We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic atmosphere and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante La Sponda

Ristorante La Sponda
Via S. Sebastiano, 2, 84017 Positano, Italy
+39 089 875066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 73 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $72 - $144
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Charming restaurant in the heart of Le Sirenuse Hotel. The restaurant is entirely lit by 450 candles. The cuisine is contemporary Italian, using only the freshest local ingredients. The view is breathtaking as is the impeccable service.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Romantic atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a memorable dinner at La Sponda. It was expensive but worth it. The service is top notch and the food was delicious.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    40
    23
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“the most romantic place i've ever been...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

this is my absolute favourite restaurant in the world and i am a MASSIVE foodie and an endless wanderluster = this is a big call! it is possibly the most romantic place you could ever be in with incredible views of positano over the water as you dine. beautiful settings with floral arrangements and a pool with live music, impeccable service and delicious food. the experience was absolutely perfect and entirely proposal worthy - perfect for any romantic occasion. would recommend to anyone travelling through positano!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very expensive, but very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Let's get one thing out of the way. If your not prepared to spend at least 300 euro on dinner then I suggest to go somewhere else.

I booked this restaurant to celebrate our engagement. I'm not normally a fancy restaurant person, nor do I ever consider spending this amount on a dinner, but I made an exception this 1 time.

Well, the restaurant was beautiful, very cosy and nicely set out. Immaculate views of Positano and the coast.

The service is fantastic, they really do make you feel like royalty.

The food was divine, now I know why they say you get what you pay for. Nice music and candles everywhere.

The only down side is the price. No matter how good a restaurant is, it should never cost this much, 13 euro for a beer is a joke, however, we enjoyed our time and will always remember our special night.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springwood, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“This is my favourite restaraunt in the WORLD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I've been fortunate enough to have eaten in many fine dining restaraunts around the world. La Sponda is my favourite. It wins hands down by getting 10/10 for food, service, views & ambience.

My wife & I had two dinners there in July, and both were sublime. The white jacketed waiters, the 400 candles, & not forgetting the wonderful serenading duo (which I knew their names) make La Sponda an occasion you'll never forget. La Sponda's Michelin starred the food is quite simply divine. You can't pick a bad dish here.

Vincenzo is the maître d, and he runs an exacting ship, demanding (and achieving) the best from his team, night after night.

For a special occasion, or just because you want to spoil your partner, La Sponda will not disappoint. For my money, it's best fine dining restaurant in the world, not just Positano.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were guests at Le Sirenuse, where the restaurant is located, and decided we couldn't miss the opportunity to try it. I'd never been to a Michelin starred restaurant before and didn't really know what to expect. Everything was perfect. The waiters were extremely attentive and the food was delicious. Perfect for romantic dinners and special occasions.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Sponda also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante La Sponda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante La Sponda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.