We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food - Wonderful Owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LO Guarracino

LO Guarracino
Via Positanesi d' America, 12, 84017 Positano, Italy
089-875794
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 73 Restaurants in Positano
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Chesapeake City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food - Wonderful Owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our meal at LO Guarrancino was my first meal in Italy (ever). The selection and quality of the seafood is unparalleled in the States. We started off with the house white vino (perfect with the seafood) and a rocola and pomodoro (arugula and tomato) salad. The rocola has so much more flavor (more pungent) than I was used to, but just added to the overall sensory experience of the entire meal. The grilled calamari and octopus were beyond words. The family that owns the place couldn't be nicer. The were very attentive and accommodating with out being overbearing. The terrace setting overlooking the water was extremely romantic, laid back and stunningly gorgeous all at the same time. The weather was perfect that evening, but since the outdoor terrace is covered, I would imagine it would be equally pleasant in any weather. This will definitely be a place we return to on our next visit to Positano.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    86
    28
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Step Closer to Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Staying a little further down the coast and joined a boat trip from Marina del Cantone to Amalfi and Positano. A truely beautiful, but hot day and by the time we were approaching Positano we were in the mood for a late lunch. A quick flick through the guide book and found Lo Guarracino. I selected it principally on location (over looking the bay) and reported "value for money" in a resort with a reputation for dinning making a considerable hole in your vacation budget.
Menu offered a great choice of local and regional dishes and the staff could not have been more forthcoming. We were given a table in the front (not sure if there is a back) corner of the restaurant with a perfect view of the Positano coastline, bay and marina.
The waiter described in his best english most of the dishes on offer.
Our order arrived quickly and was delicious and soon after asked again if there was anything else we required/wanted....great service!
At the end of the meal the waiter and the manager became really chatty; asking where we had been, where we were from etc and passed a few very pleasant minutes just talking, something I was not expecting is a resort restaurant "with a view".
The bill came and we think it was great value for money...Positano, overlooking the bay, great food etc. It was one of those occassions that make and become memorable in great holidays. Go and enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very romantic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have been to Lo Guarrancino many times , the atmosphere is very romantic. The views from the restaurant are breath taking , overlooking the Mediterranean, a bright moon and stars shining on the sea - a truly romantic destination. The food is excellent ,and the Pizzas probably the best in Positano -thank you Pietro! It is a family run restaurant and there is always a warm welcome!Thank you Renata!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gourmet in a romantic atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

All the food we had was excellent. Actually better than Chez Black both in price and taste. The atmosphere is also excellent in a quiet part of Positano with fewer tables and a magnificient panorama of the bay. Tables are under bamboo terrace with a very friendly service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We ate here last night , fish was excellent , sword fish cooked to perfection and nice a moist - ricotta desert stupendous , view the best of ANY in Positano . Go there but don't feed the resident cat as she has kidney troubles .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LO Guarracino also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to LO Guarracino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LO Guarracino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.