We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Fornillo

Il Fornillo
Via Pasitea, 266, 84017 Positano, Italy
39 089 811954
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 73 Restaurants in Positano
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Norfolk, Va
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We visited Positano for 3 nights in November. A few places had closed down since we traveled outside of tourist season so we didn't have too many options close to our hotel. However, we were so pleased with this restaurant we ate dinner there all 3 nights. The staff was very friendly and we received very good service. The food was very very good as was the wine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    138
    40
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ojai, California
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Great Family Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a family run restaurant that serves great food in quality and quantity. We ate hear two of the three nights in town. We were not disappointed. Sitting out on the patio is a great treat watching people walk by and viewing the hillside.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful home cooking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

If you want a home cooked, authentic meal- dine here! The food is fantastic! We ended up dining here twice in one day since we loved it so much. The mussels (soup), spaghetti with cherry tomatoes, eggplant parmesan, and squid ink pasta, and margarita pizza were all delicious! All in all two great meals for a great price. They also have a wonderful view and serve great house wine :) A must try if you're staying nearby!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Views and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This restuarant is situated higher up the hill in Positano so affords lovely views over the water. Has inside and outdoor dinning. The food was lovely and service was great. Atmosphere was created by a waitress who walks around talking to herself the whole time and yells orders at the staff. Would definately recommend for a relaxing, laid back meal when visiting Positano.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“wonderful evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

i had taken 27 Australians for dinner here. the view was amazing and the staff where very friendly and attentive. the food was very flavorful and so much we struggled to get through it all. It was truly a wonderful night and the woman who served us was a wonderful character that entertained our party like they where family. well worth going to try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornillo also viewed

 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Il Fornillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Fornillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.