We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute in this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday House Gilda

Save Saved
You added Holiday House Gilda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday House Gilda
Via Arienzo 76, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 44 Positano B&B and Inns
Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loved every minute in this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were 4 persons and stayed with Gilda and her team for 5 nights. The place is a lovely small complex with several rooms all overlooking a magnificent vista of Positano and the sea below. The rooms are wide, comfortable and clean and have small well equipped kitchens. Some are small suites and the prices differ accordingly. Breakfast was a feast of delicious cappucino or any coffee of your choice, fresh croissants and buns and eggs made to order, cheese and ham. There were small bowls with cherry tomatos, and fresh fruits on the sideboard. Rosa, Daniella and Gilda, the boss, are a great team, helpful, kind and take care of your every need. Rosa gave helpful tips for our daily journeys to Amalfi and the vicinity. Parking is a little tricky, but once you've made it, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The best rooms are presumably the ones named Letizia and Laura. They are at the top of the complex a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
108
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here with my partner during our trip to the Amalfi coast. Wonderfully friendly family who were eager to help us enjoy our stay in Positano. Gilda even gave us a lift to the restaurant which they had recommended on her way into town. Lovely room with stunning sea views. We didn't self cater but you can with all the facilities there. Highly recommend borrowing some beach towels for free and walking down the 250 steps to Spaggia di Arienzo for a quiet beach. Delicious breakfast with hot and cold food.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a sea view but if not definitely request one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Let me add my endorsement of Holiday House Gilda as a special place to stay! Not only for the stunning location and aspect, but as others have stated, for the welcome, warmth and hospitality of Gilda, Guisepoe, Daniela and Rosa. My daughter and I shared the experience with close friends and the wonderful terrace was a great place to congregate, for the teens to play cards and the adults to relax. The apartments are bright, clean and well appointed. The access to Arienzo beach, despite the 200+ steps (well this is Positano!) is convenient and the swimming delightful. The HHG crew organised cars to take us to restaurants and transfers to our next destination with personal attention. Above all, there was great geniality and ambience - and a lot of laughter! I highly recommend this B&B!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a fantastic stay in this beautiful situated B&B, fantastic view, big apartments. Rosa and the family were very friendly and helpful and served such a nice breakfast in their big kitchen. We played bridge on the nice terrace with wonderful view over the sea and the center of Positano.
Made lovely walking tours in the mountain and took a swim in the afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We spent five days at this small B&B perched on the hill in Positano and it was way too short! We loved our room, the view, the town, the beach, watching the ships coming and going and visiting the rest of the Amalfi coast. The best thing about our stay, however, was the people of HHG. Gilda, her husband Giuseppe, daughter Daniela and friend Rosa were the nicest, warmest people we met in a country of warm and charming people! Read the other reviews and you will find the same experiences by other visitors...this is a special place!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eching, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

During our vacation in Southern Italy in October 2013, we also stopped by Holiday House Gilda. There, the welcome was very cordially - they immediately made us feel at home. We appreciated the parking lot at the house, which is not self-evident at the Amalfi coast. Guiseppe insisted on helping us with our luggage whereas Rosa and Daniela explained the route to Positano to us, recommended restaurants and provided us with bus and ferry timetables. Both of them speaking English, communication was easy. With a few Italian words and lots of gestures we were able to "speak" with Guiseppe and Gilda as well :)
Our spacious apartment Letizia had a well equipped kitchen and the view of the Amalfi coast was simply enchanting. Breakfast was outstanding, especially for Italian B&Bs. Our friendly hosts toasted fresh slices of white bread and fried eggs for us. Furthermore, they offered yoghurt, rolls, croissants filled with jam or chocolate along with butter, cheese, salami and jam. Different types of coffee and tea made you wake up in the morning. Orange juice, fresh fruit or figs---directly picked from the tree by Guiseppe---contributed to the daily amount of vitamins. One night we were even surprised with a plate of home-made bruschette while preparing our dinner.
There is a pathway from the house to the Arienzo beach. However, you should be a good walker because you reach the sea by stepping down about 250 stairs. At the beach there is a clean public area and also a bagno with deck chairs and a bar. The gravel beach is small but idyllic and we were almost alone there.
As around the whole Amalfitana, parking is very expensive in Positano, too, so we always walked the 2 km. By foot it took approximately 25 minutes to reach the centre of Positano. Alternatively, you can use the local bus, stopping a few meters from the Holiday House Gilda. W-LAN is free and worked reliably.
Altogether we were perfectly satisfied and we already miss the nice conversation with Rosa and Daniela on the terrace in the evening and not to mention the cats.
If you ever visit the Amali coast, this is the perfect place to stay!

In unserem Süditalien-Urlaub im Oktober 2013 machten wir auch im Holiday House Gilda Station. Wir wurden dort sehr freundlich aufgenommen und fühlten uns gleich wie zu Hause. Sehr angenehm und bei weitem nicht selbstverständlich an der Amalfiküste war für uns der Parkplatz am Haus. Guiseppe ließ es sich nicht nehmen, uns beim Tragen der Koffer zu helfen. Rosa und Daniela haben uns den Weg nach Positano erklärt, gaben uns Restaurantempfehlungen und halfen uns bei Bus- und Fährverbindungen. Beide sprechen Englisch, weshalb die Kommunikation kein Problem darstellte. Mit ein paar Brocken Italienisch sowie Händen und Füßen konnten wir uns jedoch auch recht gut mit Gilda und Guiseppe verständigen :)
Unser geräumiges Apartment Letizia hatte eine gut ausgestattete Küche und der Blick über die Amalfiküste war einfach zauberhaft. Das Frühstück braucht sich besonders für italienische Verhältnisse nicht zu verstecken. Die freundlichen Gastgeber rösteten frisches Weißbrot und brieten Rühr- oder Spiegelei. Darüber hinaus gab es Joghurt, Brötchen, Croissants oder Pain au Chocolat mit Butter, Käse, Salami und Marmelade. Auch verschiedene Kaffevariationen sowie Tee erleichterten das Munterwerden. Für die tägliche Vitamindosis sorgten neben dem Orangensaft frisches Obst oder Feigen, die Guiseppe direkt vom Baum geerntet hatte. Wir staunten auch nicht schlecht, als wir eines Abends beim Zubereiten unseres Abendessens mit Bruschette überrascht wurden.
Vom Haus aus gibt es einen Zugang zum Strand von Arienzo, man sollte allerdings gut zu Fuß sein, da der Weg über 250 Treppenstufen hinunter zum Meer führt. Dort gibt es neben einem sehr sauberen öffentlichen Bereich auch ein Bagno mit Liegestühlen und Bar. Der Kiesstrand von Arienzo ist zwar klein aber sehr idyllisch und wir hatten ihn fast für uns alleine.
Wie überall an der Amalfitana ist das Parken auch in Positano sehr teuer, weshalb wir die knapp 2 km immer gelaufen sind. Die Strecke geht zu Fuß recht schnell, man ist innerhalb von ca. 25 Minuten im Zentrum von Positano. Eine Alternative ist auch der lokale Bus, der nur einige Meter vom Holiday House Gilda entfernt hält. Man hat kostenloses W-LAN, das immer zuverlässig funktioniert hat.
Wir waren alles in allem vollauf zufrieden und vermissen schon jetzt die netten Gespräche mit Rosa und Daniela abends auf der Terasse und vor allem auch die Katzen.
Für einen Urlaub an der Amalfiküste ist das Holiday House Gilda die perfekte Unterkunft!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I spent 6 nights here in September/October. There are so many great things to say about our stay! Our room was an apartment with complete cooking facilities to fix your meals. You could also choose to sit on the gorgeous balcony overlooking the sea and the town of Positano sipping a glass of local wine (delicious) and eating local cheese! (This was our choice)
The breakfasts were wonderful with lovely breads, fresh fruit etc. and those amazing cappuccinos (that I am really missing!) The walk into Positano is easy, about 1.5 miles and it was easier than using the car because parking is difficult in town.
The family is easily the biggest reason we had such a perfect visit! You come in the door a stranger and leave a friend. My husband is Italian so he was thrilled to converse with Giuseppe and Gilda in Italian and we enjoyed a welcome glass of wine upon arrival. Rosa speaks excellent English (and Italian) and Daniela was very friendly as well. Rosa arranged dinner at an excellent restaurant and they came to pick us up. The evening included great food and lively entertainment! Thanks to Giuseppe, Gilda, Rosa and Daniela this will be a trip we won't forget!!! Did I mention free Wifi :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday House Gilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday House Gilda

Address: Via Arienzo 76, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your vacation on the beautiful sea of Positano in the heart of the Amalfitan Coast.Gilda and her family are glad to accomodate you, they do their best to offer a high quality stay in their apartments overlooking the sea and the "vertical town" of Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Holiday House Gilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday House Gilda Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday House Gilda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.