We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with magnificent views and pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sporting Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sporting Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Sporting Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dell' Olivo, 345, 19025 Porto Venere, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Byron Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with magnificent views and pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

Our family, 2 adults and 3 adult children, had 3 nights in the hotel last July.
Front office staff were very friendly and helpful.
Nice quaint rooms with plenty of space and a balcony with a view of the bay to die for!
A 10 minute walk along the beach promenade brings you to the centre with lots of shops and restaurants.
Boats depart from the harbour taking in all the Cinque Terre towns
The hotel restaurant is interesting; food was nice but service was chaotic, wrong meals and a long wait time.
The pool was great and there is also a beach out the front.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    54
    39
    19
    10
See reviews for
23
70
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

We stayed at this hotel in July. Portovenere is a great resort as it is as attractive as the Cinque Terre towns but is much more spread out so there are more beaches.
Our first impression of our room was that it was in need of some refurbishment, but the view from the balcony was amazing. If you stay in this hotel, make sure you get a seaview room as the other rooms look out onto a cliff face. Despite being in need of some redecoration (like many Italian hotels), the room was very clean and the towels and toiletries were replaced twice a day which was excellent. We had a 3 month old baby with us and he also had his towels and linen changed twice a day and the hotel staff were really lovely to him.
I also think this is the only hotel in the area with a swimming pool. You could always get a bed as most guests went to the hotel's private beach area. The swimming pool area is in the direct sun all day and there are no umbrellas so it can get very hot but there are some beds and chairs in the gardens at the back of the hotel and beach towels are in abundant supply.
We were very impressed with the breakfasts where there was a lot of choice but thought that the lunch menu in the bar was limited. We ate in the hotel restaurant for dinner on only one occasion as there are many good fish restaurants nearby and we wanted to try different ones. We thought the meal in the hotel was excellent and not that pricey compared with others.
I agree with other comments about the Internet and that the hotel needs to move with the times and have a high speed wireless service. If you fancy some exercise, I would recommend taking a walk up to the church and castle on the hill as the views from up there are tremendous.
I would definitely recommend this hotel as it is clean, great views, swimming pool, own beach, good breakfasts and a very pleasant 10 minute scenic walk to the centre.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — The rooms are in need of refurbishment
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

My mother and I recently stayed at the Royal Sporting Hotel and besides the location and the view, we were highly disappointed. We were placed in a room above the bar/lounge area and were kept awake all hours of the night. The beds were glorified cots and were hard as bricks. I wasn't expecting the Four Seasons, but at the price (almost $300/night) we were paying I did expect it to be a little nicer. I would recommend staying at the Grand Hotel which is closer to the restaurants in Portovenere, and had wonderful reviews from fellow travelers we met. I would not waste the money for the discomforts of the "Royal" Sporting Hotel.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dstaylor
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

The view from this hotel is beautiful. The balcony rooms overlook the harbour. The staff was friendly and helpful. Getting to Cinque Terra was easy - a 10 minute walk to the ferry that takes you to most of the cities. Restaurants are within walking distance. Did not use our car at all. The rooms were not overly plush. In fact, just very average. We had a balcony room with a seaview. Room was small, bathroom was small. Bed was like a cot with a thick mattress. Balconies were not private. The pool area had a bar service. Pool was clean and chairs were nice. Good place to wind down and relax. Did not eat in the hotel restaurant, but it was always bustling. I would stay here again unless I found another hotel with more plush rooms. Great location and great scenery.

  • Liked — location and view
  • Disliked — small non-plush room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

Good hotel.
The seaview from the balcony is good (should you expect sort of a dynamic ocean view, you may feel something different since the view from the hotel is like a lakeview due to the island just infront).
The swimming pool is valuable (since it is not so easy to find a hotel with a swimming pool in this region. Should you imagine a large and luxurious pool like in Cancun or Canary Islands, you may feel something less positive in its smallness).
The restaurant maintains good service and taste (much more elegant than I preliminarily imagined).
The room is very ordinary (you may feel something negative should you except a luxurious or modern boutique-like room).
The bar beside the swimming pool is good to relax (should you expect a bar with "cooking" people and loud music, it is not where you should be).

Personally, I highly recommend a seaview room with a balcony.
If you prefer a hypethral balcony, choose the 3 or 4th floor, If you prefer a covered balcony (by an upper floor's balcony), choose the 2nd.

Again, this is a good hotel.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2006

We just spent a week at the Royal Sporting Hotel. It was at the end of the season, so the hotel was rather empty. We had a double room with a sea view. The view is amazing. I would be tempted to say that if you can't be guaranteed a seaview room then you should try another hotel. Why? Because you will be very jealous of the other people in the hotel and will still be paying a lot for your backyard view.

Here are the pluses: Excellent full service hotel. Clean towels every day, turn down service, bar by the pool open all day, excellent hot water and water pressure, decent sized room, POOL, and the amazing view. Also, there are few restaurants and a tabac right next to the hotel.

This hotel is the furthest from the harbor (shops, boat to Cinque Terre) which you might see as a plus or a minus. It's about a 15 minute walk to the harbor.

Cons: The restaurant in the hotel isn't great, the hotel is pricey and they will charge you 20 Euro a night for parking. Most people don't expect this and we spoke with a number of people who were quite annoyed about that. The pool isn't heated. The only internet service is one computer in the lobby that is operating at 64K (dial up) and they have the nerve to charge 10 Euro an hour for it. The lobby could use some updating. At breakfast, the croissants are usually stale. The "mini gym" is just some cardio machines which you won't need because you'll be walking into town. The balconies in front overlook the pool area and are close together, so there's potential for it to be very noisy during the high season.

Overall, though, a great place to stay. Just be aware that for the price there will still be some things that aren't perfect. Still, because of the pool, the excellent service and cleanliness, I would pick this hotel again.

  • Liked — Great view, full service hotel, super clean rooms
  • Disliked — paying extra for parking, no internet service
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hidden Hills
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2006

We just spent 3 weeks in Italy, and this hotel was my favorite. It was a perfect base for exploring the Cinque Terre, Italian Riviera, Pisa and Lucca. Portovenere isn't crazy touristy like the Cinque Terre towns. There is a ferry that services Portovenere and all the Cinque Terre towns that runs every hour.

The hotel is peaceful and well-staffed and reasonably priced. The 7th day is free. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms were nice. The view of the Mediterranean was fantastic.

The breakfast was the best out of the 5 hotels we stayed in. Lots of choices, huge buffet, lots of fresh fruit.

There were mostly Italians at the hotel and mostly Italians in the village and on the beaches. Our favorite restaurant was Iseo's. We swam in Lord Byron's grotto.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sporting Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sporting Hotel

Address: Via dell' Olivo, 345, 19025 Porto Venere, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sporting Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Sporting Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sporting
Royal Sporting Portovenere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sporting Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.