We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Tagliata

La Tagliata
via Tagliata, 22, 84017 Positano, Italy
+39 089 875872
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 72 Restaurants in Positano
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: La Tagliata is a family restaurant no fancy, we do not have menu a la carte but we provide our house menu for a fixed price of Euro 35 per persons,in the kitchen there are Mamma and Papa whom cook the typical dishes of our house menu: vegetables from the gardens ( parmigiana di melanzane, zucchini, egg- plants, beas,pea,salami, parma ham , ricotta, mozzarella etc..Trittico di pasat ( three differnt kind of home-made pasta called also mamma's pasta than mixed and grilled meat .. Potatoes and green salad form our gardens ,, fruits of the seasons, mix of desserts our house wine is included. However concering the wine I would like point here that we also have our wine list so it means that guests whom like have differnt wine can chooice and select from it , our list provide a vast range of the best and famous Italian wine . We also provide a free pick up in case you stay in positano area , we suggest to make resrevation at least 10 days in advance thanks for your attention have a nice saty in Positano. PS: we also have lovely rooms in our famrhouse and also we arrange cooking class have a look in the link of things to do in Positano.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our son's wedding reception here. The food was excellent and the service very good. Easily the best meal we had whilst staying in Positano. The views from the restaurant were amazing and the ambiance were relaxed and cosy. A very big thank you to Peppe and his staff for the wedding cake which was a lovely surprise. If you choose to eat here you will not be disappointed it comes highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,477
    284
    115
    64
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice evening at good price, not the best food though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

They swing by on shuttle buses to different hotels to bring people up. No menu-- they just bring out multiple plates for each course and endless house wine. It was a very nice evening with friendly hosts, but you should definitely insist on going at your own pace so you don't get lumped into the fast-paced dinner and then shuttled back down. At €35 each, this was a worthwhile and memorable experience, just make sure you go at your own pace, walk around to see the whole restaurant, and avoid being shuffled along with the others that came on your shuttle.

While it was something different and a fun atmosphere, I do wish the food had been a little better. With the whole family-made style, I was hoping this to be the best meal of our trip, but some of the dishes lacked the wow factor. The appetizers were the best part. By the time of year we visted (mid-September), the sides were all covered by clear plastic tarps, so we really weren't able to get the full vibe of the view that I've been reading so much about.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchville, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must do in Positano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

One of, if not the best, meals ever! We were picked up in front of our hotel and for a very reasonable price (35 Euros each) we had course after course of a fantastic meal. No menu so the mom and pop in the kitchen serve what they have been cooking all day, probably days, in advance. Excellent service, cozy restaurant and unbelievable views. It was the complete dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

One of the best meals and times we had on our trip to Italy. They come get you and give you an excellent meal for one price!!!! Super night!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This restaurant came highly recommended from my parents who had previously visited it on their trip to Italy earlier this year. They did not stop raving about the food, service and fun they had so we had to try it out. The food was fantastic, the best meal we had in Italy!! There is no menu - instead, we were served multiple dishes including a variety of appetizers, a plate of pasta samplers, a plate or meat samples, a plate of dessert samples, wine and of course limoncello. The staff are so accomodating, my boyfriend and I could not decide whether we wanted white or red wine so they brought us a bottle of each! As good as the food was, the experience was even better! We sat at a table overlooking the beautiful city of Positano. Toward the end of our meal, there was live music and every table was singing and dancing! Cannot recommend this enough! May be tough to get to.. but so worth it!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tagliata also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Tagliata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tagliata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.