We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals only !!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante La Cambusa

Ristorante La Cambusa
Piazza A. Vespucci - Spiaggia Grande, Positano, Italy
(+39) 089 875432
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 73 Restaurants in Positano
Price range: $39 - $158
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
cornwall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Locals only !!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

What a shame we spent our last night in this restaurant. We had been recommended by a local and were told it served the best fish and was very popular with the locals. Until this meal we had eaten really well and all the locals were very friendly.
We had booked a table at the front of the restaurant overlooking the sea BUT when we got there although the table was free it was offered to another couple who were Italian and we were placed elsewhere . The waiter was very unfriendly and clearly didn't like tourists. His attitude was bad all evening and ignoring us.
The food was not good and very expensive. We had calamari that was over cooked and rubbery and the fish of the day which was mullet , we were told it's weight but it was never as big as they had stated and you pay by the weight ,
Would never go back and there are far more friendly and good restaurents to go to and much better value . This was the most expensive and worst meal we had .

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    125
    57
    46
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The setting is great overlooking the ocean but that is where the good rating ends. A surly waiter who needs a few lessons in customer service, food that was average and in fact we both spent all night and the next day with a gastro which we would suggest was picked up there. The final insult was the unfriendly waiter all but demanding that a tip be added to our card payment. I refuse to tip for poor rude service and below standard food. I can not understand how this place gets any good reviews.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

we visited this restaurant 2 days running for lunch and it was amazing .Gianni our waiter was great fun and very attentive the food was delicious the views were stunning the place was spotless plus many locals were eating here which i see as a good sign . Definately worth a visit

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Definitely one of the best dinners we had in Italy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This restaurant in Positano was recommended to us by the owner of a small italian restaurant in Cambridge, MA. His friend, who owns La Cambusa was so excited with his U..S. friend's message that he wouldn't let us order from the menu. What he presented & chose for us was just so fresh, delicious, and perfectly seasoned.It was quite the perfect evening, dining on the open air terrace along the beach--Just magical and we're still raving about the food!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Fresh seafood. Perfect for lunch at the beach. Had an awesome salmon tartare and a great mixed fish plate. Yes, it is full of tourists, but Positano as a whole is loaded with tourists, so what do people expect?

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Cambusa also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante La Cambusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante La Cambusa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.