We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we stayed in all of Italy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Celeste

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Positano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Celeste
Save
You added Casa Celeste to your Saves list
Via Fornillo, 10, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 47 Positano B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place we stayed in all of Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We loved Casa Celeste so much it was hard to leave. The family owned bed and breakfast welcomed us in and helped us work out excursions, travel plans, and with anything else we could have needed. It was truly a special experience to have spent time with Mama Celeste and her family. If you are going to stay in Positano, there is no other choice but Casa Celeste!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

My friend and I stayed at Casa Celeste because the prices were more reasonable than hotels in Positano. We did not, for a second, regret our choice. The bed and breakfast was similar to a hotel, and we've actually had better service here than any hotel we stayed at. The family is just wonderful- always there to help.
The room we had was number 3, and it had a queen size bed, private bathroom, balcony with sea view (gorgeous), dresser and other drawers. The room was cleaned every morning and we were provided new towels.
The location is great - in Positano everything is pretty close so you can't really go wrong. We walk down a few steps and we r right on the beach.

The Family at this bed and breakfast makes the entire experience a memorable one. Marco and Guido (and others) run the restaurant/bar on the beach and are always there to help. We did not have one issue at Casa celeste, and we miss it so much already.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Although the bus directions to the B&B were intimidating, it was actually quite easy to find. I loved the location. A nice 15 minute walk to downtown Positano and the main beach plus a nice challenge of stairs heading straight down to Fornillo beach. I'm not too experienced with staying at B&Bs so I found the breakfast to be quite small (bread and tea) as I need protein in the morning! The terrace where breakfast is served is beautiful. I even bought a pizza for lunch one day and also ate this on the terrace.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

My mother and I stayed at Casa Celeste for two nights in March 2011. The booking process was very easy. I e-mailed Marco, who responded promptly with room availabilities, prices, and directions on how to arrive using public transportation. Upon arriving at Casa Celeste, we were warmly received by Marco, who carried our bags up to our room, and his mother Celeste, who gave us her delicious limoncello. We stayed in Room 1, which had one large double bed, and also a smaller twin size bed. It was very spacious and had the most gorgeous view from its balcony, with views of the town and the sea. Some of the guidebooks recommended Room 5, which has vaulted ceilings, but it has smaller windows and no balcony (you can walk out to the roof from room 5, but you will literally be on the roof). I much preferred Room 1, which had a nice airy feel. Celeste, her husband, and her son Marco are very kind, warm, and go above and beyond the call of duty to be helfpul. It really felt like staying with family. Breakfast consisted of bread and homemade marmalade, which was delicious, as well as your choice of tea or coffee. It was admittedly a bit limited, but I think this is common for smaller hotels and bed and breakfasts in Italy. The value for money was excellent. We paid 88 euro for our room with a view, and I am told by friends who frequently visit the Amalfi coast, this is almost unheard of in Positano.

Room Tip: Room 1 was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

We stayed here for a few nights. Mama Celeste was super friendly. The space was beautiful and pleasant. The only problem was that we had no hot water in our shower. When we told them about the problem, they didn't fix it or follow up. It was a bit of a downer not having hot water especially in early March when it was rather brisk and the house was pretty cold. Otherwise a nice place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Casa Celeste is a MUST! My friends and I were staying in Firenze and wanted to travel down to Positano. We had to look up a hotel/B&B because all of the hostels were full. I called and spoke to Marco's father, who was very helpful. When we arrived we mostly dealt with Marco, who was absolutely wonderful. Mamma Celeste was brilliant. Toasted bread with homemade jams that are to die for. The coffee was wonderful, of course. It's not a 10 minute walk from the center and beach, not 3 minutes from wonderful restaurants and they have their own bar at the beach. Plus, they have wonderful homemade limoncello! :) If you go to Positano, you NEED to stay here. It's quite inexpensive--and I'm a student! I plan to travel back to see the family and stay there again! Thanks for everything, Casa Celeste!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Our stay at Casa Celeste was excellent. Mama Celeste is very freindly and understands and speaks English very well. Her son Marco is very nice and is great to deal with when making reservations. Very quick responses to any questions you might have through emails. The house is very clean and nice and the views out your window is excellent, you couldn't ask for more. I can't wait to return and I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Ostello Brikette
Ostello Brikette
#37 of 40 in Positano
3.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#25 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#34 of 40 in Positano
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#17 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#2 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Maliosa d'Arienzo
La Maliosa d'Arienzo
#37 of 47 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Celeste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Celeste

Address: Via Fornillo, 10, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Celeste B&B in the heart of Positano,walking distance to the beach, shops, restaurants, port and bus stops. Run by Celeste and her family, the B&B offers rooms with sea views, family suites and single rooms for those on a budget. Celeste's family also has a beach bar and various restaurants around town. Stay with our family and feel like a local in the heart of Positano, the pearl of the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Celeste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.