We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot in Positano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Celentano Apartments Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Celentano Apartments Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Celentano Apartments Hotel
Via Pasitea, 173A, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect spot in Positano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Villa Celentano is perfectly located in Positano. Maria and her father are outstanding hosts and put in a lot of effort to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I was travelling within a group of five and as a result we had two apartments with a joining balcony offering amazing views down to the sea and up to the surrounding cliffs. The rooms were a good size and very private, it seemed like we were the only ones staying in the hotel.

The a/c was essential in the middle of summer (especially after walking up those stairs), coming back to a nice cool room was a welcome relief at the end of the day.

Breakfast was included in the accommodation price and was a selection of breads, meats, cheeses, yoghurt, cereal, fruit and juice, as well as a freshly made cappucino.

All in all a fantastic trip, would highly recommend to anyone visiting Positano.

Thanks Maria.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our first day in Italy got off to a bumpy start, when our flight arrived three hours late, and our luggage disappeared on the way, so we showed up in Positano with only what we were wearing, and spent the next day at a shopping centre replacing everything we had lost. But Maria and her father were excellent hosts and helped us beyond call of duty, also for getting to our next port of call, Capri. The location is good, the view is excellent, and the room we were expecting turned out to be a two floor apartment with a full kitchen and livingroom! They even have their own parking lot next to the hotel, and I can definitely recommend renting a car to get around in the Sorrento peninsula - magnificent nature! (But can somebody please kill that rooster next door?)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This holiday accommodation is a real gem in the beautiful town of Positano in southern Italy. We booked a room on a Bed and Breakfast basis but were upgraded to their best apartment at no extra charge. The balcony was huge with jaw-dropping views down to the sea and up the cliff to the road which winds around the coast. Vines provided shade and the outdoor furniture was comfortable and good quality (a rare thing with holiday accommodation). Kitchen was well equipped and spacious as was the bathroom and bedroom/living room. The proprietor and her father serve the breakfast in another room with beautiful views and an open balcony. She was friendly and helpful and brought fruit juice and water to us when we arrived after negotiating the hundreds of steps which are unavoidable in this lovely town, but a local bus is an easier way to get around and there is a stop nearby.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views but book well ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Villa celentano is a lovely set of apartments with kitchenettes, spacious room, ensure and a beautiful view from your own private balcony. Maria and her father look after you from the get go, and are very polite and lovely. Her father knows limited english but can still communicate the basics, where Maria speaks great English and can help you with anything, and they definitely go out of their way for you. There is a carpark linked with the hotel, and is about 5 mins walk to a lovely beach. The tourist beach is about 25mins, but not as nice and the restaurants down there werent very good. The breakfast is a little limited, but consists of fresh figs and grapes from the garden, cereal, bread rolls, croissant and cakes and esspresso coffee. Very good compared to some of the breakfasts in Europe. I'd definitely rate this hotel, you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Booked last minute in Positano without knowing much about it. On arrival found out that Villa Celentano is nicely situated at the top of town near some good restaurants and only about 500 (!!!) steps to the nicest beach (Fornillo). Fairly basic but clean and spacious with a great terrace and probably one of the cheapest properties available in this pretty but expensive town. Breakfast available but don't expect a feast - nice owner Maria did give us fresh fruit from the garden though. It is above Parking Anna (18 euros a day) and really close to the bustop. Suggest unless you are very used to driving in Italy you don't bother with a car - didn't see a car without a dent and the roads are pretty hairy.

Room Tip: Loer rooms have nice terraces - particularly the end one
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

We found this place on line, great pirce, clean nice room with a view. The owner was very kind and helpful. We very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Celentano Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Celentano Apartments Hotel

Address: Via Pasitea, 173A, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Villa Celentano Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Celentano Apartments Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.