We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice gallery restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Max

Ristorante Max
Piazza dei Mulini, 22, 84017 Positano, Italy
089 875056
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 71 restaurants in Positano
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Nice gallery restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

we were recommended by our hotel to go there for diner and that was lovely.
Seating outside in the little patio, food was very good, good choice and fresh local products, not too pricy, service was very good (may be we arrive early), and one of the best Tiramisu I ever had!
great furnitures and painting inside the restaurant.
Recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    174
    89
    18
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A nice resturant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The service was not good the night we attended but I write it off to a busy summer night. The food was good but no view and there are plenty of other places with a view so why get holed up inside. Past that if you are looking for a nice restaurant it was pretty good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A good restaurant to experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Max is not a restaurant with a view but a restaurant to be viewed and experienced.the food is excellent prepared with care and knowledge by a seasoned local chef. Intriguing flavors and blends of aromas are the essence of each of Max' menu listings. The service is excellent and the surroundings are the ones of a gone by aristocratic Italian setting with antique furniture, art and much more. A must visit while in Positano.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of Positanos's better restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This was our second short trip to Positano in 2 years and this is our first try at the Max and we found it to be better than most of the alternatives. Good fresh food with emphasis on seafood and attentive service. Most people in Positano would probably want a sea view, which this as not got, but dont let that put you off it as a cosy atmosphere in a nice courtyard, although it was a little too cosy for some later in the evening when they were having to use the light on their mobiles to read the menu. Most Positano restaurants are not cheap and this is defiantly above average but worth it. Those people who said they were rushed, we had no problem at all in this respect.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“This was one of the best of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A lovely setting, but no views. Fantastic seafood and wonderful raviolli. This was one of our favourite dinners during our entire trip. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Max also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Max, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.