We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel with outstanding service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Murat

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Murat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Murat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Via dei Mulini, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Alberta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel with outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have wanted to stay at the Palazzo Murat since reading a travel article about it a few years ago. I finally got the chance to stay there for three nights in June and I was not disappointed. The experience begins when you step through the entry loggia into the elegant courtyard of this 18-century palazzo that was once the summer residence of Joachim Murat, king of Naples. The building is wrapped in glorious old bougainvillea vines and has a two-tiered fragrant garden bursting with citrus fruits. The staff offered us a refreshing glass of lemonade while we waited for the check-in process to be completed and this wonderful service continued throughout our stay. Mornings, we were greeted with a warm smile by Chico, a senior staff member who presided over an impressive breakfast buffet eaten under flowering trees. We also enjoyed an outstanding meal at the hotel’s Al Palazzo restaurant, offering elegant regional cuisine. The staff were knowledgeable and gracious, and quickly able to alter a set-menu meal to accommodate my sister’s seafood allergies. The staff were also happy to arrange transfer by private, air-conditioned car from Naples which was a wonderful way to reach Positano. We had a garden room on the ground floor which was spacious and cool with a beautiful little patio overlooking the glittering doom of Positano’s Santa Maria Assunta church. One note about the bathroom: the tub was quite narrow by North American standards making it a bit of a balancing act to shower. We enjoyed the hotel’s pool also – a great place to cool off at the end of a day of sightseeing. My only regret is not being able to spend more time at the hotel since there is so much to see along the Amalfi Coast. Is the cost of this experience high? Yes, it was but worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    77
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
96
330
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Six years ago I was on holiday with my boyfriend and I took a photograph of a hotel doorway in the streets of positano, at that time I said, wow, Ill love us to get married here, on 12 July 2014, we did!! This place is amazing and beautiful, the setting doesn't need words, it's inspiring and charming and does not need my review. What does is the unbelievable attention to detail that Filomena and her team showed in planning our wedding reception which we held at the palazzo Murat! I. I contacted Filomena 12 months ago regarding our wedding and she had been nothing but efficient, professional and personal which was great as I'm based in the uk planning a wedding in Italy. I could write all day about how perfect the day was but for anyone planning a wedding in this beautiful part of the world my recommendations would be (and I'm a perfectionist!), if you are getting married here the amalfi coast is obviously special, our wedding planner Raf was amazing, I bombarded him with emails and he was brilliant, responsive, very informative, always on hand and a lovely guy, it was so special to have someone translate our ceremony who had got to know us over the last 12 months, brilliant guy! Secondly Bruno of amalfi coast music, this guy is brilliant, he epitomises cool, I asked Bruno if he could learn a special song for me to walk down the aisle to, music was so important to me and he nailed it!! From the ceremony to together evening Bruno was fab, and max, his guitar player, we wanted a chilled vibe and they provided just that, but with a little bit of rock n roll that every wedding needs! My next recommendation would be Zoe Graham, what a perfectionist this women is! Thanks it her, I felt amazing!! Zoe did our make so spent time in my room when I was probably most nervous! She made me feel like I was at a spa, totally relaxed and the make everyone of my guests commented on, it was fab, plus I have it say she enjoyed my playlist, a true country girl! Ok my last recommendation and I've saved the best till last is Frances Heath, photographer, I haven't even seen the photos yet but I cannot recommend Frances enough! She was amazing, her duties went above and beyond being a photographer, she's fun, relaxed, professional, she even arranged good weather for me! I can't thank Frances enough or recommend her ! Ok, bit of a long review but it's was just amazing!! X

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

One night at Hotel Palazzo Murat was one night too many. We were given room 41 - so far away from anything else in the hotel that the wi-fi wouldn't reach. "Garden view" was the fence covering what appeared to be the pool equipment. Bathroom was covered with ants - even with no food apparent. Bedding was torn and room looked nothing like the charming pictures on the website.

The restaurant appeared to be very nice and the location was central to everything. If you plan to stay, make sure you are not given room 41! Other guests seemed to be very pleased with their accommodations.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzomurat, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Murat, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
This review refers to the stay of two nice Ladies. (see the one published on July 03rd)Fortunately it was not a party of 5 people, we could have receive 5 reviews for one night stay in the Garden View Room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

For our first visit to the Amalfi Coast we could not have chosen a better place to stay. Palazzo Murat is outstanding in every way - wonderfully comfortable rooms, delightfully elegant and comfortable sitting rooms, the most attractive terrace for breakfast (which was outstanding) or for a coffee or early evening drinks. We ate in the restaurant (delicious) on our first night as we arrived late but tasted several great restaurants in Positano on other nights. The staff are among the best I have ever found in any hotel - helpful, informative and attended to every detail.Though not cheap, Palazzo Murat was excellent value.
We were in Posotano for the wedding of a friend's daughter. If anyone is considering getting married on the Amalfi Coast you must have the reception at the Palazzo Murat - it was stunning.
I am running out of superlatives for this hotel. It was absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell all the rooms were quiet and excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

my husband and i stayed here last november for our honeymoon and till now we still talk about our stay in this hotel. the hotel is in the perfect location with shops on the door step, two minutes to the beach, restaurants and ferry and 5 minutes to the bus stop. As soon as you come of the busy pedestrian walk way and step onto the hotel grounds, you'll realise how peaceful and relaxing this hotel is.
the staff were amazing, helpful and friendly. we were greeted with fresh lemonade and a tour of the hotel before being shown to our room.
We were on the 2nd floor and the room was spotless with 2 balconies overlooking the garden and views of the sea and the incredicble costal line and cliffs. Cleaners would leave a card letting us know what the weather was like the next day and we certainly did not mind them leaving us a few lemon bolls every day.
Breakfast was wonderful and served in the garden and dinner in the hotel restaurant was amazing as well. service was brilliant and we were really looked after
Positano and the amalfi coast is truly a beautiful place and staying in this hotel has completed our stay and made it the most memoriable holiday. call us boring and unadventurous but we will definately be coming back and staying in this hotel again!

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful vacation in Positano at the Hotel Palazzo Murat. No wonder why this place is ranked #1 on TA. The hotel and the grounds are simply gorgeous. The complimentary breakfast buffet had a good amount of variety. Every morning at breakfast we would see outsiders peaking in to take a look at the gardens, that is how nice it is. The pool is also a nice reprieve from the hustle and bustle of the town. It is only a 5 minute walk to get to the beach through the town and seemed to be one of the closest hotels as many are up higher on the hill. This is important because that walk back up hill from the beach at the end of the day can be grueling. We stayed on the ground floor and I must agree with some of the other reviewers in that the ground floor is a bit noisy. You hear people above you because of the tile flooring but it was not enough to really sour my feeling of the hotel. I would recommend a top floor room. I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

There are surely other excellent and even more luxurious hotels in Positano.
But Palazzo Murat is noble, discrete, elegant and, at the same time, stupendous. Very professional and polite staff, quiet, elegant, perfectly kept premises, excellent breakfast, lunch, snacks and dinner. Nice pool, facilities for the beach, very convenient parking nearby. You will never feel unattented there. Must go, dont miss!

Room Tip: Try the ones upstairs or facing the internal garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Murat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Murat

Address: 23 Via dei Mulini, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Positano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Murat 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Murat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Murat Hotel
Palazzo Murat Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Murat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.