We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Nereidi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Le Nereidi to your Saves list
Le Nereidi
G. Marconi 266 BIS, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 47 Positano B&B and Inns
WELLS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We met Antonio on a previous trip to Italy when we were stuck for a taxi and a friend of his suggested we use him. He picked us up in a gleaming new Mercedes and delivered us stress-free to our location for a reduced price. He mentioned his that mother Columba ran this B&B in Positano and we should give it a try next time. Boy, are we glad we did!

The house has two self catering apartments with large balconies each, and both have an amazing view over Positano- you can see right down to the beach (which is quite a long way away!). We found it so lovely and relaxing that we spent many hours sitting chilling, listening to Dean Martin an watching the world gently go by- you really feel like millionaires here!

We arranged for Antonio to pick us up from the airport to take us to Le Nereidi and this saved us any hassle finding the place, and, as before, the trip was completely stress free, with us chatting to Antonio about this and that (his English is pretty good). I would suggest anyone coming to this part of Italy to arrange this, as getting through Naples can be highly stressful even on public transport, and I certainly wouldn't consider driving here. Also, if you don't know where exactly the entrance to the B&B is, I think you would struggle to find it.

The great thing about this place is, even though it's a fully fitted out self catering apartment Columba makes you breakfast everyday. She loves making cakes and we got different ones every day. They were all gorgeous! She can deliver the breakfast to your room or you can have it on the terrace the next floor up. We chose the latter, as this is the floor Columba and Antonio live on and it gave us a chance to chat to them. They are wonderful friendly people and we absolutely fell in love with the both of them.

Nothing is too much trouble for Columba- one day we asked if she had an iron as some of our clothes were pretty crumpled out of our suitcases. She insisted she ironed them herself and brought them back absolutely perfect! I'm convinced the woman is superhuman as she carries all her shopping up the steps from the road with no help whatsoever. She's amazing!

The apartment is lovely and cool and the bed was really comfortable. After our stay here we spent three days in a hotel on the other side of the peninsula and we had to make do with two single beds pushed together - here it was a huge double bed - we slept like babies! The windows had shutters on them too so you could block out all the light in the mornings (the sun is amazingly bright here compared to mornings in the UK), and when we finally opened them we got an amazing view of Positano. I Decided this the the place to die!! (not for a few years yet though!)

One person's review mentions the trek up the steps in a pretty negative light. Let me say this - if you are unfit or infirm and cannot climb steps easily I would suggest you don't come to Positano at all as there are far many more steps from the road down to the centre of town than there are to the rooms at Le Nereidi! That said, if you can do steps, Positano is a dream location that we are going to visit as many times as we can afford. We did it on a budget, which wasn't too difficult - we ate out a few nights and cooked at home the other times - to be honest our "Restaurant" had the best views of any in town, so why not? All the restaurants, Trattoria and Taverns will let you just have a drink - we discovered you could get a half lire carafe of local wine for around 7-9 euros.

The local Alimentari (grocers) which is right next to Bar Internazionale sells everything you need - they make fantastic sandwiches for no money (try a large roll with mozzerella, tomato and olives - amazing!) and they sell local wine (vino sfuso) on tap to take away for 2.50 euros a litre! We liked the sparking red- lovely! Giovanni (John) speaks pretty good English too and we had a good chat with him every day- he suggested a few places for us to go which all turned out to be great. He also makes his own Limoncello (as many do around here), he calls his "Limunciello" and that stuff is dynamite!

So, to sum up, a really tremendous experience, more than we could ever have hoped for - a home away from home, and incredible value. We arrived as holidaymakers and left as friends. Simply wonderful!

Thanks Antonio and Columba, we'll be back soon! Ti amo! xxx

Room Tip: We stayed in Le Sole (Sun) room and it seemed like it had the better views than the other room, Le M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This B&B has so much added value. It is a wonderfully complete apartment that has all one would need plus the great advice of the owner. She gave us great suggestions of places to eat and how to get around. The bus into town was just around the corner. The only consideration is the numerous steps to get up to those fabulous views. If one takes his time and stops to look at the view, it's not bad at all. If you would have a problem climbing lots of stairs this is not for you. It is a steal for those of us who are still able.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great balcony to take in the Positano view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We just back from Positano, we only stayed 2 nights at Le nereidi for our long holiday honeymoon. For all the place we have stayed, Le nereidi "home" was the best! We really enjoy the stay & really get to relax ourself. Although Positano is like a heaven, it might not be the same if we stay elsewhere. The stairs was too much but it's really worth it. The "home" is the apartment which are 1 bedroom apartment, full set kitchen equipment, big bathroom, balcony with amarzing view!! Breakfast are provided @ room every morning, you can do imagine how's great that every morning direct facing to the nice amarzing view with njoy the delicious breakfast and the balcony!! location is great, only less that 10 mins walking distance to mini market, restaurant and etc..the beach is not far, but i recommed can do walk down (Le nereidi is located high mountain) and back take the city bus as only cost €1.60 per person because is will be have quite some step going back.Ms Colomba, which are the one we meet at @ le nereidi, she always give you a sweet and warm smile! Always there to help, hospitality service is something we will miss also! Hopefully we can come back in future.And we will miss the cats too. Gracias Le nereidi!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

No one mentions in their reviews the fact that this property is accessed only from the side of a busy mountain road that has no sidewalk or place to stand and you have to climb 178 steep.. steps up the side of a mountain to get to the property. The B and B itself is nice and the place had great views but we were 2 older women and would never have booked this property had we known about the location on a busy road and the steps that were way too much for anyone. We only stayed 1 night and moved to another place the next day.

Room Tip: If you can mountain climb, then this place is for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This lovely B&B is just a couple minutes walk from the bus stop. Their are quite a few steep steps to walk up to the house but well worth it once you see the view. The view is absolutely breathtaking - you can see the whole bay area of Positano! This place not in the busy area of the town which makes it relaxing. It is only a short walk to the main area and a couple of delicious restaurants close by. The lady that owns this place is very nice. She does not speak a lot of English but she knows enough to get you what you need. The room has a balcony with a great view and it is very clean. The breakfast was lovely but very sweet (lots of chocolate so better for those who like sweet things for breakfast!). The biggest downside for me, albeit very small, was that the bathroom was a bit odd as it was a shower and bath in one, but it was it wasn't designed well. I struggled to keep the water from going all over the bathroom floor as I took a shower - The bathtub wasn't big enough or they needed a shower curtain or something.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

A short bus ride up and out of the Positano town - A perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of crowded streets filled with tourists. Le Nereidi perched up on the hill away from it all and a welcoming host in Columba - she spoke enough English to hold conversation and knew enough to help us with anything from getting out of positano and local info.
The accommodation was clean and modern, gas cooker and fridge etc, there was nothing we wanted for, bed was comfy and Columba cleaned every day and made the bed. She served us breakfast outside and the view was perfect as we ate a variety of fruit,bread and cakes, different every day and she was only too pleased to accomodate any requests.
Ultimately, our visit to Positano was greatly enhanced by staying with Columba and her gorgeous family of cats and kittens. she had a warmth and positivity not enjoyed in a hotel and really gave our stay a personal feel. If you find this property available when you want to stay, do not hesitate to book it. The hotels are noisy, impersonal and too close to all the fuss. Le Nereidi is just out enough to make you feel a little bit special. Book it, you will love it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Good b&b. Lovely staff. Very cleaned! I suggest it

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Nereidi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Nereidi

Address: G. Marconi 266 BIS, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il B&B Le Nereidi is located in the center of Positano near the municipality. The rooms consist of: “double bedroom, bathroom, living room with kitchenette and large terrace overlooking the sea "are two small suites with all amenities. The beautiful view, courtesy and hospitality, there will be the backdrop for an unforgettable stay... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Nereidi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Nereidi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.