four we were tired of this and elected to eat in town at additional expense. On the downside the pool area is cramped and a little gaudy. The funicular to the beach side terrace is good fun and the terrace itself is beautiful and spacious but beware of eating at the terrace cafe as the prices are extortionate and the food poor - £25 for a Caesar Salad which consisted of lettuce, stale bread and dressing only! Overall, these minor imperfections did not spoil our stay and there are far more positives than negatives about the hotel. For the view alone you would not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is generally not the first hotel you hear about when people talk about Positano, but I has to have the most scenic views of any hotel in the area. It's built right on the cliffs above the town with wonderful villa rooms spread along the cliffside. A finicular takes you to your room or you can always walk for exercize. A most memorable moment was breakfast overlooking the city. This is an excellent choice if you don't want to pay an arm and a leg for accommodations. You would not be dissapointed in any way with this hotel. Great food. Great service. Private beach on the Med and a pool.

You can't see this hotel from the road, coming into town because you enter from the roof level as the hotel and rooms are down the mountain from the road level. It's not right in town which is OK since it's not a long walk. Coming back however might be a bit of a climb. They have continuous shuttles down to town so it's not at all an inconvenience. The incredible view from every hotel room more than make up for that. They have a great restaurant with breakfast and dinner. Don't miss going to Positano. My favorite place in all of Italy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel is perched on the cliff above Positano village. The views are fantastic and our rooms were pleasant enough, although fairly basic. The hotel is a warren of rooms and terraces which we found fun but some would be irritated by it. The staff seemed pleasant and helpful enough until they realised that there were better tippers staying at the hotel than our (English) family! The waiters had happy smiley (give us a tip) faces until the Americans arrived, then all of a sudden it was impossible to get the waiter to even acknowldege that we were there never mind give us any service.
One real bonus is that the hotel has its own (though tiny and rocky) beach, and these seem to be VERY scarce along this bit of coast.
One real downside is how difficult it is to get in to the town and back. We thought one mini bus every 1/2 hour ought to be fine until we discovered how many other guests were queuing up to get on it. We very nearly witnessed a punch up at the bus stop on the way back from town as everyone pushed and shoved their wives in front of them so as to be able to get one of the very limited number of spaces available. Well, after waiting 1/2 hour for the mini bus in the first place no one wanted to have to wait another 1/2 hour and then still risk not being able to get on it. Remember - only the English know how to queue!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Le Agavi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Agavi Hotel

Address: Via G. Marconi 127, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#14 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Agavi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Agavi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Agavi Positano
Hotel Le Agavi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Agavi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.