We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enchanting memory for the entire family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Murat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Murat to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Murat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Via dei Mulini, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Pievescola, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An enchanting memory for the entire family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

In June of 2013 my husband and I took our entire family to Italy to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. We've talked a lot about the trip during the year and we've all agreed that when any one of us remember the trip, Positano, and most especially the Palazzo Murat are the defining memories for each of us.

Positano is so charming, hanging on a hillside on the beautiful Amalfi coast. A healthy walking experience up and down the hillside and lots of little side streets full of restaurants and shops. Palazzo Murat is one step off the main thoroughfare, but once you take that one step you are in an entirely different world. Quiet, lush gardens--even their own vegetable garden--spectacular pool area and infinity pool, lovely upper terrace for breakfast and a lower terrace for lunch and dinner serving the most delicious and beautiful food. We ate there every evening of our stay but one and regret the loss of that one evening!

The service, both in the hotel and at the restaurant was at the top of the best anywhere we visited in Italy, or anywhere else to be honest. Kind, attentive, warm. We were traveling with an 18 month old granddaughter and they loved her! Couldn't do enough to help. When she said "ciao" upon our departure, they squealed with delight!

The hotel itself was gorgeous combining antiquity with spectacular views and spacious, beautifully appointed rooms. Luxurious bed and bath linens.

We are returning to Italy this September and told our travel agent that no matter where else we visit, Positano and the Palazzo Murat were musts on this trip too. Our family groaned with jealousy when we told them we were going back. Just the two of us this time.

Room Tip: I don't know that there is anything but good rooms. The views out of all the rooms used by our f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    81
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
100
357
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Evans, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Hotel Palazzo Murat is an oasis of beauty and splendor in charming Positano, on the Amalfi Coast. The rooms are large, full of light, and spotlessly clean. The staff wonderfully attentive --thank you Ciccio, for the great smiles and personal attention--. The breakfasts absolutely delicious with divine vegetables and fruit from Murat's own garden… not to mention the breakfast pastries and desserts: sinfully "delish"!! Last but not least the garden and orchard, beautiful bougainvillea, and the surprising fragrance of roses, jasmines and lemon trees, that follow you everywhere on the property. A true Garden of Eden in the heart of Positano. Well done and thank you! You made our stay amazing!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I read the reviews of this hotel before I booked it and wondered if anywhere could actually be that good! I can confirm that it can! This hotel was amazing, wonderful buildings, breathtaking gardens, fantastic staff, I can't fault it one bit. We arrived slightly later than planned, having been collected from Naples airport by a private car (recommend this form of travel!) and were greeted by very friendly staff, who sorted our luggage, showed us to the room, which was wonderful (we booked a special superior room with a private balcony and terrace and it was huge and beautifully appointed). This was followed by a lovely waiter with 2 glasses of something cool and refreshing and a bowl of strawberries - what a perfect start to the holiday. Breakfast is wonderful, served on a glorious terrace, the pool area is fabulous and Naomi looks after everyone brilliantly! The location of the hotel is perfect, literally in the middle of Positano and very close to the sea and beach. There are numerous cafes, restaurants and shops to make your holiday very enjoyable. You should visit this hotel, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Room 24 is wonderful with a lovely view of the pool and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Positano is a beautiful place but we didn't realise how beautiful. Given the limited space we did not expect to find such a special stunning hotel. Hotel Palazzo Murat is simply beautiful - from the colourful perfectly manicured gardens, to the wonderful restaurant to the very spacious sized bedrooms. We had one of the top floor rooms with high vaulted ceilings and a living room, kitchen and bathroom which was perfect.

However, all of the above is expected - what makes this hotel really special is the people and staff. Every single one of the staff were amazing. We were travelling with a small 6 month old baby for the first time and were nervous about the facilities and support. However, the staff sterilised our daughter's bottles each morning and knew her by name. Every morning they would greet her and us with a warm smile and could not do enough for us. Every one of them makes this hotel special - however, if I could single out one person, it would by Tony, one of the managers, who went above and beyond. He was a superstar and arranged special requests for us and assistance with our luggage to the port.

We have stayed in lots of hotels over the years and I know all staff are there to make staff feel welcome but we got the impression the staff here do genuinely want to help and they all loved our little bambino so anybody travelling with small children I couldn't rate any other hotel more highly than here.

I hope the staff read this because they all deserve recognising for all their hard work and efforts in making our trip a very memorable and special one with our baby girl.

Room Tip: Upper floor were the larger rooms with living rooms and kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My wife and I visited Positano on our honeymoon and stayed at HPM. It was an absolutely wonderful experience - the hotel and property is magnificent and the service / attentiveness is excellent. The entire staff was very welcoming and helpful. In fact, they also upgraded us to their best room for couples with two balconies upon hearing that we were on our honeymoon.

A few other important notes:

- complimentary breakfast is delicious and served outside amongst the garden (we were blessed with very nice weather throughout our stay)
- HPM provides a voucher for private boat excursion of the Amalfi Coast (must do)
- HPM's location is amazing - you are five minutes from the beach and five minutes away from being in the town center and the main road (buses run on a schedule to take you to Priano, Amalfi, Sorrento)

We are very pleased with our stay at HPM and definitely hope to return again some day.

Best,
Ahmad

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel hardly needs another 5 circle review, but they deserve it.

The hotel itself is lovely. An incredible location between the main street and the walk down to the beach.

The courtyard is where they serve breakfast in the morning and drinks in the afternoon and it was one of our favorite spots in all of Positano. Beautiful old architecture and fragrant flowers everywhere.

But the best thing about the Murat is the service, especially the front desk. Always helpful, resourceful and patient. They took care of everything for us and smiled while doing it.

One more tip of the hat must go to the food service team. We looked forward to seeing the breakfast waitstaff every morning. The restaurant was tremendous, too. The kitchen is right off the reception area (it's a very old building) and you could see the chef cutting the fresh herbs and preparing the meals. You could tell he loves his work and it shows when you take the very first bite.

Luxurious, but unpretentious. A wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel was our last stop on our ten day, 4 city honeymoon. As the saying goes, we saved the best for last. We indulged in all that positano and hotel palazzo Murat offered--from the friendly staff to the complementary boat ride along the Almafi coast to the free lemon picking in the onsite gardens to the generous and tasteful buffet breakfast in the gardens and finally to the most amazing scenic infinity-style pool we have ever swam in. The rooms were plenty spacious and clean--there were sweet designs such as the headboard that looked real but it was sculpted into the wall. The hotel maid also left delicious lemon candies after each evening cleaning. This is a top-notch hotel well worth the money! Oh, also, we recommend taking advantage of the casual poolside dining as you can't get better quality for your money at any of the restaurants close to the beach.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Murat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Murat

Address: 23 Via dei Mulini, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#1 Family Hotel in Positano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Murat 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Murat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Murat Hotel
Palazzo Murat Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Murat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.