We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service, lovely ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Max

Ristorante Max
Piazza dei Mulini, 22, 84017 Positano, Italy
089 875056
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 73 Restaurants in Positano
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Good food and service, lovely ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a very good restaurant in Positano and had been recommended by a number of people. It's not on the sea but there's a lovely ambience in the garden courtyard. The service is excellent and the entree of stuffed calamari superb. The grilled scampi special and pasta specials were all delicious and the tiramisu was terrific. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    106
    26
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our hotel made us a last minute reservation at Cafe Max and we really didn't know what to expect. We were initially disappointed because it was a little fancier than we were looking for that evening and they couldn't seat us outside but we were quickly converted into fans. The indoor decor was very cool and the service and food were top notch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Food is delicious. Fish fresh and pasta homemade. Excellent selection. Desserts were also very tasty. Very comfortable seating and service is very good. Went two years ago and was looking forward to the return visit. Can't wait to go back again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food, not so great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stumbled across this restaurant by accident and we starving. Only reason I gave Max a rating of 4 is because of the location. Its tucked away among shops and Unfortunately it's not water front. they do have an outside patio which is dimly lit and romantic. The food was spectacular. We both had the homemade pasta with local lobster. I wish I had seconds. For dessert we had the profiterole. Again it was delicious and the side of melted chocolate didn't hurt. Def a must go!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The food and service are excellent , be sure to make reservations ( can be done online) because I saw others turned away because the food is great , a tad pricey...it cost $600 for six people and we had two bottles of wine

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Max also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Max, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.