We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Sirenuse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Sirenuse Hotel to your Saves list
Le Sirenuse Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via C. Colombo, 30, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here three years ago. Time flies. Owned by the same family for many generations, the antiques and furnishings tell a story that this property is truly loved by its' owners and guests who visit. The oyster bar overlooking The Med is a perfect place to start the evening. Sitting beside the pool overlooking one of the most beautiful views in the world is beyond relaxing, it's sublime. Entertainment on the terrace at night is romantic and more than once, someone begins to sing which creates a sublime atmosphere.
A quick ferry trip over to the island of Capri to visit the Blue Grotto is a must and lots of fun.
It's an interesting short walk down the narrow alleyways to the beach. Take the private beach option and pay a small amount for sunlounge with umbrella, the public beach gets very crowded and, here's the tip, make a reservation for the following day unless you want to be lounging in the back row of chaise lounges x many!
The shopping is great for potteries and beach attire. You will never find better arrancini or lemoncello anywhere!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    48
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
57
345
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston s.c.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Sirenuse is very expensive but if you can afford it, it's worth it. We went in October and got a nice deal and beautiful weather. Try for an upper floor corner room. I thought I had died and gone to heaven!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My expectations were high after reading all the great reviews of this hotel, and I have to say le sirenuse may have exceeded them. Everything was perfect. I have never experienced such personal service. The hotel is just so unique, like nowhere I have ever been. Breakfast was such a treat every morning-I looked forward to getting up just to enjoy my coffee on the patio and soak in the unbelievable views! We ate dinner one night at the hotel's restaurant-we enjoyed the tasting menu, and it was such a fantastic way to celebrate a special occasion. The daily boat cruise offered by the hotel is a must- we did it twice! Beautiful pool, where I spent most of my days lounging and enjoying the complementary olives! Maybe next time we will do a little more exploring the area, because I could barely bring myself to leave!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

There is not one thing that didn't live up to the expectations I had about this hotel & trip, based on the photos & reviews that I had read beforehand. What I loved most about the hotel is that is completely unique in the way its decorated and put together. The furnishings, paintings...all the details are exquisite. There is a guide that gives info on the antiques and paintings throughout the hotel. The staff is incomparable. They helped us out with a driver at the last minute with such ease. I was very grateful. The food is spectacular. My favorite was the breakfast buffet. Wow! The food in town is amazing as well..you can't go wrong with any restaurant. There is a free boat tour that was lots of fun. We even met a great couple from Texas that became our buddies for the stay. It was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in October and it was not enough. The location is perfect, the staff excellent and the hotel filled with charm. The room was on the small side but the water view made up for it. Breakfast every morning was delicious and we ate at the restaurant one night which was also delicious and very entertaining with the band. The wait staff is extremely attentive.....I didn't want to leave. The walls were thin though and could be noisy at times but not enough to not stay here. Two weeks in Italy and this was my favorite hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just stayed for five wonderful nights this past October.

The room, service and food were all great, and of course the view is magnificent.

A very friendly staff, who catered to our every need. The hotel is very clean and luxurious.

We want to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently on our honeymoon and we are already missing it. We will go back again. I can't say enough good things about this place. They have really defined what hospitality is. Yes, it's expensive, but so worth the price. We probably aren't as wealthy as many of the other guests and we worried a bit before staying here that we would feel out of place, but once we arrived, the staff made us feel right at home. It was never mentioned to us, but I believe they have a policy where each guest is 'assigned' a concierge upon arrival, and our concierge for three fantastic nights was named Agatha. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like friends as she showed us around the room and the hotel grounds and offered to book restaurants for us or any other things she could help with. Each time we went to the desk she would make sure to help us personally, always with an incredible sense of professionalism and courtesy. She booked us at some excellent restaurants and I heard her say to them on the phone "give them un bello tavolo (a nice table) because it's their honeymoon." When we arrived at one of the restaurants they gave us a complimentary glass of prosecco. The hotel also has a great calendar of activities every day (again, Agatha helped us book them) and we especially loved the fish market tour with chef Matteo and the sunset cruise on the hotel boat. The restaurant, La Sponda, is also not to be missed. Oh, and the terrace outside the restaurant where they serve breakfast is incredible. John Steinbeck was right about this place. We will go back. Grazie per tutti.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe sea view room and would definitely recommend one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Sirenuse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sirenuse Hotel

Address: Via C. Colombo, 30, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#15 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Sirenuse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sirenuse is a charming family owned hotel located in the heart of Positano. Opened in 1951 by the Sersale family who converted their summer house into a hotel with 12 rooms. The hotel has grown since then with the acquisitions of two neighboring houses to 59 rooms and suites. Le Sirenuse today is still run and managed by the Sersale family who ensure the same atmosphere of warmth and intimacy remain, while breathtaking views of the Mediterranean and the village of Positano make this an unforgettable place to spend a holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Sirenuse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Sirenuse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Sirenuse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.