We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for lunch and dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Fornillo

Il Fornillo
Via Pasitea, 266, 84017 Positano, Italy
39 089 811954
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 73 Restaurants in Positano
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Sippy Downs, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for lunch and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice in two days when we were in Positano for lunch and dinner. It was sea food meals each time, and they were the best of all the restaurants we went to on our stay there. Definately recommended for lunch as they have a great view of the beach, valley and sea.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    124
    37
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT GLUTEN FREE PIZZA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We visited Il Fornillo twice for dinner while in Positano in September. My husband has Celiac disease, and must eat gluten free food, while I'm able to enjoy regular pizza and pasta. My husband loved their gluten free pizza, and ordered a pizza on both visits. I had a pizza one night, and a pasta with eggplant another night. We also had salads. Everything was excellent, the ingredients very fresh, and we would love to go back! While we did find gluten free pizza in Sorrento, Il Fornillo was the best we came across on our trip.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Va
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We visited Positano for 3 nights in November. A few places had closed down since we traveled outside of tourist season so we didn't have too many options close to our hotel. However, we were so pleased with this restaurant we ate dinner there all 3 nights. The staff was very friendly and we received very good service. The food was very very good as was the wine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Great Family Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a family run restaurant that serves great food in quality and quantity. We ate hear two of the three nights in town. We were not disappointed. Sitting out on the patio is a great treat watching people walk by and viewing the hillside.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful home cooking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

If you want a home cooked, authentic meal- dine here! The food is fantastic! We ended up dining here twice in one day since we loved it so much. The mussels (soup), spaghetti with cherry tomatoes, eggplant parmesan, and squid ink pasta, and margarita pizza were all delicious! All in all two great meals for a great price. They also have a wonderful view and serve great house wine :) A must try if you're staying nearby!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornillo also viewed

 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Il Fornillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Fornillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.