We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't get enough of the place- excellent food, wine and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Next2

Next2
Via Pasitea, 242, 84017 Positano, Italy
+39 089 812 3516
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 73 Restaurants in Positano
Price range: $37 - $75
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Couldn't get enough of the place- excellent food, wine and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Next2 is a contemporary, stylish restaurant that puts a modern twist on Italian food. We ate here twice during our three day visit, as a young couple it was nice to spend the evening there sharing a bottle of wine and eating good food. This was the best eatery we found during our trip to Italy, the food was excellent, the desserts were especially good. Staff are helpful and friendly and it has a lively and relaxed atmosphere. We were impressed also with the whiskey. It's worth the money you spend, and isn't much more expensive thAn what you'd spend at a restaurant on the beach with average food and average service. You may have to book in advance during busier periods to avoid disappointment

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    130
    42
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quite good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had dinner here, everything was deliciuos, and the atmosphere was great, less touristy than other places. Very good service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was excellent. This is the ideal place for a more formal dining experience that you can make the night of and turn it into a bit of an occasion.
The restaurant is not far positioned in the town about 15 minute walk away from the beach, it is a bit further up the hill. It is really nicely presented and stands out with a modern and trendy appearance.
The service was impressive with the staff speaking good English and being able to explain the menu and what specials they have on in some detail. They are attentive and friendly with a clear emphasis on service.
The breads served were interesting with some different flavours offering a different twist on the usual. We were delighted to Have a small bite, as compliments of the chef to get our taste buds going. It must have worked as the starter and main were top class. The presentation was excellent with a focus on quality. They were really tasty with a nice mix of flavours and textures.
This restaurant stands out as one of the best in Positano.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Touristy, but great food and service nonetheless.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Originally, we were skeptical about visiting this place. The map of Positano that we got at our hotel had this restaurant listed there. Our thought was since they spent their money on this add aimed at tourists, it’s going to be a touristy place with mediocre food, service, and high prices. Let me tell you, we were wrong. Yes, this place has lots of tourists (actually, during our visit didn’t see any locals in there), but the food and the service were top notch. Next2 has seating inside and outside, and looks quite formal. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu, and the specials, and provided good wine recommendations. For appetizers we ordered calamari and Caprese salad with buffalo mozzarella, and they were great – the salad was very fresh, and the calamari were soft and delicious. For the main course we ordered the restaurant’s specials: grilled fish (catch of the day) and beef cheeks. I have never tried beef cheeks in my life, and though that they would be hard to chew; instead, they were so soft that they were practically melting in my mouth.
We have eaten in a few restaurants in Positano, and this one was the best in terms of food and service; price-wise it was more expensive than others, but I think it was worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great food, fairly formal atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We came here on a recent holiday to Positano. The food was good - done in a more formal restaurant way rather than in an italian trattoria way, with great flavours. Highly recommend the salad, and the desserts were amazing. The atmosphere was a bit more formal than some other italian restaurants we went to. Service was slick and professional. There is indoor and outdoor seating. It is probably worthwhile booking ahead during the summer as it was quite busy when we went.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Next2 also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Next2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Next2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.