We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna del Leone

La Taverna del Leone
Laurito 43, Positano, Italy
089/875474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 73 Restaurants in Positano
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Wanted a fairly light dinner and inquired about Taverna del Leone with our hotel consierge. She reported that it was a lovely restaurant with very good food, "probably the best pizza in Positano", and best of all they will pick you up at the nearby bus stop, as it is pretty far away up on the hill near Hotel Il San Pietro, (they don't come all the way to the hotel because it is a long drive through the town and back again on a one-way road--perfectly understandable). The La Sponda bus stop was only a few steps away from the hotel. They were supposed to pick us up at a designated time, but 15 minutes after time, we called the hotel who then contacted the restaurant and we were retrieved shortly along with a foursome also waiting at the bus stop with a slightly later pick-up time.
Chose to dine inside in a really pretty restaurant. Ordered wine, water and antipasto initially, then ordered our pizza and later a delicious dessert to die for, followed by machiati. Food was all delicious and priced in line with rest of area. Service again perhaps a little slow in our estimation, but the place was mostly full, and only two men serviced all of the tables. Quite a feat in itself and they were hustling to say the least!
For our ride back, did have to wait 15 or so minutes until driver returned.
Just be aware of the time factors, waiting for the complimentary shuttle both coming and going. Might be better if we had been a larger group.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    67
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Loving Lionesses of Taverna del Leone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I know why they named it Taverna del Leone. Until they told me, I had my own theory : I thought it an homage to the strong, capable women in the family, the mother and grandmother who taught their daughters how to cook. These two sisters, Filomena, who puts her heart into every pastry she makes, and Fortunata, who runs the restaurant are two of the kindest, most soulful women I’ve ever had the privilege of meeting. It was our great “fortune”, pun intended, to have cooking classes here, and that’s how we met them. We learned so much from Filomena, who not only cooked with heart, but was able to deconstruct the technique behind every move. Everything we made in class, we ate for lunch : Tagliolini Al Limone, - the most incredible pasta I have ever eaten, light as angel’s wings; gossamer cheese(Caciotta); sea bass, and lemon profiteroles.
So about the back story of the name of the restaurant I came to learn several nights later, when Fortunata drove me all the way to the hospital in Sorrento, for a near fainting episode, not due to their exquisite food, but dehydration. At midnight, while waiting for lab results, Fortunata, holding my hand told me how her daughter loved the story of the Lion King, especially the character of Nala, the sweet, adventurous, mischievous cub, who eventually becomes Simba’s wife. So the naming is just like their cooking, incorporating the strong and the tender.
A third person completes this story, and he is Mauro, the compassionate, graceful, waiter, ( a George Clooney double) whose balletic approach to waiting on tables makes it all look effortless. He is the dearest man.
This is in fact a review of the restaurant, so let me say, it is superb. After cooking there, in their gleaming, spotless kitchen, we knew it from the ground up, so to speak and how wonderful it was, so we decided to return several nights later for my husband’s special birthday dinner. The lamb chops and vegetables were divine. The lemon custard , mana from heaven.
We came to Positano knowing no one, and we left knowing in our hearts, we had a family in the name of Fortunata, Filomena, and Mauro. That’s Amore !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely the BEST! Lemon Pasta, Profiteroles...bread!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Took a cooking vacation and was lucky enough to cook at this Michelin star restaurant with Fioleima (co owner). Beyond the restaurant décor being lovely, so was the Chef! She and her staff are so warm, engaging and kind. They taught us an amazing array of dishes, each one was to die for...but truly the lemon pasta was beyond belief, as was the fried buffalo mozzarella on a lemon leaf, and lemon profiteroles. Ok, the fish was pretty tasty too...!

Go here. Request a pick up from your hotel (common in Positano because few sidewalks exist)!

Bon Appetito!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Away from the hustle and bustle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Was just a pizzeria when we first visited many years ago but it's been renovated and its now a full restaurant. Great seafood and pastas AND they do pizza! Just a five minute ride south of Positano.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Main course let the wonderful starter down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our hotel manager recommended this place and we went with it because they would come and collect us from our hotel and drop us off afterwards. Positano is really hilly and where we were staying was a 20 minute walk into the centre down some fairly hair raising roads with crazy drivers on them. She also said that it was cheaper than we would get in the town centre.

We got picked up at 8 and were driven to the restaurant. We chose to sit outside as it was a warm night. Unfortunately, there are no views from the restaurant and it is directly on the roadside so gets quite a lot of traffic.

Beforehand, we had agreed just to have mains, but then the starters looked so great that we were swayed! And I'm glad we did because the starters were actually better than the mains.

I had gnocchi with clams and courgette and Adam had Adam had pasta with anchovy and pesto. Both were absolutely excellent. Quite nice size portions which were presented well and looked really attractive.

I then had a selection of fish for my main. It was nice, but nothing special. In my view it was under seasoned, especially the fried courgette which was very bland. Adam had squid with potato and pigs cheek which came out looking like a work of art. His was probably better but was quite a small portion.

We enjoyed a bottle of red wine with the meal, followed by a couple of limoncellos which came out in frozen glasses which was a nice touch.

Overall, a pretty nice meal. Not a great location but interesting food, especially the starters.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna del Leone also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Taverna del Leone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna del Leone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.