We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“soulless” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belvedere to your Saves list
Hotel Belvedere
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Garibaldi 26, 19025, Porto Venere, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Riguepeu
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“soulless”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is lovely and with a sea facing room initially feels to have everything, but the place was deserted of staff except the helpful receptionist. The bathroom door is restricted in opening by a badly positioned toilet, bad planning for a 3 star hotel.No dining room, we had to go to the sister hotel up the road which was just as bad. The poor waiter seemed to be doubling as facilities manager as well. We left and ate in town. Typical of corporate run establishment cutting everything to the bone, we had been spoilt in previous hotels run by owner/families.

Room Tip: Sea facing but dont expect quiet as the boats get on the move around 6am in the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cagnes-sur-Mer, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

On my second trip to Cinqueterre, my friend and I decided to stay in nearby Porto Venere, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. To my delight, the town of Porto Venere turned out to be the highlight of our brief trip, and the Hotel Belvedere was in the *perfect* location to enjoy all the sites, restaurants, and activities the town had to offer. The ferry to Cinqueterre left from a dock just meters from the hotel, and the concierge helped us find our way around. We booked rather last-minute and got the last room in the hotel, one of the few without a seaside view, but it was still charming and everything you would wish for in a place to sleep: clean, tastefully decorated, with nice toiletries in the bathroom (including slippers!)... A simple breakfast was served on a charming 4-season terrace off the main lobby. Checking in and out was a breeze. Our stay at the Hotel Belvedere was easy, and it allowed us to focus on the reason we were there: to enjoy Cinqueterre!

Room Tip: Ask for a seaside room if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmsojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a slice of heaven, after hiking down from Campiglia...this charming hotel was like finding a delicious, ripe piece of fruit in a fruit basket. A treasure!! The perfect blend of tranquility, gorgeous sea side view and peace/solitude. A cozy room, with terrycloth slippers, a comfy bed and quiet rooms (elevator, too). The simple, tasteful breakfast is served over spectacular views of the sea side in a greenhouse type room. I cannot wait to return to this peaceful haven for another get away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Go_Gina_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, MN
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stumbled upon the Belvedere, and couldn't have been more pleased. It is in a great location with a wonderful view of the bay and the marina across the street. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds. A very nice bonus is that your stay also includes a nice breakfast, which is served in the sun room overlooking the bay. A delightful way to start your day. There is a gas station right next door, and a nice little bar on the ground floor facing the bay. Buy your refreshments and enjoy them while sitting at the tables by the marina along the sidewalk which is across the street. I can't imagine how you could be disappointed in this charming little hotel.

Room Tip: Facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I researched extensively, including e-mails to the staff, before booking this hotel as part of a trip in northern Italy to include seeing Cinqua Terre. This hotel did not disappoint. We traveled with another couple in late October, 2012.

After considering hotels in the Cinqua Terre towns, I am so glad I picked Hotel Belvedere, in Portovenere, which is a breathtaking drive to Riomaggiore. The view of the sea from the room was magnificent. Traveling in the off season has its perks, because we were lucky to get parking in front of the hotel, and we didn't have to pay for it. This was the only hotel in our entire trip that did not charge a fee to access the lobby computer. The breakfast was great, with a croissant, and a large selection of other foods. There is a machine that squeezes oranges for fresh juice.

We were able to "picnic" on the deck at night with food and wine we bought at the grocery store a half block away. (Another perk of the off season? We might not have been free to do that in July.) We found the staff to be helpful and courteous.

The hotel had conveniently located electrical outlets, which made hair drying easy. (Ladies, bring your own hair dryer to Italy. In every hotel we stayed at, including a couple 5 stars, the hotel provided hair dryers are not what an American is used). The rooms also have mini fridges, with enough room to store your food and drinks without having to remove what's originally in them .

The only thing to be aware of, is if you are a very large person, you might not be able to fit in the shower. The shower door opening was that tight.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnSparta_NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

the hotel was well fitted out, service was attentive and i felt i was staying in a "good" hotel. room size good and great quality shampoos and soaps etc. - unusual and a great touch. we had a great price we found on internet, walked in and said we saw the hotel on internet and they offered us a great rate. easy walk into the main centre. parking was a bit of a pain, as they dont have a carpark, and all parking around hotel is pay by the hour ... but i would definately stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the water, not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EatLiveLoveLaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Room 125 had great views from both sides of the room. Very clean. Bathroom tiny with a very small shower. Breakfast typical Italian cold meats/cheese/breads affair. Good to stay for a few nights. Easy walking to the town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wood333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Venere hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel della Baia
Hotel della Baia
#2 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#3 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#4 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Sporting Hotel
Royal Sporting Hotel
#6 of 7 in Porto Venere
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
1.0 mi away
HotelLeGrazie
HotelLeGrazie
#7 of 7 in Porto Venere
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Via Garibaldi 26, 19025, Porto Venere, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Portovenere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing