We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredible views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Agavi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Agavi Hotel to your Saves list
Le Agavi Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G. Marconi 127, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Positano
Collegeville
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“incredible views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is generally not the first hotel you hear about when people talk about Positano, but I has to have the most scenic views of any hotel in the area. It's built right on the cliffs above the town with wonderful villa rooms spread along the cliffside. A finicular takes you to your room or you can always walk for exercize. A most memorable moment was breakfast overlooking the city. This is an excellent choice if you don't want to pay an arm and a leg for accommodations. You would not be dissapointed in any way with this hotel. Great food. Great service. Private beach on the Med and a pool.

You can't see this hotel from the road, coming into town because you enter from the roof level as the hotel and rooms are down the mountain from the road level. It's not right in town which is OK since it's not a long walk. Coming back however might be a bit of a climb. They have continuous shuttles down to town so it's not at all an inconvenience. The incredible view from every hotel room more than make up for that. They have a great restaurant with breakfast and dinner. Don't miss going to Positano. My favorite place in all of Italy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    96
    31
    15
    6
See reviews for
56
196
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel is perched on the cliff above Positano village. The views are fantastic and our rooms were pleasant enough, although fairly basic. The hotel is a warren of rooms and terraces which we found fun but some would be irritated by it. The staff seemed pleasant and helpful enough until they realised that there were better tippers staying at the hotel than our (English) family! The waiters had happy smiley (give us a tip) faces until the Americans arrived, then all of a sudden it was impossible to get the waiter to even acknowldege that we were there never mind give us any service.
One real bonus is that the hotel has its own (though tiny and rocky) beach, and these seem to be VERY scarce along this bit of coast.
One real downside is how difficult it is to get in to the town and back. We thought one mini bus every 1/2 hour ought to be fine until we discovered how many other guests were queuing up to get on it. We very nearly witnessed a punch up at the bus stop on the way back from town as everyone pushed and shoved their wives in front of them so as to be able to get one of the very limited number of spaces available. Well, after waiting 1/2 hour for the mini bus in the first place no one wanted to have to wait another 1/2 hour and then still risk not being able to get on it. Remember - only the English know how to queue!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We visited Hotel Le Agavi in October 2012 and stayed 3 nights. I could have stayed forever!

Both rooms had splendid views over the Med. One room was much bigger than the other and the shower in room 2 could have been bigger. Loved the spa bath in room 1.

Breakfast was great and the staff excellent.

Cannot wait to book my next stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Spend our honeymoon here. It was perfect!! Very good food and beverages, far from the city center, but the hotel have to microbus going from the hotel to the center (it stops near pharmacy) and back. All staff is very good, special thanks to Guiglegmo (I don't know how to write his name correctly, I'm so sorry about this). He can give you a good advice about everything, even about things that is not in his responsibility. He help us to buy a ticket for a train from Napoly to Rome, and also he help us to call a taxi from Pisitano to Napoli, and it was really cheap!
Rooms are very bright and clean, we didn't saw any cleaners at all, but every time when we was coming back from the city we find our room clean. Also, near the entrance to the hotel where is a place to take photo - all the city is just in front of you and it's really beautiful. Our room was with the great sea view. Romantic, peaceful, excellent!!!
You will never regret if you will choose this hotel to spend your vacation in Positano!!!
Sorry for my English..)))

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The setting of Le Agavi is unlike any you have ever experienced. The hotel is perched on a cliff overlooking the bay. Reception is on the top floor, the restaurant one floor below, meeting rooms one floor below, and the rooms in levels below that. It takes two elevators to get to most rooms, and many rooms require some stairs also. The hotel is located perhaps a mile from the town of Positano, and it provides an hourly shuttle bus service to and from town, although if the 8-passenger shuttle is filled up, they may have to come back and get you on a second run. Taxis are also available. There is a funicular leading to the hotel's private beach, but the beach was closed for our October stay, so we never saw it. There is an outdoor, unheated pool on the lowest level. The room itself was pretty basic, but there is a majestic view over the Bay of Naples from the veranda. Sunrise from the veranda was breath taking. There was no safe in the room, but the front desk maintains safe deposits for guests. The restaurant was excellent for both breakfast and dinner, with a gorgeous view overlooking the bay and the town of Positano.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, ask for a room accessible without use of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

One of the best hotels in Positano. The level of service and the amenities puts it right up there with the other 5 star and 5 star L hotels in the area! The private beach and sunning area are great and the staff at the beachfornt restaurant is fantastic!
Views spectacular, breakfast room and outside terrace breathtaking and the breakfast superb!
Relatively speaking, great value!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, NY
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We just got back from staying 4 nights at the Agavi hotel, staff is so friendly and helpful, the views i think are the best in positano, be prepared to do a lot of walking I have never seen so many stairs, but they do have a funicular that takes you up and down, the breakfast was great and the view from there cant be beat, the only negatives i have are that beds are very hard but i think its typical for Europe, and that the shuttle only runs every hour, but I will definitely stay there again if Im back in Positano

Room Tip: try to stay in the main building, the 700 rooms are a hike and not as breathtaking as the other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#34 of 40 in Positano
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#14 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
0.5 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#21 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 40 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#24 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#1 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Agavi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Agavi Hotel

Address: Via G. Marconi 127, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#14 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Agavi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Agavi hotel, a sheer drop from the cliff to the sea, is just five minutes by car from the center of Positano. It features a private beach, a breathtaking view over the Amalfi coast, an open-air swimming pool with a snack bar and rooms with air conditioning. All the rooms of Le Agavi hotel, belonging to different room categories, dispose of equipped balconies or terraces, a satellite TV and private bathrooms with a tub or shower. Le Agavi hotel has 3 bars and 3 restaurants, one of which located on the beach, with beach club facilities, also open for dinner, with a water taxi service as well, with menus for theme nights and tasting menus, where you will have the chance to relax and enjoy authentic typical dishes of the coast. In front of the hotel is a sita bus stop, 15 km away from the Circumvesuviana train station. The hotel disposes of a shuttle bus service to and from the center of Positano, leaving almost every hour. The hotel is one hour by car from Naples and 13 km from the beautiful town of Sorrento, from whose harbor hydrofoils leave towards the island of Capri and many other destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Agavi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Agavi Positano
Hotel Le Agavi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Agavi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.