We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still My ScreenSaver TWO YEARS LATER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Sirenuse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Sirenuse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Sirenuse Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via C. Colombo, 30, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 41 hotels in Positano
Austin, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Still My ScreenSaver TWO YEARS LATER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The fact that the view from our balcony at Le Sirenuse is still my screensaver two years and several vacations later tell you what a magical place this is. Because we were there in September 2010 (wife's 50th--the review shows more recent only because I am just getting around to reviewing and it won't let me show a date that far back) just before the hotel was closing for the season, we were forced to leave (we knew about this beforehand) and go to Sorento for the last couple days of our trip, and the contrast was significant. STAY IN POSITANO--not Sorento--and let this hotel work its magic. My wife and I stay in 5 star hotels frequently, but our room here took our breath away. The service, view, everything are first rate...and we will be back...once we save up again and come up with another excuse to be so extravagant! Your routine will be perfect--Love--Walk--Eat--Read--Repeat.

Room Tip: Room 64 was paradise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    44
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
54
305
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Amalfi Coast is a magical jewel and Le Sirenuse is the gem of Positano. The hotel is perfectly situated perched at the top of a picturesque ledge overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. The rooms have the most beautiful views from every room, including the bathroom. We had breakfast (delicious and perfect espresso!) on the patio several times and it's like paradise with the breeze and views overlooking that historic coast. Management has done a great job in maintaining a level of service that seems effortless. Staff at this hotel is warm and friendly and they will go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect. The rooms and grounds are impeccably clean.

The first time we stayed at this hotel over 15 years ago, Father Sersale, the matriarch and original owner, took us out on his yacht for a day of swimming and relaxation followed by a dinner in his amazing restaurant where the mouthwatering food kept coming. Our dinner lasted over 4 hours, but we had the most memorable evening ever! The food was so fresh and perfectly prepared, but the star of the evening was Mr. Sersale with his bigger than life personality, so down-to-earth and friendly. It was the first time ever meeting him, but he made you feel like you were an old friend vacationing in his palatial home. He is greatly missed but his hotel lives on and this is one those "must do before you die" kind of places.

Couple of tips; the ride up is long and windy to the top and the drivers are crazy so if you have a tendency to get car sick, make sure to take your Dramamine before you head up there. Second tip, stop on the way and get some of the best mozzarella you've ever tasted. They make it fresh and it unlike any you've ever had and probably ever will since they don't export this stuff.

Room Tip: All the rooms have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

It is some time since we spent our honeymoon there but it is a place we will never forget and one that we will be back to. We spent 2 weeks there in the summer and enjoyed every minute. The staff all knew your name and you felt you were treated just the same as some of the film stars who stay there. Yes it is expensive but the quality of the service and the staff, the views of the sea from the room, the quality of the food and wine are exceptional. Capri, Ravello and Pompei are all places we visited and are all wonderful in their own right and are easy to get to using a combination of the boats/train. It's not worth getting a car as the roads are narrow and very busy. The highlight for us was the sunset trip on the hotel's beautiful looking speedboat with champagne. The sun coming down over the mountains was magical. As at least one of the other reviewer's has said this is at least a 6 star hotel and I agree!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, NJ
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

TA needs a six or seven star category for properties this perfect. Loved everything, not a fault exists. Had trouble deciding between here and San Pietro but chose this as beach did not seem as compelling in April. We visited the other property and it too seemed superb, but for different reasons: magical setting and unreal common areas. Sirenuse on other hand is in town and crazy easy to be a part of everything while still flying in our private lofty perch.

Room was lovely, but more compelling was view from our balcony that was identical to pictures from best travelogues. The breakfast is delicious. Th staff is my favorite anywhere, we felt like we were in our own private home, they helped pick where to visit and where to eat and understood us like they were family. Bath product pure fun. The pool patio is out of a movie set, hard to pull away from having one more coffee at breakfast and linger all day on the patio because it is heaven.....but then again Capri and the coastal drive are waiting!

This is one spot on earth and one property I definitely want to return to. Magical few days this spring? Go!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Invitation to stay at Le Sirenuse,

Le Sirenuse, a wonderful stay in Positano, Italy. Our room was beautiful, loved the tile work in the room and thou out the property. Location can’t be beat and driving into Positano was surprisingly easy. No problem finding the hotel. The view from our room, pool area and restaurant are the same views shown on website, which are breath taking. Service within the hotel was friendly and we never had to ask for anything, as the service is top notch. I especially loved the La sponda Restaurant (Michelin rated) we had a wonderful dinner. La Sponda's food was amazing. It was an unexpected surprise!

I must also say one of the nicest touches was the tour options given by the hotel. We did the visit with chef Matteo Temperini who was very personable, we visited La Sponda’s kitchen and then down to the fish market. Very nice personal touch, which makes this Hotel stand out, as a 5 Star Property.

Looking Forward to sending future clients to stay at Le Sirenuse,

Terry Barnes
tb@brickelltravel.com

http://www.sirenuse.it/en/13/deafult.aspx

Room Tip: Spend the money and be sure to get a room with balcony and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

First rate luxury hotel located in the heart of Positano with amazing views out over the sea and town. The staff are welcoming and attentive with the effortless excellence that only comes from experience but without the aloofness you occasionally get at famous hotels. One last thing the espresso was amongst the best I have ever had.

I have stuggled to find any criticism, I quess the bathroom could have been bigger (the shower was over the bath) but given the location in the town space is obviously at a premium. Yes the hotel is expensive but it was worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Everything about this hotel is 5-star...the location, the view, the rooms, the restaurant, and the staff. We loved every minute of our stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Sirenuse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sirenuse Hotel

Address: Via C. Colombo, 30, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#15 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Sirenuse Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sirenuse is a charming family owned hotel located in the heart of Positano. Opened in 1951 by the Sersale family who converted their summer house into a hotel with 12 rooms. The hotel has grown since then with the acquisitions of two neighboring houses to 59 rooms and suites. Le Sirenuse today is still run and managed by the Sersale family who ensure the same atmosphere of warmth and intimacy remain, while breathtaking views of the Mediterranean and the village of Positano make this an unforgettable place to spend a holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, LHW, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Le Sirenuse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Sirenuse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Sirenuse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.