We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View at a Great Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Alcione

Save Saved
You added Residence Alcione to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Alcione
Via C. Colombo, 135, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 45 Positano B&B and Inns
Watertown, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Amazing View at a Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The view from this hotel is absolutely amazing! The room has lots of distinctive qualities, which makes your stay very unique and enjoyable. We spent many hours on the balcony drinking wine and taking in the view! The lady who runs the hotels is super helpful and always pointed us in the right direction. The breakfast, which was included in the price, was amazing and the coffee was the best we had! For the price, this is the best hotel in the area. We will, without a doubt, return to the Amalfi Coast and will stay at the Residence Alcione. I seriously can’t recommend this hotel enough!! If you’re looking for super fancy accommodations this isn’t the place for you. However, if you want a nice hotel with great customer server, amazing view at a great price this is your spot!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    16
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
50
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights after after visting Rome and was really looking forward to this accomodation which really let us down considering the price we paid. We felt we were visiting Nonna's house back home. It was extremely dated and had no real feel about it. It felt cold and uninviting. The only saving grace was that the view from our balcony was great. The breakfast was very basic and the coffee provided for each morning was lukewarm. Very average for price paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The whole process from enquiry to booking to staying was painless thanks to the wonderful people at Alcione. The wonderful room staff who delivered breakfast with a smile each day (the three girls that we meet were amazing dedicated / friendly employees - anyone would love to have them on staff) and who also kept the place absolutely spotless. And to Fernanda and Angela and the others in the shop below who dealt with our booking / welcome / enquiries - thank you so much for making this a most memorable stay. Everyone was so professional but friendly and were perfectly placed to be in the tourism / hospitiality industry - well done.
A perfect option for those who want to get away from the one bedroom hotel set and have some space but still be well looked after.
And the view! Wow, wow, wow - the terraced buildings, the ocean, the beach - totally mesmerising and all from our apartment.

We counted 229 stairs plus a 650m walkway from the beach to our room - so as previous reviewers have commented, Positano may not be for everyone.
But we will be back and highly recommend Alcione to all.

Room Tip: Every room has a view although the higher the greater vista (but more steps).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is the most wonderful Hotel to stay in when in Positano. Fernanda, her family and Staff made our 5 night stay an absolute pleasure. We had a wonderful, extremely large/spacious apartment overlooking the ocean which was fully self contained and had a huge bathroom with a fabulous shower cubicle - containing 3 separate showers - one of them was a power shower which we loved. The balcony was a terrific place to have breakfast in the mornings and other times just to sit and relax with a cold drink. The whole visit was so special and nothing was a bother. Probably the only problem - and a slight one at that - was the wi fi / internet access was a bit hit and miss. I would go back here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview/balcony room to enjoy the full experience of Positano from your Apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ont.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Residence Alcione deserves all the great reviews. We recently stayed for 5 days: first in the aparment Sirena 1 on the 3rd floor which is the one with the huge terrace. It was awesome & so private. Then we stayed in Sirena 3, which was also great, with a smaller balcony, but the same great view. Almost all of the balconies in the building have some sort of privacy screen. Both apts were spotless & well equipped; the washer & the small kitchen were a huge plus. Fernanda was extremely helpful: she immediately told us about the deli close by which we visited many times to buy dinner to eat in the apt. or antipasto to eat before going to a restaurant. We ate at Chez Black twice (try the eggplant parmigiano). All of our meals in Positano were good & fairly reasonable. It was extremely hot in early Sept., so the stairs were a pain by the afternoon. An inexpensive way to see the amalfi coast is to take the ferry (7 euros) from Positano to Amalfi. As per advice on trip advisor, we took a private transfer from Naples train station to Positano & Fernanda will arrange that for you. Shopping in Positano is expensive, but it was very busy then. Next time I would visit in oct or early spring.

Room Tip: The thirds floor apts probably have the best view; perhaps the 2nd floor as well, but enquire before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The first thing to remember in Positano is location, location, location. Lots of stairs, lots of struggling with suitcases. Residence Alcione is right on the main road in Positano. Simply walk out your door to grab a taxi and much easier coming and going. If you have difficulty walking, Positano is not the best city to visit. This hotel does not have an elevator so you do need to walk up stairs to get to your room, but Fernanda wisked my suitcase out of my hand and carried it for me. Visiting here is like visiting old friends. They cannot do enough for you to make you comfortable. The rooms are light, airy and immaculate. The views over the sea are beautiful. I think the best part of our stay was our wonderful breakfast delivered every morning to our room, so we could breakfast on our balcony overlooking the gorgeous scenery. This was included in our stay. I would stay here again as the location, price and wonderful welcome are beyond compare! Laura P

Room Tip: Make sure your room is on the upper floors for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I accompanied by our dear friends stayed at the Residence Alcione for 6 days, it was just so sensational. Everything about our stay was just amazing, the room, the staff, the ambiance and the location.
You will be looked after and feel like you are staying with friends. Do yourself a favour, stay as long as you possibly can.
Breakfast was served with a smile on a beautiful patio.

Ursula and Philip Hilyard, Australia

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Alcione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Alcione

Address: Via C. Colombo, 135, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Residence Alcione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Alcione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.