We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positively Exquisite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Sirenuse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Sirenuse Hotel to your Saves list
Le Sirenuse Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via C. Colombo, 30, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Sacramento, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Positively Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2005

Sometimes a hotel is just a place to rest your head on a trip, other times it can become a such a memorable portion of your vacation you can't imagine your trip without it. For us, Le Sirenuse fits the latter category. My husband had stayed here before and insisted we come back as a couple. He told me to book the least expensive room they had because you just "want to be part of that hotel." After going I can see why. Staying at Le Sirenuse is an experience.

We booked a double room billed as "no sea view." But because there was a window, there WAS a view, albeit a small one, of beautiful Positano and a small peak of the sea. Of the 5 hotels we stayed in during this Italian trip, this room was the smallest, but somehow it also felt the most luxurious and well-appointed. A bed, a dresser (with silver service) a nice closet, full-length mirror, DVD player and free DVD library, CD player, and safe.

The moderate-sized bathroom had it all, including a tub with jet sprays. Of course, robes and slippers provided.

The hotel itself is incredibly charming with many rooms throughout where you can sit yourself for a quiet moment. A trademark seems to be vines growing inside on many of the white archways and walls which give it a lovely-garden-like touch. That's where we ate an absolutely fabulous buffet breakfast (included) as we sat on this beautiful outdoor terrace overlooking the hills of Positano.

The pool is beautiful with full bar service, there is another outdoor terrace where we sat in comfortable chairs, drank out of gorgeous hand-blown glasses, and watched the sunset until night showed off the twinking lights on the hill, the fireplace glowed, and the mood-setting music absolutely transported us. One of my favorite memories.

The hotel is full-service with a spa, workout room, a free boat excursion for guests..I'm sure they'll arrange anything for you. Having said that, some, not all, of the help at the reception desk were a little cool in demeanor, but I suppose they're used to dealing with celebrities and world dignitaries and have become quite matter-of-fact!

The only thing they don't have are irons...but of course for a pretty penny they'll do your laundry FOR you! I passed, and wet my wrinkled clothes and smoothed them with the provided blowdryer.

The location was perfect, too. Right in the middle of things with just a short walk down to the sea.
If you can afford a bigger room with a view, go for it...but if you can just get the least expensive double like we did, I think you'll enjoy it.
It was a fabulous memory and I hope to return sometime.

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    50
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
58
352
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2005

My husband and I stayed at Le Sirenuse as part of our honeymoon. The hotel was amazing! The views are incredible.... could not be any better. We had booked a standard room and were upgraded to a lovely room with a view of the ocean. I had been in communication with the hotel via e-mail several times prior to our arrival, so perhaps that helped in the fact that they upgraded us.

The room was larger than expected for Europe and so was the bathroom. The pool is wonderful with the most spectacular views and one of the best features of the hotel in our opinion is the private boat owned by the hotel that you can book a reservation on during you stay. We did this twice; once in the morning and once in the afternoon and LOVED it!

Yes, the hotel is expensive but.... that's what you would expect in a 5-star hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2005

We didn't stay this hotel, but wanted to try the restaurant. However we were put the worst location in a restaurant and waiter put their serving table in front of me to serve other guests. So, waiters came to make a noise in front of our talbe to open the wine, put the dishes and we felt like we were sitting in a kitchen. So, we kindly asked waiter to move the serving table in front of us and Italian waiter was very rude and said somthing in Italian (Possibly swearing) Food was not so great but their price was the most expensive in Amalfi and Positano coast. Their price was much higher than 2 michellin star restaurant at Parazzo Sasso in Ravello which were fantastic. We met American couple on a honeymoon in elevator and they were complaining about the room size in spite of they paid USD1000 per night for suite and after complained they got little bit better room. I am sure that you are not getting what you are paying for this hotel until you complain.

This hotel is not worth any penny and worst experience in my holiday.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2005

The quality of this resort is unparalled. The food in the restaurant is the best in town and the staff of the resort is great. You will never see a more romantic view then the one from the balcony in your room. Everything about this resort is 1st class and amazing!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2005

Positano is one of the most beautiful places in the world and Le Sirenuse provides a breathtaking view! Unfortunately we had to be outside to see it. We booked a standard room without realizing that meant a room with a window that looked out onto a wall! American Express Platinum Travel apparently wasn't aware of this either. Had we known we would have opted for a deluxe room. We asked repeatedly to upgrade during our six night stay with no luck. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, but we felt like we were in the basement...and in fact, we were. If you check in and your room is on the "negative-one" floor...head for Il San Pietro.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2005

We were really spolit here, this place is the hotel we judge all other hotels by and so far nowhere has come close.

We are British and therefore like to find faults in the hotels we stay in, this is the only hotel I could not find any faults with. I would have to say it is pretty near perfect.

Fantastic location, beautiful building, a real home from home, friendly and helpful staff, fantastic pool and health club, gorgeous views, lovely rooms, comfortable beds, good food.

It is so lovely there we were loathed to leave the hotel on a trip, of course we went to Pompeii which was interesting and Amalfi, which was horrible and we couldn't wait to get back to our haven Le Sirenuse.

I must congratulate the staff and management you have got it absolutely right, I can't wait to go back there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Sirenuse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sirenuse Hotel

Address: Via C. Colombo, 30, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#15 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Sirenuse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sirenuse is a charming family owned hotel located in the heart of Positano. Opened in 1951 by the Sersale family who converted their summer house into a hotel with 12 rooms. The hotel has grown since then with the acquisitions of two neighboring houses to 59 rooms and suites. Le Sirenuse today is still run and managed by the Sersale family who ensure the same atmosphere of warmth and intimacy remain, while breathtaking views of the Mediterranean and the village of Positano make this an unforgettable place to spend a holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Le Sirenuse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Sirenuse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Sirenuse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.