We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location, nice views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belvedere to your Saves list
Hotel Belvedere
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Garibaldi 26, 19025 Porto Venere, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Clean, good location, nice views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The hotel is very clean and the location is great in Portovenere. The town is very cool, but the weather prevented us from taking a boat to exploring Cinque Terre, so we had to take a bus and train there instead.

The rooms have all the basics, but the shower is kind of small and I couldn't fit my legs between the toilet and shower very comfortably (I'm not that tall). I also was kind of amused by how often there was nobody at the desk about 70% of the time. When they were available, they were helpful, friendly, and provide a good breakfast.

I give this place a four, because it is priced well, is clean, has a great location, and great views.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    48
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
22
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Hotel Belvedere, a charming hotel strategically located overlooking the picturesque harbor of Porto Venere, offers spacious, clean, and nicely appointed rooms with absolutely breath-taking views of the water and boats. As we had reserved a triple room that was located on the corner, we could also enjoy a view toward the mouth of the bay over adjacent house tops. Glorious!
The hotel lobby and balcony where we breakfasted are sunny and cheerful in a subtle Art Deco style. My daughter and I couldn't have asked for a prettier "window" on the Ligurian Sea. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. I can't think of anything that would have improved on our stay.

We chose Porto Venere because we were in Italy at the height of tourist season and had heard that the Cinque Terra can be uncomfortably crowded in July. And we are so happy that we did! The town is quaint, friendly, with lovely shops and good restaurants. The churches of San Pietro and Lorenzo and the castle atop the cliff afforded us fantastic views of the sea. So romantic!!!

We took a train from Florence to La Spezia, then walked several blocks until we reached the road that winds all the way up to Porto Venere. There are only bus stops, no station, so being sure we were in the right place was a little sketchy, but we made it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

How many place do you have where the "Matriarch" still supervise all the operations .
Mamma DellaCroce still make home made ravioli that she serve to the guests.
The view....you can not have a better one from the window of my room I could see Forte dei Marmi and the Curch of San Pietro.
Dining in the terrace is an unique experience.
If you go to the Cinque Terre this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel Belvedere is located in the heart of Portovenere, only a few minutes away from its lungomare where all the restaurants and shops are found. There is parking available at the hotel entrance so as the wifi is pretty reliable. The rooms may need some refurbishment at some point especially with the grand opening of a 4* hotel a couple of hundred meters away. Nice stay and nice breakfast with a very good view!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with seaview of course :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just home from a 3 night stay in beautiful Portovenere. Very helpful staff in all our requests.
Hotel with a picturesque view, comfortable room, no complaints. Croissants for breakfast the best I have ever tasted.

Room Tip: Room 23 perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Beautiful boutique hotel right on the ocean. The view from our suite was amazing! The beds were so comfortable. Very spacious rooms with large bathroom. The staff was so friendly and always smiling. Breakfast was served on the indoor patio overlooking the harbour. The food was very good, large selection of meats, cheeses and cereals. Cappuccinos and croissants. Great location with a grocery store next door. Portovenere, what a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Ocean view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Portovenere is a great choice to stay on its own account, as well as a departure point for the tourist juggernaut that is the Cinque Terra. In many respects Portovenere is the unacknowledged 5th Cinque Terra. And whereas most tourists seem to stay in one of the 5 towns or La Spezia, as far I can tell most of our fellow visitors in Portovenere were Italians. Due to this, and it's not being an official Cinque Terra, there are not that many places to stay and that explains why the Belvedere can command the price that it does. Don't get me wrong, the hotel is very adequate and would not raise a pricing eyebrow if it was 25% cheaper. Very well located, just outside the pedestrianised area, it commands great views and the staff are very charming & obliging. The rooms however are below par for what they should be and the breakfasts don't make up for this (canned fruit salad, a one-per-person croissant regime and uninspiring other bits). It's all very adequate but not the stuff that memorable hotel-stays are about. Currently The Belvedere is most probably 'where it's at' in Portovenere currently, but surely it can only be a matter of time before better alternatives develop.

Room Tip: Porto Venere has a one-way traffic system and metered car parking. If you have a car, the hotel has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Via Garibaldi 26, 19025 Porto Venere, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Portovenere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.