We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Residence Alcione” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Alcione

Save Saved
You added Residence Alcione to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Alcione
Via C. Colombo, 135, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 44 Positano B&B and Inns
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Residence Alcione”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I accompanied by our dear friends stayed at the Residence Alcione for 6 days, it was just so sensational. Everything about our stay was just amazing, the room, the staff, the ambiance and the location.
You will be looked after and feel like you are staying with friends. Do yourself a favour, stay as long as you possibly can.
Breakfast was served with a smile on a beautiful patio.

Ursula and Philip Hilyard, Australia

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    16
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
39
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Loved this place - and would definitely return. We stayed in the room - Li Gali 2. It is was extremely spacious, including room for a couch, coffee table, plenty of storage and still room to move around. There was plenty of natural light during the day, which makes such a difference to a room in my opinion. It felt more the size of a small apartment than a hotel room. Both bathroom and main room were immaculately clean, and were tastefully decorated.
The balcony was large, private and had a sensational view. To the left you saw the ocean, straight ahead an olive tree and to the right, the hill of Positano, with all its colourful houses (which look equally amazing by day or night.) The balcony also had a table and chairs and two comfy sun chairs. My husband and I spent much of our time just relaxing here - it was just so nice!!
Breakfast is served to your room, at a time of your choice - we haven't had such amazing service any where else in Italy. Warm, fresh croissants filled with either jam or custard (not the frozen, overcooked ones we have had in most other hotels), bread rolls, fresh cake, juice and coffee made just as you want it. You can also order additionally, if you want it, meats, fresh fruits, cheese and more, but we were very satisfied with what was provided as the standard. The lady who brought us our breakfast each morning was always 100% friendly - again, we haven't always had such nice service in Italy. But here, the service was amazing.
The proximity to the beaches, public transport, restaurants and shopping is perfect. There are shops and the bus at your doorstep, literally. It's a 5 minute walk to the beach.
Finally, the best part - Fernanda, who will check you in, and help you with absolutely anything you need. She was so welcoming and friendly, made bookings for us at restaurants, gave us good recommendations of things to do and helped us with anything and everything that we needed. She seemed to genuinely want to help us - and to me, that sort of service is priceless. It can make such a big difference to your holiday.
Thanks so much to Residence Alcione and to Fernanda - from two very satisfied Aussies.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We spent 10 wonderful days at Residence Alcione. Fernanda is a great host. She went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed including arranging excursions and drivers to take us to placed we wished to visit. A driver in an air conditioned car was much better than the local bus which was overcrowded and not much fun when the temperature is in the mid to high 30s! The staff were all lovely, especially Luisa, who delivered an amazing breakfast each morning with a huge smile. The rooms were cleaned exceptionally well including clean towels daily. Jock McLean and Marylynn Connelley, Launceston, Tasmania, Australia.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Sirena 3 apartment and could not have been happier, nor could we have asked for more in terms of accommodations. Fernanda met us at the entrance and carried our luggage up the 60 steps to our room. We were so pleasantly surprised when she opened the door and we saw the spaciousness of the room and the incredible view of Positano and the sea. What was even more impressive was the cleanliness of the room and the bathroom. The bathroom is a good size with excellent water pressure. It has a shower/Jacuzzi tub, powerful hair dryer, & shampoo/conditioner/body lotion/soap. We were also pleasantly surprised to see that the unit came with a kitchenette with dishwasher as well as a washing machine, which was especially handy since we were traveling for an extended period. We were there during a hot spell and the AC worked perfectly. Each day we looked forward to sitting on the terrace with the spectacular view. We will definitely be staying at Alcione Residence apartments on our next trip to Positano. Hopefully, Sirena 3 will be available again. The location is perfect – across the street from Le Sirenuse – so you’re close & within walking distance to the shops, beach, restaurants, etc.. Fernanda and the entire staff we dealt with were delightful! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I planned a family trip to Italy for 6 adults and 2 children. Starting our trip in Milano were were tired and looking forward to our stay in Positano. We wanted to enjoy and relax. We had three rooms together with attaching terraces. The view was absolutely beautiful and the rooms more than we expected, and the staff was friendly and so very helpful. The family voted Residence Alcione the highlight of our trip and hopes to return.

Room Tip: The Saraceno Suite #1 was lovely for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was a perfect spot in positano to stay. My husband and I stayed here for two days while we explored positano and the amalfi coast and the staff was exceptionally warm and welcoming and the view from the room was absolutely breath-taking.This B&B was walking distance to the beach and all the main shops. In the event you do want to catch up with the outside world while on your idyllic getaway they offered free wifi and also had an agreement with a local parking service for you car should you drive to positano. The breakfast was delicious and decadent. A perfect little getaway in positano. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My mother and I just returned from a week in Positano and we loved our room at Alcione (Sirena I) and especially our gorgeous terrace. The entire staff and the family who owns the inn are lovely and we felt like guests in their warm and beautiful home. The location is perfect and the B&B provides the ideal respite from the crowds in and around Positano. We could not have asked for a better experience!!!

Room Tip: It is totally worthwhile to take one of the apartments. Having a beautiful terrace and full kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Alcione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Alcione

Address: Via C. Colombo, 135, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Residence Alcione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Alcione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.