We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a real 4 star hotel . Excellent service , location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Murat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Murat to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Murat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Via dei Mulini, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is a real 4 star hotel . Excellent service , location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I recently booked a hotel with misleading advertising in positano , you can read my review about it, the domina royal hotel, I wasted over $2500 because when I checked in I could not take it and started to call hotels around in positano . The only 2 five star hotels in town were booked so I walked to the center of the town which is like 500 steps down in the jungle and the 15 minute walk to where restaurants and show are. My husband and I walked in to hotel palazzo Murat , the front desk staff was extremely caring and attentive they accommodate us immediately and we moved to the hotel. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the showers are for normal people , we have a balcony , I am still staying here while I write this review. The breakfast is great, and the location can't get any better, You can walk up or down for some action or you can stay in your room for peace or enjoy the pool , it is quite people are classy and the service is priceless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    77
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
96
335
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We spent two days in Positano and stayed at Palazzo Murat. The location is fantastic. Five minutes from the beach and the pool is right beside the Basilica. You literally swim right beside the dome. Fantastic. Very comfy chaise lounges and panoramic view of hillsidw of Positano.
Their gardens are stunning and lush. Full of trees am their own vegetable garden. This is where they served a delectable breakfast and dinner. (Breakfast was included). Their restaurant is top-notch.
Our room was gorgeous with a private patio which was shaded by a canopy of bougainvillea.
The hotel also offers a free 2-hour boat tour of Positano. Don't miss it! It's a great way to see the island from the sea and they let you swim in he Mediterranean too!
Overall, a beautiful experience. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Palazzo Murat and couldn't have had a nicer stay. The room was spacious and clean, the location in the city couldn't get any better and the service exceeded all of our expectations.

The only things we would recommend to fellow travelers would be reserve your spot on the hotels boat before you arrive as it fills up fast! Enjoy your stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just stayed here for 2 nights. Just like the other reviews the breakfast spread was excellent & the service outstanding. Our adapter wouldn't fit in their plugs but the reception and maintenance guys spent an hour trying to figure out the problem. Turns out 2 of their 10 spare adapters were faulty. Nothing was a problem. The boat ride included was really nice. They provided beach towels and beach bags. The location was very close to the beach and not up many stairs. All and all highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our 5th stay in Positano and this time we stayed at the Hotel Palazzo Murat. This property ticked all the right box's, check-in was smooth, friendly and helpful, the room was beautiful, clean, air-conditioned with french doors leading onto a small balcony with a beautiful view over the pretty garden and ocean. The breakfast was exceptionally good set outside in a lovely courtyard. We had one dinner in the one Michelin star restaurant and that was exceptional. The location of the hotel is perfect, if you love the beach it's a 2-3 minute walk away and the hotel supplies a beach bag with beach/pool towels for guests to use. All the seaside front restaurants are also only a 2 minute walk away. There is a complimentary boat excursion offered by the hotel. The hotel organised our departure transport for us and the porters took our bags up the hill. Would I stay here again - absolutely!

Room Tip: If you wish to use the pool area my suggestion is to get there early as the day beds are taken very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Palazzo Murat will forever be my favorite hotel given the experience that I had leading up to and during our stay. I had to cancel a prepaid reservation due to my husband's serious illness last year and the hotel had no obligation to extend the kindness and genuine concern that they did. They allowed me to carry over the booking, touched base with me during the year to see how my husband was doing and had a warm welcome for us when we finally arrived this year. Antonino was outstanding! When I thanked him for all that he did for us he immediately gave full credit to the owners of the hotel and stated that it's due to their kindness that we were so well treated. I run a business myself and would be incredibly proud to have someone like Antonino representing me. The hotel itself is beautiful, grounds fantastic! Short walk to the beach, restaurants and shops. I cannot imagine that a better place exists in Positano!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Palazzo Murat is an elegant historical hotel nestled along the main walkway to the beach in Positano. We spent three romantic nights in room 32, one of which was for our wedding. Our room had a window facing the sea and a balcony facing the gardens with the most spectacular views of Positano . The décor of the palace is rather lavish creating a very regent feel with hints of modernity. We could not have picked a better place to have our ceremony and cocktail hour. Filomena, our wedding coordinator, was outstanding along with the other staff present at the hotel. The Cocktail hour consisted of delicious appetizers and drinks. We hired Neapolitan Duo from Amalficoastmusic which really complimented the romantic tone of the palace for 2 hours. I had my stunning updo done by Luisa E Flavia. My beautiful bouquets and corsages were by FloraGarden. We had three photographers and 1 videographer, 2 who flew in from Toronto and two photographers from Positano. The night of our wedding the hotel staff placed rose petals on our bed in the shape of a heart. Another guest we met at the hotel had a bottle of champagne and flowers sent to our room as well. If they are reading this, thank you so much. Palazzo offers an amazing breakfast served on their beautiful terrace area every morning. We cannot express in words how precious our time was. Being my second time back to Positano I highly recommend this hotel. We are already planning our return! Thank you so much again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Murat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Murat

Address: 23 Via dei Mulini, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Positano
#1 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Murat 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Murat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Murat Hotel
Palazzo Murat Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Murat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.