We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Marzoli Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Marzoli Resort to your Saves list
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G. Marconi 334, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had an excellent experience at Palazzo Marzoli! My husband and I spend our one year anniversary on the Amalfi Coast and chose to stay in Positano as it is one of the more tranquil towns along the coast. Palazzo Marzoli was the perfect hotel for us. Our room was very clean and spacious and we were served breakfast every morning on our personal balcony facing the water. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful in answering any questions we had about transportation, activities, etc. The bus stop is just a few steps away from the hotel and allows you to access the center of Positano as well as all of the other towns lining the coast. If you're willing to reach the heart of Positano on foot, just be ready for hundreds of steps. It's a beautiful walk but certainly takes a toll on your calves. Overall, we would highly recommend Palazzo Marzoli, especially to those wishing to have a private, romantic stay on the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    61
    27
    17
    18
See reviews for
48
153
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We picked Palazzo Marzoli because it was the best rated Tripadvisor hotel still available with only 1 month advance of our mid-July trip to Positano. We booked the "Jacuzzi Suite" and glad we did. Great room and pictures on website of the Jacuzzi and view are 100% accurate. Had been looking at other hotels close to the city center that were almost double the price and felt we got a good mix of luxury and value at Palazzo Marzoli. The staff was ridiculously pleasant and made the stay a joy. The room itself was nice and clean, solid 4 star - not 3 and not 5. The terrace was huge and the jacuzzi was a great soak for our tired legs.
Speaking of tired legs, that is the one big decision to make when staying at the Palazzo Marzoli - to take the bus to the city center/beach or to walk? The walk down is about 25 minutes and fairly easy if you're in reasonably good shape. We found it was a great way to see more of Positano than we would have otherwise had we stayed in a hotel in the city center. Walk back up can take anywhere between 15-60 minutes depending on your endurance and fatigue level. If you want to "earn" your meals then skip the bus, skip the winding Viale Pasitea (road that leads down to city center) and take the steps. We gorged ourselves on food and wine and still probably lost some pounds on the trip since more often than not we took the nearly vertical steps back from the beach/city center to the hotel. Since it was approx 95F in mid July we were drenched by the time we got to the hotel and enjoyed a cold dip in the jacuzzi. Another couple we were staying with had already been touring Europe for 10 days by the time they got to Positano so took the Inter-Positano bus for less than 2 euro per person per day when going to the city center.

Couple of other notes/advice on Positano:
We picked Palazzo Marzoli because it was the best rated Tripadvisor hotel still available with only 1 month advance of our mid-July trip to Positano. We booked the "Jacuzzi Suite" and glad we did. Had been looking at other hotels close to the city center that were almost double the price and felt we got a good mix of luxury and value at Palazzo Marzoli. The staff was ridiculously pleasant and made the stay a joy. The room itself was nice and clean, solid 4 star - not 3 and not 5. The terrace was huge and the jacuzzi was a great soak for our tired legs.
Speaking of tired legs that is the one big decision to make when staying at the Palazzo Marzoli - to take the bus to the city center/beach or to walk? The walk down is about 25 minutes and fairly easy if you're in reasonably good shape. We found it was a great way to see more of Positano than we would have otherwise had we stayed in a hotel in the city center. Walk back up can take anywhere between 15-60 minutes depending on your endurance and fatigue level. If you want to "earn" your meals then skip the bus, skip the winding Viale Pasitea (road that leads down to city center) and take the steps. We gorged ourselves on food and wine and still probably lost some pounds on the trip since more often than not we took the nearly vertical steps back from the beach/city center to the hotel. Since it was approx 95F in mid July we were drenched by the time we got to the hotel and enjoyed a cold dip in the Jacuzzi after rinsing off. Another couple we were staying with had already been touring Europe for 10 days by the time they got to Positano so took the Inter-Positano bus for less than 2 euro per person per trip when going to the city center.

Couple of other notes/advice on Positano:
1. Getting to Positano - don't try the land route by anything other than car. The commuter train, and connections through Sorrento only do if you are a college kid with a backpack. If you have suitcases pay for car service from Naples airport or take a ferry. We used Salvatore from La Mammola and got a very comfortable ride in a new MB E-Class from Naples airport to Positano for 100 Euro. http://www.xploreamalficoast.it/
2. If you have experience with a motorcycle or scooter then rent a scooter and go to Amalfi/Ravello. Unbelievable trip. We rented a scooter from our driver Salvatore from La Mammola in downtown for 60 Euros per day. This included pickup/dropoff to Palazzo Marzoli. Decent 125hp scooter. More than adequate for me and my wife on the back. Best meal of the trip was lunch at Villa Maria in Ravello. Thermonuclear basil and cherry tomato “garnish” on our pasta dishes stole the show.
3. If you are into hiking then do the Path of the Gods hike with Lucy – www.zialucy.it – as your tourguide. You could do the hike yourself but nowhere near as educational and for 35 euros per person it is a steal. You visit an old abandoned monastery in the mountains and get some of the best views on the Amalfi Coast.
4. If you arrive/leave by ferry you will need a porter to get larger suitcases to your hotel/ferry as cars cannot make it all the way down to the dock. Porter fee for bags is about 7-8 euro per bag from hotel to dock.
5. If you are in your 20s or 30s for an interesting show check out “Music on the Rocks” down by the main beach. It is a dance club literally in a cave right off the beach. Tons of young Italian men dancing up on American girls…not really sure where the American men or Italian women were. Standard US club/lounge music and pay for drinks with drink tickets. Party gets started at around midnight.
6. Best pizza in town is down near the dock at the bar under the Covo dei Saraceni Hotel. As good as anything we had in Naples. Chez Black’s pizza is pretty good too but the setting is slightly more pricey but you get more attentive service.
7. Made one call from our hotel phone to our tour guide Lucy for about 5 minutes and got a 17 euro phone bill on checkout. Not a huge deal so we didn't object, but just an FYI to maybe not use the telephone.
8. Every day we would take some of the beverages out of the mini-bar to keep our own locally purchased cheaper drinks cold. Every day before the maid cleaned up the room we swapped back the mini-bar drinks so as not to incur a charge....however were told at check-out we had taken 2 drinks. Upon notice from us that we had not consumed any minibar drinks, just removed them temporarily to create space, we were quickly credited back the charge. Just an FYI to pay attention.
9. The free included breakfast had the fluffiest yet lightest croissants ever. They were excellent and actually didn't feel as unhealthy as the butter-laden ones we normally get in the US. If you wanted eggs or any protein I believe it was an additional 6 euro or so.
10. Daily Internet has to be paid in cash and costs 10 euro for 24 hours. Wireless didn't work very well for us in the room however the wired connection was good enough for us to do Skype with the kids on our laptop. If you only have wifi then signal might only work on patio.
11. When you get into the room you have to call the front-desk to turn on the AC and set the temp. The thermostat in the room seems to only work once activated downstairs.
stairs.

Room Tip: Get the Jacuzzi Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very friendly staff, easy access to the bus, clean and quiet rooms with a nice breakfast. Stunning views! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a six night stay at the Palazzo Marzoli Resort in Positano.
We had an immaculate room on the third floor with a nice balcony and phenomenal view of the town. A continental breakfast of yogurt, a freshly baked croissant, juice, toast, and a beverage were served daily on the balcony. It was a lovely start to each day....sitting on the private balcony gazing at the quaint homes and Bay of Naples. All staff members were pleasant and helpful. However, Daniella was an outstanding concierge. She was always available to help with any requests. We were thoroughly delighted with her restaurant recommendations and received special treatment when we arrived at these restaurants. Daniella requested tables with magnificent views for us and arranged transportation to and from many of the restaurants. When we had difficulty printing boarding passes, Daniella went out of her way to help us. She proudly shared information about local religious feasts and helped us to learn more about the local culture. Daniella became a friend to us and someone that we looked forward to talking to every day. We would highly recommend Palazzo Marzoli.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

a nice b and b.
not sure about a resort. no bar/restaurant.
quite expensive considering the outskirts location.
friendly staff, good views. Very good customer service.
Not possible to walk back from the beach in the summer, unless you are very very fit.
Hotel transfer service seems to work well though.
Try Bar Internazionale on the corner for an authentic feel and drinks at real world prices.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Our family of four just spend five days in Positano. We stayed at Palazzo Marzoli, and had a terrific experience there.

The property is very clean, and decorated simply but elegantly, with blue and white tiles, paintings and glass chandeliers. We had a clean, bright and spacious room with a double bed and two separate twin ones, and a large balcony overlooking the Mediterranean sea. Our room rate included much of breakfast (some items cost extra), and it was a real treat to have it served to us in our private balcony overlooking the sea. Next to our balcony, the hotel had a jacuzzi for guests.

Service was excellent. Many of our special requests required extra leg-work on the part of the staff, and they were always up to it. Daniela, in particular, was extremely helpful with them, from arranging all of our transfers, to searching for just the right tours for our needs. She booked several of them, from boat trips along the coast and to Capri, and bus tours to Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius.

The location is great. It is only a minute walk to the stop for the bus that took us to the beach (about a 10-minute ride, followed by a five minute walk). The hotel does not have a pool, but we weren't planning to spend any time in one anyway. The fact that it wasn't by the coast also didn't matter much: the coastline is very rocky, and most places on it don't really have a proper beach, so one needs to go downtown for one anyway. The staff was great in recommending good places to eat, and some even picked us up and dropped us off at the hotel.

Overall, the Palazzo Marzoli was really terrific, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I am very happy I stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Kyyivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Renovated building, covered parking, big spaceful room, perfect view from the balcony, interesting design typical for this region, polite staff. Situated at the top, but it is not a problem to walk down 15-20 minutes by foot. Perfect place for honeymoon. Only the best memories...

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Marzoli Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Marzoli Resort

Address: Via G. Marconi 334, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Positano
#17 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Marzoli Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant boutique hotel Palazzo Marzoli is an old historic home of the late'' by an intimate 600 A charming resort, an alternative to the traditional hotels in Positano, which is a perfect blend of luxury, technology and ricercatezza.Ampi and light to spaces reserved for guest rooms, all with sea view with bed and breakfast.Il relay mode, in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, is furnished with taste and attention to detail: dominate the whiteness of the wall and blue ceramic tiles and complements '' arredo.Completamente renovated respecting its original architecture, as evidenced by the capitals of the facade and the portal'' s era, the Palazzo Marzoli resort is the ideal location to spend a holiday on the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Marzoli Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Marzoli Resort Hotel Positano
Palazzo Marzoli Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Marzoli Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.