We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Beauitful!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Flavio Gioia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Flavio Gioia to your Saves list
Villa Flavio Gioia
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Piazza Flavio Gioia, 2, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just Beauitful!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed with our daughter here in July for 8 nights. What an amazing place!!! The location is one of the best in Positano. Our seaview studio was perfect overlooking the church and the beach.We saw so many weddings every day from our balcony. The villas are amongst the many restaurants Positano has to offer. Christian was wonderful,very friendly and helpful.The studio has a kitchenette. We enjoyed many drinks on our balcony just watching the world below us. It has a real holiday feel.The beach is just below and very accessible. Ther is also a great little supermaket/deli just below.I highly recommend these villas.

Room Tip: Defintely a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
47
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and I spent 6 nights at VFG in August, and I cannot say enough wonderful things about the hotel and staff! When we arrived in Positano, we still didn't have our luggage (at this point, it was our second full day - the airline lost it, most likely due to us having to be completely re-routed due to weather issues). When we went to check in at VFG, Christian was at the front desk - unfortunately, he showed that our reservation was cancelled! Obviously, I hadn't received notification of this (we booked through Hotels.com), and had actually received a confirmation from Hotels.com 3 days prior to our trip. After still not having our luggage, and our hotel saying that our reservation was cancelled, I had a mini-meltdown...this was suppose to be a dream vacation! We showed Christian the confirmation we received - it seems that VFG actually cancelled our reservation immediately after I booked it, but that notification did not get through Hotels.com's system and back to us. At that point, Christian told us that they didn't have any availability for that evening, but they did have the remaining 6 nights available for the Villa (the most expensive of their accomodations of course!)...I'm thinking to myself, "yeah, we can't afford the Villa!". Christian arranged for another room for us towards the top of Positano for the evening...it was a modest hotel, but the views more than made up for it. Then - Christian states that he'll honor the price that we booked on Hotels.com, for the Villa! Oh my goodness, we finally got a break and could try to enjoy our trip (even though we still didn't have luggage).

So we stayed 1 evening at the other hotel, and came to check in at VFG the next day. When we got to reception, Maria says that her contact at the Naples airport has found our luggage. This would have been great news...had Lufthansa's status update on their website not said, "Baggage still being traced, check back later." Additionally, I could never get an answer from the Lost Baggage desk at the airport. She said that her contact there has already put our two bags on a shuttle coming down to Positano, and there was extra room on the shuttle so there was no cost...the bags should be here in a few hours. We were excited, but didn't want to get our hopes up - how could the airline still say they haven't found our bags, but Maria is telling us they're on their way here?? She then proceeds to check us into the Villa....OH MY WORD, it was the most spectacular accomodations my husband and I have even seen in Europe, much less getting to stay in it?? The Villa was simply amazing, with an private yard and entrance. We were like giddy kids!

To top it off, 2 hours later our bags are delived to the hotel!?! Again, after not being able to get a hold of anyone at the airline's baggage office, and their website not being an ounce helpful - our bags are there, everything in them! At that point, I started a happy cry and hugged the beautiful Maria!

From then on, our trip was simply amazing - and I credit it to Christian, Maria and the entire staff at VFG. They were all so friendly, knowledgable and helpful. This hotel is perfectly located in Positano, the beach is literally a 3 minute walk down, and you're right in the heart of Positano. The hotel is clean and beautiful; the private patio courtyard is nice and relaxing; from what we could see, all the rooms (except for the Villa that sits just behind the hotel) had real sea views.

I HIGHLY recommend Villa Flavio Gioia - you will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: We originally chose VFG due to the price and location. It looks like all their rooms have sea views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 via mobile

They often say it's the people that make the place, and villa flavio is no exception to this. The hotel staff make you feel right at home in positano, in a quiet villa located within a stones throw from the beach. After a long day soaking up the rays on the beach or after a lemoncello or two at a beach side restaurant its location is unbeatable. Our stay there was amazing, with the rooms and facilities superb. Thanks Maria for such a wonderful time.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The location is perfect, the rooms are great, the service fantastic. We stayed with our teenage daughters, we had a ocean view studio and they had a standard studio with no view but large room with small kitchen and bathroom. The setting is perfect with the church next door so we saw lots of weddings in the Piazza in the front of church. Also the private garden and courtyard for the hotel is lovely. Maria gave us some great tips, one of which is the restaurant at Montepertuso where all the produce cooked is grown on the property. We had so much food. When you arrive at Positano, it may be worth getting a porter to take to your bags as there are 2 flights of stairs as well as the stairs in the hotel, (no lift but its only 3 levels high). Porters are 5 euro per bag. Will be back for sure

Room Tip: Ocean views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I stayed at the villa flavio gioia end of june for 7 days in one of thier apartments with a sea view....It was breathtaking, the location was great and the staff was very helpful and freindly. I recommend highly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

My husband and I spent 4 relaxing days at Villa Flavio Gioia after travelling for 3 weeks. Friendly, helpful staff. great location very central to shops cafes, 2mins to beach. the room had a view of the sea, we would have drinks on the balcony and admire to views.I would stay here again,very comfortable beds

Room Tip: All rooms have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights. We had apartment #15 with sea views. Christian, the owner, and Maria are really helpful, nice people and speak excellent English. The room was a delight - clean, airy, sunny and with great views from the balcony. All the things the other reviews rave about! In room Wi-fi internet - wasn't free but very reasonably priced.

We felt we had struck lucky when we got there, having never been to Positano before, as the location was as good as it got. Anywhere further up the hill is going to be hard work getting back to if you go down to the centre of the village and the beach (and you will!). The Villa's location is in the heart of the village in the pedestrian only area.

Our recommendation is to use the porter service (5 Euro a case/bag) because you are going to have to take your bags down 150 metres otherwise - and ours were heavy! We also wouldn't hesitate to recommend getting a car to pick you up if you are doing anything other than driving there yourself (and we absolutely don't recommend driving there - parking alone will cost you a fortune). Positano otherwise requires multiple changes of transport just to get there. Having got there the hard way, we came back the easy way using the car and the porters and it was a breeze. Christian or Maria will arrange the car and porter. Car was 95 Euro to Naples station. We loved staying at Villa Flavio Gioia!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Flavio Gioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Flavio Gioia

Address: Piazza Flavio Gioia, 2, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Flavio Gioia 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Flavio Gioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Flavio Gioia Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Flavio Gioia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.