We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't thank Royal Sporting Enough!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sporting Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sporting Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Sporting Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dell' Olivo, 345, 19025 Porto Venere, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't thank Royal Sporting Enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The staff/employees/owners at Royal Sporting Hotel are absolutely the best! My daughter stayed at this hotel and left my very sentimental and expensive ring in her room. She was already on her way to her next destination before she realized it. But no worries! The amazing and honest staff had already found the ring! They graciously helped me arrange shipping back to the USA!
It was so inspiring to work with such honest and helpful people!
My daughter loved this hotel and said the views were spectacular!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    63
    46
    22
    13
See reviews for
29
83
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed 3 nights, beginning of Oct. 2012 in Royal Sporting Hotel.
Very practical hotel: Tennis, nice swimming pool, Garage (without it, parking is very challenging!) Very genuine and helpful staff. Rooms are very compact. Breakfast was very good. My favorite was a fresh fruit salad. Dinner was very tasteful, fresh local pasta and fish dishes and very good service! This time of the year the town was quiet and during the night the traffic didn't woke us up.
We had a nice and relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel was hard to find - nobody in town knew where it was, not the busdriver, not fellow passengers, not the shopkeeper at the bus stop! So in the beginning it was all a bit confusing. However, once I entered the lobby I knew I was in good hands. I was given a warm and efficient welcome, I had a lovely room with balcony overlooking the Golfo dei Poeti and enjoyed a swim in the pool before dinner in town. I couldn't understand why my legs were floating so high in the water before I tasted the water: salty! And very nice! The bed was comfortable and it was wonderful to fall asleep to the splosh, splosh of the sea outside. Nice breakfast, too. Only negative point is the silly wifi-charges. I would love to come back to Portovenere and to stay in this hotel!

Room Tip: Front rooms with balcony are definitely worth the extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

As other reviews have noted, this hotel is well situated, with beautiful views--but badly in need of a facelift. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay, and loved Portovenere. The hotel is a bit removed from the town, but still walking distance to shops and restaurants, and the remains of the ancient St. Peter's church and Doria castle. We enjoyed the breakfast, but didn't try the restaurant for dinner. The room itself was dark and uninviting, but the comfortable balcony overlooking the water made up for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My Husband & I visited Royal Sporting again after 5yrs. This place is so quite & peaceful and of course very beautiful
The staff are very friendly, but I must say when we were there before, the breakfast is still the same buffet as before. It gets a bit boring every day with the same. But an ample choice for everyone. You have to pay an extra €4 if you want an egg!!

We really love Portovenere, and glad that we went back again.It was just what the doctor ordered.

Lynn

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Spent two days in this hotel. Nice view from my own terrace, and ok quality. I picked it for the location, and was not disappointed.
Small swimming pool on the premises, most for children. Access to beach, wi-fi and parking are all extra. In my opinion at least the two first should be included in a hotel in this price range.
Breakfast next to the pool. 15 min. walk to Porto Venere center.
Will probably stay there if I come back to Porto Venere, but I will probably select a quieter area with less tourists, wi-fi and beach access for hotel guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We found ourselves in Portovenere, Italy (La Spezia Penisula) thanks to Rick Steves and found the Royal sporting Hotel because of its TripAdvisor reviews.
This is a great base to explore the Cincque Terre area.

We were originally unsure how long we would stay but after the warm welcome from the very friendly reception we decided at least two nights. Our bayview room was a little dated but large and clean and had a decent sized patio were we enjoyed our morning coffee watching the comings and goings in the harbor and hotel pool.

We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant our second night. It was very quite that night with only three other tables so the service was attentive. The food was good, but not exceptional.

We asked to stay a third night in our room, but the hotel was crowded with a wedding so we had to change rooms. They offered us a suite at a sweet price just two doors away from our current room so how could we complain. It was a corner room with two bedrooms, two baths and a huge balcony. And, though we didn't think it possible, the view was even lovelier than our old room two doors down.

Though the hotel is a twenty minute stroll into town, it is a pleasant walk along the bay.

We were sorry to have to leave to continue our journey, but will definitely return on our next trip to Italy.

When we

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Venere
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel della Baia
Hotel della Baia
#2 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#3 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#5 of 7 in Porto Venere
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#4 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Grazie
Hotel Le Grazie
#7 of 7 in Porto Venere
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sporting Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sporting Hotel

Address: Via dell' Olivo, 345, 19025 Porto Venere, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sporting Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Sporting Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sporting
Royal Sporting Portovenere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sporting Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.