We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been a better choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Mary Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Mary Suites to your Saves list
Villa Mary Suites
Via Liparlati 53, 84017 Positano, Italy (Formerly Villa Mary)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 45 Positano B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Couldn't have been a better choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed five nights at Villa Mary in the Diana Room. We were not disappointed a bit! The place was gorgeous, the view was amazing and Tiziana was a perfect host. She made us feel very comfortable and was very funny, friendly and helpful. Just a note that it is a little walk from the main shopping and beach area of Positano. It took about 10-15 minutes to get down to the beach, which included a lot of steps (some not in the best shape). This place may not be for those who can't make the long climb back up. We went to the beach daily, so we made the climb. We were fine with it, it was a nice workout! And we could eat some gelato to reward ourselves!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
248
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
København, Danmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

We have been travelling for more then 10 years and compared to other B&B's Villa Mary is by far the nicest, cleanest and charming place we've stayed. It is wonderfully located and even though we have 2 small kids the short walk down/up is pleasant and gives you a marvelous view of the town and sea. All the coast is easy accessible from here and you will never regret staying with this lovely family.

We felt spoiled and had a weeks wonderfull stay at Villa Mary. Titziana and Antonio are locals and can suggest and arrange plans for you as you like and the couple made us feel very much at home. The service is top, the rooms are 5 star and your host are molto bella. As a family with an infant we found everything very easy and convinient.

April was a good month; just before the heavy touristseason and you can still swim and have lots of the beach for your self. Make sure to try the family restaurant on top of the mountain which Titziana can arrange for you. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Villa Mary for our honeymoon in the Minerva room. The room and bathroom is very clean, the best part is the terrace which has a beautiful sea view of Positano. Every morning, breakfast was brought to our terrace, and it was a plentiful breakfast with cappacinos, juice, croissants, breads, jams. And the croissants and pastries tasted all very fresh. I think the owner, Tiziania bakes some herself because we could smell baking from downstairs every morning when we woke up. I also liked that the bed had a duvet blanket, it felt like my bed at home, instead of the thin rough bedding that you normally get at hotels. Tiziana was an exceptional hostess - she provided us directions whenever we asked and gave us a bunch of great restaurants to try, and helped us make reservations at the restaurants for dinner. She also provided us a beach bag with beach towels for use when we mentioned we would be doing a day trip to the spa. She was very sweet and her hospitality made our stay at Villa Mary very pleasant. The only possible downside to the Villa is that it is high up from the main town, so to walk to town takes about 15 minutes, with a few hundred steps to get there. Alternatively, the bus stop is right outside the Villa and for $1.50E, it can take you to the town in about 10 minutes. Most of the time, we walked to the town or the beach, since it was going downhill, and then took the bus coming back to the Villa. It wasn't a problem b/c the buses are pretty frequent. If I returned to Positano, I wouldn't hesitate to stay again at Villa Mary - the views are gorgeous from the terrace, the room is clean and comfy, and Tiziania is a great host!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

My Wife and I stayed at the Villa Mary during our honeymoon and we couldn't have been more pleased with the choice of Villa Mary for the final part of our stay in Italy. Positano is located right in the middle of the Amalfi coast and it is of relatively easy reach from Naples train station or airport (about an hour to 1.5 hours depending on the traffic).

We booked the room Diana which is the biggest room at Villa Mary. The room is very large and has a private terrace overlooking the sea and Positano (delightful when you wake up in the morning). It also has a safe, fridge filled with goodies, two wardrobes, and a wonderful bathroom with great views, a jacuzzi bath and large shower. Fresh towels were brought to the room everyday and you will find soap, tissues and everything else you need to refresh yourself.

The breakfast is one of the highlights of the day; fresh croissants, bread, pastries and jam are delivered to your room between 8am and 10am, and directly to your terrace so you can enjoy enjoy the view while drinking a selection of cappuccino, espresso or teas.

Villa Mary is not directly situated in Positano town centre and there are many steps down to reach the bottom of the town for all the amenities and the beach. However, a local bus (Interno Positano) can be used if you feel tired by a long day of walking. It stops only a few minutes away from the Villa Mary at the Liparlati bus stop (just ask the bus driver). The bus ride is quite cheap at 1.10€ per person and you can buy the tickets from the minimarket which is less than 5 minutes away down a few steps. The minimarket sells everything you need such as refreshments, meat and cheese for picnics, bread, fruits, milk, water, wine etc... There are 2 other shops selling fruit and vegetables not far from the minimarket too. Finally, for discovery of the Amalfi coast by bus, a SITA blue bus can be caught at the same stop as the local SITA bus (Liparlati stop) and the tickets are also available at the minimarket.

Positano offers plenty of restaurants and local food. It is not the cheapest place but overall the quality of the food served is very good. You can find cheaper options towards the top of the town such as Grotto Azzurri or enjoy the more expensive options by the beach (we loved Chez Black). Tiziana the owner of the Villa Mary will point you to the right places to go.

Tiziana is a wonderful host who has been always very responsive and available since our first contact with her back in February 2010. She has a great knowledge of the town and provided us with all the information we needed to make our stay a great success. She made all the phone calls to book restaurants, shuttles to restaurants and taxi drivers for our transfer to/from the airport in Naples.

Overall Villa Mary was the perfect choice for our honeymoon and because the Villa was not directly in the town centre, it was very quiet and surrounded by locals which made the experience even more authentic. Tiziana was a wonderful host and we have left the Amalfi with wonderful memories of our stay.

We highly recommend this B&B to anybody looking for a wonderful and out-of this world stay. Book early as it gets booked very quickly!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Having been put in charge of arranging our honey moon I was determined to find somewhere special that my wife would love!

I spent ages looking for for places to stay and I was really really pleased with Villa Mary - we stayed in the Diana suite which was gorgeous we a lovely area to sit outside and sunbathe. Positano is beautiful as well.

Tiziana who is the owner could not have been nicer and went out of her way to make our stay perfect. She even left out a surprise bottle of champagne when we went out one night so it would be there on our return!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Tiziana is a wonderful ambassador for Positano. There is a genuine warmth to her welcome that is a pleasure to behold. Breakfast on the balcony overlooking the town and sea is such an incredible way to wake up. The rooms are roomy, very clean, luxurious and tastefully decorated.
Best bit is that you feel part of the community, you see processions from the church going through the little streets, concerts for the locals singing Italian songs on Saturday night, kids playing games in the laneways. It's straight out of a movie set. It's really cool.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Wow...you make a decision and hope for the best...we could not have been more pleased with the decision to stay here. Am so glad we did not stay farther down the hill, closer to the busy center of town and beach area. Positano was soooo crowded, that Villa Mary was the perfect respite from the heat and crowds. We stayed in the Diana room which has a very large private terrace, very large bathroom and very large bedroom/sitting area. The furnishings were lovely and the bed very comfortable. Every morning we would smell those freshly baked croissants/pastry being baked and wait with eager anticipation of breakfast being brought to our terrace by Antonio. Yum. We lounged in the robes/slippers provided. We would sit out on the terrace gazing at the sea and the opposite side of Positano town. This private residence has a secure, private entrance for guests. Tiziana was very helpful with our requests. She arranged for Ottavio to pick us up at the Naples airport (and return). Very pleased, indeed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Mary Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mary Suites

Address: Via Liparlati 53, 84017 Positano, Italy (Formerly Villa Mary)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a recently renovated 19th century Mediterranean residence, Villa Mary B&B offers a peaceful and relaxing stay in the pearl of the Divine Coast, immersed in a worldly atmosphere of almost magical features, composed of intense scents, warm colors, age-old traditions and deep emotions. Welcome to Villa Mary. Welcome to Positano. Villa Mary B&B is composed of recently remodeled double bedrooms, elegantly furnished with no detail overlooked. Large and bright, each has its own bathroom with hydro-massage tub or shower, hair dryer, air conditioning/heat, in-room safe, satellite TV, and private terrace from which you can admire the enchanting Positano bay. The rooms' ample space allows for the addition of an extra bed. Breakfast is served in your room or on your private terrace between 8:00 and 10:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Mary Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mary Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Mary Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.