We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Alcione

Save Saved
You added Residence Alcione to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Alcione
Via C. Colombo, 135, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 45 Positano B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I would go back in a second! Beautiful, clean, big rooms. We had everything we needed. The terrace was perfect! We had many meals there, and having breakfast that they bring to you every morning is priceless. We were on the top floor in a wonderful room with a fireplace and a small kitchen. The view was amazing and I could not stop taking pictures every day with the light changing. So many hotels in Positano are very expensive but this place is really perfect and much more affordable. I think its a great deal and it was really perfect for us. The owners are downstairs in the shop and everyone was wonderful and helpful every day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor if you dont mind the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    16
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
52
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is one of my favourite hotels. If you have seen the movie, Under The Tuscan Sun, you will recognise it. Fantastic views of the ocean and the Duomo in the village. Breakfast consisted of pastries, fruits and a selection of coffee and tea all of which was delivered to our suite every morning for us to enjoy whilst admiring the breathtaking views. Just a short stroll into town where there are fantastic restaurants right on the beach with a group of musicians serenading diners as they enjoyed a sumptuous dinner. Great little shops, fresh food and wonderful place to people watch. This is where we left from for our tour to the Isle of Capri. Take a trip to see Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius, not to be missed!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I had never been to Positano before so although I had read about the town being built into the side of a mountain, I did not realise that all the shops and restaurants are either up the road or down the road - that being said the Alcione Residence is in a good location because it is about a 15 - 20 minute stroll up from the beach and town square along a gently sloping road and about 5 minutes further up the road is a bus stop which will take you to other towns along the Amalfi coast. If having a view is important to you, you need to specify that you do not want an apartment on the first floor, because then your view is - a busy road, a car port complete with cars, with the sea in the background. Probably the apartments on the second floor would have a better view, being that much higher and of course, the third floor would probably have the view that is so raved about. Also, be aware that the apartments with kitchenette and washing machine are the ones on the third floor only and come at a high price. Unfortunately, there is no lift, so as you enter the foyer there are steps up to the hall, then more steps to the first floor, with more and more steps the higher you go. A very strong young lady helped us with our luggage up to our room on arrival, but was nowhere to be seen on departure - that was the only time I was glad we were staying on the first floor. The decor of the room will certainly not be to everyone's taste, but the rooms are spacious, airy and clean. A small, but annoying detail - there was no refuse bin in the bedroom/living area, only in the bathroom. The are no tea/coffee making facilities and no way to make or warm up any food in the apartments, apart from the third floor with the kitchenette, although there was a fridge. The complimentary breakfast which is brought to your room was basic and consisted of coffee/tea, orange juice, cereal, cake, rolls, croisants. If you want things like fruit, yoghurt, cheese and ham you will be charged from 3 - 5 euros per item. Aircon worked well and street noise not really a problem. Patio a nice size with table chairs & 2 loungers.

Room Tip: If you can possibly afford the top floor apartments with kichenette you will be happy, if not then s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The view from this hotel is absolutely amazing! The room has lots of distinctive qualities, which makes your stay very unique and enjoyable. We spent many hours on the balcony drinking wine and taking in the view! The lady who runs the hotels is super helpful and always pointed us in the right direction. The breakfast, which was included in the price, was amazing and the coffee was the best we had! For the price, this is the best hotel in the area. We will, without a doubt, return to the Amalfi Coast and will stay at the Residence Alcione. I seriously can’t recommend this hotel enough!! If you’re looking for super fancy accommodations this isn’t the place for you. However, if you want a nice hotel with great customer server, amazing view at a great price this is your spot!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights after after visting Rome and was really looking forward to this accomodation which really let us down considering the price we paid. We felt we were visiting Nonna's house back home. It was extremely dated and had no real feel about it. It felt cold and uninviting. The only saving grace was that the view from our balcony was great. The breakfast was very basic and the coffee provided for each morning was lukewarm. Very average for price paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The whole process from enquiry to booking to staying was painless thanks to the wonderful people at Alcione. The wonderful room staff who delivered breakfast with a smile each day (the three girls that we meet were amazing dedicated / friendly employees - anyone would love to have them on staff) and who also kept the place absolutely spotless. And to Fernanda and Angela and the others in the shop below who dealt with our booking / welcome / enquiries - thank you so much for making this a most memorable stay. Everyone was so professional but friendly and were perfectly placed to be in the tourism / hospitiality industry - well done.
A perfect option for those who want to get away from the one bedroom hotel set and have some space but still be well looked after.
And the view! Wow, wow, wow - the terraced buildings, the ocean, the beach - totally mesmerising and all from our apartment.

We counted 229 stairs plus a 650m walkway from the beach to our room - so as previous reviewers have commented, Positano may not be for everyone.
But we will be back and highly recommend Alcione to all.

Room Tip: Every room has a view although the higher the greater vista (but more steps).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is the most wonderful Hotel to stay in when in Positano. Fernanda, her family and Staff made our 5 night stay an absolute pleasure. We had a wonderful, extremely large/spacious apartment overlooking the ocean which was fully self contained and had a huge bathroom with a fabulous shower cubicle - containing 3 separate showers - one of them was a power shower which we loved. The balcony was a terrific place to have breakfast in the mornings and other times just to sit and relax with a cold drink. The whole visit was so special and nothing was a bother. Probably the only problem - and a slight one at that - was the wi fi / internet access was a bit hit and miss. I would go back here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview/balcony room to enjoy the full experience of Positano from your Apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Alcione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Alcione

Address: Via C. Colombo, 135, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Alcione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Alcione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.