We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number one dining experience in Positano! Thank you Luigi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante da Costantino

Ristorante da Costantino
Via Corvo, 107, Positano, Italy
+39 089 875738
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 73 Restaurants in Positano
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Number one dining experience in Positano! Thank you Luigi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

The prompt complimentary shuttle service whisked us up the mountain and delivered us promptly to the restaurant which completely embodies Positano, the Amalfi coast, and the Mediterranean. Luigi, is a very sweet man that saw to our every need and sent a commentary starter to our table. The eggplant Parmesan was the best I've tasted in any italian restaurant. There was an amazing ravioli type dish filled with ricotta and spinach, covered in just the right amount of red sauce and mozzarella and baked in its own ramekin that was out if this world. The pasta is home made and cooked to perfection. For our main course Luigi offered fresh red fish gently barbecued that clearly had been swimming in local waters earlier that day. Desert was phenomenal. We tried a ricotta and pear tart and a delicious lemon cake made with an incredible sponge cake and lemon mousse. We were offered limoncello on the house to finish our meal. It was truly the best I've ever tasted! I have no idea why this restaurant is not rated number one!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    114
    22
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious Gnocchi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Like many restaurants in Positano they send a car to your hotel to pick you up and bring you back. Definitely get the gnocchi alla sorrentina. It is so delicious!! And the house wine is wonderful as well. If you'd rather not de-bone your fish they are happy to do it in the kitchen. Dinner for 2 was €68 including bruschetta and homemade lemoncello on the house. Tagliata was out best dinner here but this was great too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“good value with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The restaurant provided a pick up and drop off service from our hotel in Positano as the restaurant is a way out of Positano on the road up to Nocelle. It is a good sized restaurant but probably due to the time of year there were just a few other diners. However that meant we had no trouble at all having a window table which gave a great view down over Positano and the sea. We enjoyed our pasta and pizza choices and as we had complimentary bruschetta we struggled to do more than share a pudding. Complimentary bruschetta and glasses of limoncello were appreciated and the meal provided good value. Friendly service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Stunning views and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had a spectacular lunch at this delightful owner operated small restaurant. At our driver’s recommendation we were taken to this great spot perched high up on the steep cliffs of Positano. Our meal began with crusty homemade bread, followed by some very fresh delicious local seafood. We started with mussels and clams steamed with black pepper. I had local grilled fish which was cooked whole and expertly filleted at the table. My partner had veal in white wine sauce. This was accompanied by some lovely local wine. All of our meal was delicious, enjoyed all the more by the stunning views of Positano below and looking out over the sea.

If possible try and get a table at the window to really make the most of the wonderful views.

We booked a private full day tour of Pompeii through Tours of Pompeii with Lello & Co which included a drive along the Amalfi coast and stop in Positano. We found this restaurant thanks to our driver's recommendation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Branch, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our best meal in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our driver took us to this wonderful restaurant as most of the reviews. It was a wonderful experience, we own a restaurant in the United States and sometimes our expatiation's are too high. This restaurant got high marks all the way around. It was great to have the owner wait on us. The view was speculator! Great wine, everything you would think a restaurant in Italy should be, by far the best meal we had. We didn't come to Italy for the food, we came to visit family and the food was a bonus!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante da Costantino also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante da Costantino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante da Costantino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.