We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Day!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'uomo e il mare

L'uomo e il mare
Via Positanesi d'America, 84017 Positano, Italy
089 811 613
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun Day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We enjoyed our full-day Capri boat tour. There were about 14 people overall (including the 2 of us) and we lucked out with a group that we were very compatible with so we arranged to share taxis to AnaCapri, etc. The boat captain was not Gennaro or Salvatore -- we cannot remember his name now but he didn't speak very much English. He did try to share information but, at times, he struggled with his English and we let him off the hook not wanting to see him tortured too much. He was very friendly, though and even let us spend extra time swimming at the Emerald Grotto which put us back into Positano 45 minutes later than planned which showed great flexibility on his part. We were glad we were able to go into the Blue Grotto as we've always wanted to and the water levels don't always cooperate.

This was more expensive than the plain 'ol ferry over to Capri but was a full-day excursion that we really enjoyed. It was relaxing to just sit on the boat with a few people soaking in the rays. We'd do it again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    9
    6
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Salvatore is the Man!!! He's a one man show. Captain, singer, bartender, Matre D, tour guide. Total package & the best day we ha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Awesome!!!!!
A must do while in Positano!!
50 euros for the day plus 30 for lunch. You MUST do lunch too!! It was also amazing!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positanolife75, Public Relations Manager at L'uomo e il mare, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed your day trip along the Amalfi coast with Salvatore. All of us from L'Uomo e il Mare hope to have you on board again soon.
Ciao a presto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Relaxing Boat Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I highly recommend this experience. My husband and I took a trip with 4 others and were very happy with this boat tour. We did the tour of the Amalfi Coast, and it was breath taking. It was nice to have someone who lives in Positano show you the Coast instead of taking one of those huge tour boats. They were very knowledgeable and friendly and made it a fun tour with champagne and all. I would definitely do this tour again when I go back.

Visited May 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sunset boat tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

During our recent stay in Positano, we took a sunset boat tour with Salvatore. This was the highlight of my stay in Positano! The view of the coastline from a boat is a must! Salvatore shared great stories while we enjoyed the beautiful views of the Amalfi coast and the Galli islands all while sipping some champagne.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Had a wonderful day on a boat trip organised as a wedding present by my family. It was a small boat with 7 of us on board, plus Captain Gennaro and his daughter. We headed off along the coast, with Gennaro supplying a steady stream of personal anecdotes and information about the coast, pointing out all the points of interest along the way. We were offered several chances to swim but as it was April and not too hot, we gave this a miss! A bottle of Prosecco was our Aperitivo before an amazing 5 course lunch in Amalfi. All in all a fabulous day and throuroughly recommended if you want a personal service and friendly guides.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'uomo e il mare also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to L'uomo e il mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'uomo e il mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.