We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel Palazzo Murat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Murat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Murat to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Murat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Via dei Mulini, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Great Falls, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Hotel Palazzo Murat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a beautiful hotel situated in a gorgeous setting. The staff is incredible! From the moment we checked in we were treated wonderfully. The staff is always willing to help and were great about telling us where to go to eat, shop etc.

Room Tip: We reserved a superior deluxe room. The room was quiet and the views to die for! This place is trul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    81
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
100
357
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Positano, though picturesque and quaint can turn out to be a bit of a crowded affair for visitors who wish to stay over.
Barring price, the Palazzo Murat is your ultimate solution. Secluded, yet 300 yards from the beach and in the midst of the town . Great breakfast catering to all tastes, comfortable and spotless rooms (opt for the old section seeing you have decided to " take the "financial plunge") welcoming, attentive and responsive staff.
A beautiful garden where drinks and breakfast may be enjoyed away from the bustle.
Ask for hotel recommendations re good ( family owned) local eateries. Settling for expensive hotel restaurant (albeit Michelin star) is not a must.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We indulged in one four-star hotel for one night only for the entire 2.5 week European journey and I'm glad it was at Palazzo Murat. Positano is not exactly the cheapest holiday destination, so whilst I didn't book the best room in the hotel (probably the only one room without a water view!), after a few nights at small B&Bs around Italy, it was nice to be at a hotel with facilities, space and lots of amenities! Palazzo Murat is perfectly situated at the mid-point of Positano - it is not too high up, and not too close to the beach/water area (which I prefer for Positano). The check-in process was very smooth and the girls at the front desk were helpful in storing our luggage and putting our passports in their safe before our room was ready. The buffet breakfast was fantastic, I just wish I had more time to really indulge and enjoy the meal! There is a fantastic restaurant at the hotel itself, within their courtyard, which is a sight in itself, and I'd highly recommend a meal there too. The pool looked beautiful too, but we just didn't have time to relax at the pool after being out for a whole day. The one issue which the hotel itself is aware and apologetic of is the poor wifi accessibility. Otherwise, a really nice stay and wish I had more time to enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrFocus
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at the Palazzo Murat for three nights during our European honeymoon. Everything about this place was perfect. From the delicious and extensive breakfast to the prime location (just steps away from the harbor) and the wonderful views, it was the perfect place for a romantic start to our two week honeymoon.
We stayed in the "Special Deluxe Room" with two windows overlooking both Positano and the ocean. Hotel management welcomed us with a bottle of champagne and a congratulatory note (nice touch). Throughout our stay, all staff was unfailingly polite and helpful.
Recommended:
- Take the free boat tour of the Amalfi coast provided by the Palazzo
- Make sure to eat breakfast at the hotel for a wonderful start to the day
- Eat dinner at least once at Le Tres Sorelle a few steps from the hotel at the harbor
- Enjoy!

For a good transfer option to/from Positano, we recommend Scialone Limousines (see separate review).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

One of the best hotels I have stayed at for relaxation, from arriving in the car park (keys taken from you) and it was valet parked and the short walk through the narrow streets of the town to the amazing service greeted by the immaculate receptionists, who not only showed us our rooms, but gave a tour of the hotel... Bags arrived seconds after we got to our room.

We had garden view rooms (I would choose again over sea view any time) - ask for room 40 - large secluded balcony with lemons and clementines within touching distance. Our daughter stayed in 41 and the two rooms had their own lobby with separate door.

The breakfast was fantastic and we spent much of our time just sitting in the grounds or round the pool (all to ourselves !!)

The rooms were cleaned like clockwork and all the small touches like fresh fruit and lemon sweets kept appearing

Can I live in this hotel !!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at the Palazzo Murat in September. It was fantastic. We had 3 rooms as we were traveling with family. All were clean, roomy and very nice. The shower was so fantastic my husband took photos of it to try to recreate it at home. The breakfast buffet was quite nice and the courtyard we ate in was beautiful. One of he best things about the hotel is the location. My mother was on the trip with us and we were concerned about her being able to get around the hills in Positano, but the location made it easy for her to go wherever she wanted in town or down to he beach. The gardens and pool area were very nice and relaxing. We will definitely stay here on our next visit to Positano.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Right in the heart of Positano which is the location of some scenes in 'Under a Tuscan Sun.'

The pools overlooks the Mediterranean, the court yard is filled with fruit trees and a restaurant.

Each room has a view of the sea.

The staff is so helpful. The rooms are large, clean with all the latest lighting and air conditioning.

This is an old villa, now hotel. The wood work, particularly the doors are amazing.

The WiFi was interment during our visit, but it was fixed half way through after talking to the front desk. The had to get their IT group to come in.

It is in the heart of the walking zone. 5 minutes to the sea, and shops everywhere. The little Deli just up the hill about 100 feet is a mom and pop with great food, wine, Lemon-cello and smiles. Also a lot cheaper than just 10 feet away.

Breakfast was 5 star. If you can think of it, they had it.

Sitting in the patio sipping cappuccino is a perfect way to start the day!

Room Tip: higher is better, further away from the lobby is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Murat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Murat

Address: 23 Via dei Mulini, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#1 Family Hotel in Positano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Murat 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Murat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Murat Hotel
Palazzo Murat Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Murat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.