We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST RESTAURANT IN EUROPE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Tagliata

La Tagliata
via Tagliata, 22, 84017 Positano, Italy
+39 089 875872
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 71 restaurants in Positano
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: La Tagliata is a family restaurant no fancy, we do not have menu a la carte but we provide our house menu for a fixed price of Euro 35 per persons,in the kitchen there are Mamma and Papa whom cook the typical dishes of our house menu: vegetables from the gardens ( parmigiana di melanzane, zucchini, egg- plants, beas,pea,salami, parma ham , ricotta, mozzarella etc..Trittico di pasat ( three differnt kind of home-made pasta called also mamma's pasta than mixed and grilled meat .. Potatoes and green salad form our gardens ,, fruits of the seasons, mix of desserts our house wine is included. However concering the wine I would like point here that we also have our wine list so it means that guests whom like have differnt wine can chooice and select from it , our list provide a vast range of the best and famous Italian wine . We also provide a free pick up in case you stay in positano area , we suggest to make resrevation at least 10 days in advance thanks for your attention have a nice saty in Positano. PS: we also have lovely rooms in our famrhouse and also we arrange cooking class have a look in the link of things to do in Positano.
Athens, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BEST RESTAURANT IN EUROPE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were taken to this restaurant by our tour guide Stephanie while staying in Positano. This is an ABSOLUTE MUST Italian eating experience if you are in the area. SO MUCH WONDERFUL FOOD prepared with love!! Absolutely LOVED this cute little place high above the Amalfi coast and HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    1,259
    247
    99
    50
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“So much Food!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went to La Tagliata on our first night in Positano on a friend's recommendation. Their shuttle picked us up in front of our hotel in town and drove us up to the hilltop restaurant for an avalanche of food.
The location is gorgeous - it was dark when we arrived but the grounds themselves are really nice and well maintained, and the dining room is beautiful. We were greeted by one of the owners' family members and seated - after that, the only question was "White wine or red?".
We ate and ate, and when we couldn't finish our wine they corked up the bottle and let us take it back to our hotel (granted, it was not our first bottle).
The food was not the best we had in Italy, but it was plentiful and very well cooked. By the time the meat course came around, we had to take a deep breath to dive in.
They rushed us a little to get on the shuttle back down to town, but in their defense it was nearly 11pm and we were part of the last seating of the night.
I wish we had been there during daylight to see the views - the twinkling lights were beautiful, but I'm sure the view earlier in the evening was even better.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Eat - La Tagliata”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Where to begin. This is an excellent restaurant. This was a restaurant our driver recommended for lunch. The view was EXTRAORDINARY - BREATHLESS. The food was more than we had imagined. It was excellent. Very authentic italian food. We had such a good time at this restaurant. We met mama who did all of the cooking. We loved this place. This was our 2nd trip to Italy and definitely one of our most memorable places we experience. It had a never ending bottle of wine.

The cost was very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good but not great..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Perhaps I expected to much for this lovely spot but I found the food, although very good, certainly not the best we had on the Amalfi coast.This is a gorgous spot with killer views-waiters work hard bringing out platters of food served family style--more food than you could ever hope to finish...that being said on the evening we were there some of the food was quite good- and some quite average...what you are paying for is the entire experience of the place.. the grounds are lovely and the fresh veggies the best part of the meal..

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique experience with fabulous local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Food was given as a series of large tasters, rather than off a menu. Food itself we loved, with a great selection of vegetables, pasta and meat, not too mention the selection of desserts you can try. Food is mainly grown locally on their own farm, so seasonal food is what you are likely to eat. Couldn't fault the service and when we had finished they offered a free shuttle ride back to our hotel. Many thanks you were brill, would highly recommend to others, especially those seeking a slightly more unique dining experience and break from the norm!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tagliata also viewed

Montepertuso, Positano
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Tagliata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tagliata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.