We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view but needs more help” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Paradiso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Paradiso to your Saves list
Hotel Paradiso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Garibaldi 34 - 40, 19025 Porto Venere, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
New york
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great view but needs more help”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The location was great, and the harbor and village of Portovenere was lovely, only a 5 minute walk away. The hotel employees tried to help, but there were a number of problems. They said free wifi in the rooms, but the wifi did not work in our room. Our TV did not work either, and neither did the hairdryer. One morning, the elevator wasn't working either. The first room they showed us was way too small. There was a bed, but no room for any luggage or clothes and the bathroom was tiny. They then showed us a room downstairs, which was much more spacious, not as great a view, but decent. The breakfast room view was beautiful, the food was OK, not great. Overall it is average, but clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    56
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
15
85
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We used Portovenere as our base for visiting the Cinque Terre - I ended up loving Portovenere just as much! The hotel is located close enough to town and by exiting the back door and down to the street, you are right on the water and a close walk to town and restaurants. We arrived at night and parking is a bit of a problem - you have to find street parking somewhere in town, but we lucked out and found a place on the street below the hotel and could enter the hotel from the stairs in the back. The hotel staff was fantastic - very welcoming and accomodating. From our room, we had a great view of the harbor - which was goreous at night with the moonlight. The breakfast was one of the best on our 2 week stay in Italy. The usual croissants, cereal, etc. but also scrambled eggs with ham and cheese to order. Also, do-it-yourself fresh sqeezed orange juice. Cappucino and espresso to order. All served in a bright, sunny breakfast room overlooking the water. We were in the triple room with a small spiral staircase up to the third bed. Not for a large person! Very narrow staircase with small steps - not easy to navigate with luggage! Overall - great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell Ontario
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hotel Paradiso is a beautiful superior hotel located water front in the beautiful city of Portovenere. The room was lovely with whitewashed walls and very comfortable bed, with a gorgeous view to the bay of poets. The restaurant is wide open to the sea side, the service was impeccable by a waiter who is really devoted to his guests and the food was great. Breakfast was varied and plentiful and you could order a latte or cappuccino. We highly recommend this hotel and this town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent 3 nights here in September. The hotel had been recommended by friends and we were very satisfied. The room was small but comfortable and the views were beautiful. We had questions about leaving our rental car in Florence, and the staff was so helpful at getting information for us. We enjoyed the "cooked to order" omelets and the breakfast was generous and delicious. On a previous trip we stayed at one of the Cinque Terre villages, but we decided we much preferred Porto Venere. It's a beautiful little town to explore and gives access to the villages by boat. Much more peaceful than fighting the crowds on the trains now that some of the trails are closed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have never been one to write reviews, but planning a trip to the Italian Riviera, I did a lot of research online and found it very helpful. I pledged I would repay all the great sites by reviewing the places we stayed!
We really liked this hotel. It has a great hotel bar for an arrival drink, with the most amazing views. It is quite far inland, which you only can get to Portovenere by 1 road, and out by 1 road, so I would suggest at least 2 night stay if youre going to go out to the point. That being said, there really isnt that much to do in Portovenere. There is a cute walk through the town on the hill, and a castle and church, but you can do it in one day. You could stay here and take the ferries to Cinque Terre, but you would need to allow all day to go there.
Overall, the hotel is very clean, fresh and people are very very nice. I think I would suggest staying in Cinque Terre if that is your main spot to visit as this is a bit secluded.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I scoured the Internet looking at options for staying while visiting the Cinque Terre. Many of the hotels looked bad. I like very nice hotels. That being said we chose this place to stay at based on a traveller we just meet while staying in Siena at the Grand hotel. They had just been here and highly recommended it. Of course ,I got on trip advisor because I was not even thinking of this town as a point to embark from. As it turns out this is so delightful. First , the hotel is very nice, very clean , simple and plain, beautiful views , parking available ,great restaurant and breakfast with wonderful views, close to town 5 min. Tops walk , there is a lift or elevator, nice welcoming staff, air conditioning, and the rooms are not huge but a really nice size. The town is so much better then I could have imagined. Quaint seaside with many nice restaurants. And the very ,very ,very best thing is that there is the ferry that takes you to all the 5 villages of the CinqueTerre weather permitting remember and it is 5 min from hotel . You can get to La Spezia to take the train if you do not like boats. Also a bus or taxis can take you there. But that town is a dump ,do not stay there. Going by ferry was so awesome . I was so apprehensive about finding a decent hotel and I have high standards. This is a very lovely hotel and to me the very best way to have had the Cinque Terre experience. The town is picture perfect and yes our gps brought us direct from Siena, no problem. I came from the Grand hotel in Siena tohere ,so you know if I like this kind of 5 star to 3 it is nice. Good tv got to watch Ryder cup and there is wifi. What else... Nothing it was very nice..... Slippers and toiletries included and hair dyer . We changed rooms our first room had a large bed and in another section bunk twins so if families need to be all together this would be great. They were not in some loft as another reviewer wrote just a different part of the same big room.

Room Tip: Most rooms had views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Strange hotel and staff not over friendly or helpful. Felt they where more interested in Italy guests then any other visitors fro around the world. Room wasn't very nice. Thin k they gave us a family room for 2 and the two extra beds where up on a balcony in the roof and made the room hot. Small bathroom. B'fast wasn't anything special. Nowhere to sit outside on a hot day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradiso

Address: Via Garibaldi 34 - 40, 19025 Porto Venere, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Paradiso 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradiso Hotel Portovenere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.