We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October 2013 stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Murat

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Murat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Murat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Via dei Mulini, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 41 hotels in Positano
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“October 2013 stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Probably one of the best hotels in Positano. Great location. Great value, great food, large rooms, in the middle of everything in Postiano, staff is very helpful, rooms are full size, great restaurant. Just what everyone would want in Postano.

Room Tip: Get a room with a terrace, not a garden room. Off season rates are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    424
    75
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
90
315
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

A very atmospheric hotel with a gorgeous garden in which breakfast and the restaurant (Al Palazzo) are located. We stayed in the heritage wing: the room was very comfortable with a cute terrace with sea glimpses, but required negotiating a lot of stairs to get to it.

The hotel has an excellent location lower down in Positano, not very far to the beach and restaurants. It's also a short walk to the central piazza from which buses and taxis leave.

Breakfast was excellent - fresh and delicious. Towels are provided to take to the beach, thoughtfully packed in a beach bag. Rooms are serviced twice daily. A big downside, however was lack of wifi in the room despite it being advertised. It seemed to work in the lobby.

A great way to travel to/from Positano (and Amalfi) is to catch the fast train to Salerno, walk straight out of the station towards the sea (10 mins) and catch the ferry to your destination. The magnificent views of the coast are well worth it, plus it is probably quicker than car or bus from Naples or Salerno.

If you are planning a trip to the Amalfi Coast, bear in mind that virtually everything (hotels, restaurants, ferries) shuts down from the end of October to April, with a brief re-opening around Christmas. This applies to Capri too. If you did find a hotel open during this period, not much else would likely be available.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed in two hotels in Positano and can offer some perspective.

Some hotels are actually in town, and as soon as you step out the door, you are where tourists want to be, surrounded by restaurants and shops. Look for an iPad map, and find the part of via Cristofero Colombo that forms a sharp delta, almost a keyhole. The area inside is the town of Positano, Murat is in this group, and is really very central.

Some hotels are up the hill a bit, but you can still walk into town. This includes Le Sirenuse and the other hotel I stayed in, Eden Roc. Eden Roc is about as high up the hill as you would care to go on foot. Sirenuse is practically in town. The hotels in this group may have more amenities and better views, but also more street noise from vehicles.

Other hotels are way up the hill or out of the main town. Thus includes San Pietro and some others. If you pick a hotel in thus group, you will have to take public transport into Positano, which to me would be a big minus.

Palazzo Murat is indeed an old mansion, with charming grounds and antique-furnished guest rooms. Many overlook Positano rooftops or face up the hillside - quintessential Positano. Hence, it would be a good choice for a couple. Some drawbacks are very poor internet (none to speak of in the room), and barebones breakfast. Staff are okay but not warm or proactive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

In every way, our Trip to Palazzo Murat was terrific! We had a beautiful and very spacious garden view room. The property, with its lush landscape and gardens, felt very secluded from the hustle and bustle of the narrow streets of Positano. Dedicated parking for the hotel was most convenient. THe hotel was very well-located, with just a 5 minute or less walk to the beach promenade, restaurants, etc.
We enjoyed delicious breakfasts, served on the terrace and wonderful dinners in the romantic, lovely garden setting of the hotel.
A nice outdoor pool was a definite plus.
With all of these superlatives, the best was the extremely warm, friendly, helpful, attentive and caring approach by everyone on the staff.
Our stay here was a true highlight of our trip to Italy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a beautiful hotel situated in a gorgeous setting. The staff is incredible! From the moment we checked in we were treated wonderfully. The staff is always willing to help and were great about telling us where to go to eat, shop etc.

Room Tip: We reserved a superior deluxe room. The room was quiet and the views to die for! This place is trul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Positano, though picturesque and quaint can turn out to be a bit of a crowded affair for visitors who wish to stay over.
Barring price, the Palazzo Murat is your ultimate solution. Secluded, yet 300 yards from the beach and in the midst of the town . Great breakfast catering to all tastes, comfortable and spotless rooms (opt for the old section seeing you have decided to " take the "financial plunge") welcoming, attentive and responsive staff.
A beautiful garden where drinks and breakfast may be enjoyed away from the bustle.
Ask for hotel recommendations re good ( family owned) local eateries. Settling for expensive hotel restaurant (albeit Michelin star) is not a must.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We indulged in one four-star hotel for one night only for the entire 2.5 week European journey and I'm glad it was at Palazzo Murat. Positano is not exactly the cheapest holiday destination, so whilst I didn't book the best room in the hotel (probably the only one room without a water view!), after a few nights at small B&Bs around Italy, it was nice to be at a hotel with facilities, space and lots of amenities! Palazzo Murat is perfectly situated at the mid-point of Positano - it is not too high up, and not too close to the beach/water area (which I prefer for Positano). The check-in process was very smooth and the girls at the front desk were helpful in storing our luggage and putting our passports in their safe before our room was ready. The buffet breakfast was fantastic, I just wish I had more time to really indulge and enjoy the meal! There is a fantastic restaurant at the hotel itself, within their courtyard, which is a sight in itself, and I'd highly recommend a meal there too. The pool looked beautiful too, but we just didn't have time to relax at the pool after being out for a whole day. The one issue which the hotel itself is aware and apologetic of is the poor wifi accessibility. Otherwise, a really nice stay and wish I had more time to enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Murat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Murat

Address: 23 Via dei Mulini, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Positano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Murat 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Murat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Murat Hotel
Palazzo Murat Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Murat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.